We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Restaurant at Holdsworth House
Ranked #32 of 323 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2012

food was very good but maybe slightly overpriced. Brillliant serice and a great choice on the menu.
Breakfast was excellent!

Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thanks Paul B for reviewing the restaurant at Holdsworth House in Halifax. We shall ensure the team are notified of your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

If you want to go somewhere where you are made to feel very special, spoilt rotten and pampered Holdsworth Hall is the place to go.

They have a fantastic garden you can have a glass of wine in before your meal, which based on our experience will be absolutely superb. The menu is fantastic and caters for all tastes. On the evening of our visit I fancied something very simple as a starter which wasn't on the menu, no problem it promptly arrived. Word about their staff, they just made the evening... and gave fantastic service.

Definitely going again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PDL_Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear PDL_Wakefield, thank you for your review of the Holdsworth House restaurant. Our team will be very pleased to hear that their efforts resulted in you having a very enjoyable evening. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps at our Yorkshire on a Fork events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This restaurant has to be the best in Halifax. Service and quality is as good as one can expect these days. The setting is superb and the place has a nice atmosphere. The food is excellent and the staff are attentive and professional.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you for reviewing the restaurant at Holdsworth House and for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

one of the best restaurants in the area. I tend to always stay at the hotel to eat

Thank gavin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thanks for your kind review. We're very proud of our 2AA Rosettes and even more excited that our guests love the food. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went to Holdsworth Hall for a special meal last week. The venue is superb. The atmosphere of the place was quaint and welcoming. The gardens are fantastic. But best of all was the food and service. I had the pate starter - lovely. Cant even remember what the wife had as I was so into mine! We both had steak for mains, my wife fillet and I had ribeye. Both cooked to perfection. We had a cheeseboard to finish which had the most amazing continental cheeses. The choice of wines was great too. The bill was extremely reasonable and we will be back again an again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damienlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for the review you gave on Tripadvisor. Our chef and restaurant team are delighted you chose us and that once again our service and steaks lived up to their reputation. Perhaps you might like join us on our next Steak Night - the next one is on Tuesday June 5th. Don't forget us too if you ever have special birthday party - then we can seat you in one of our private dining rooms. Thanks again for the wonderful comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing