We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in beautiful hotel”

Restaurant at Holdsworth House
Ranked #25 of 299 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$46
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent service in beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Delicious afternoon tea . Very good dinner with plenty of choice and well presented. Good service all round.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopeyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review, our new restaurant manager Kat will be pleased to pass your comments on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    37
    35
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

From my excellent scallops, delicious salmon to my husbands wonderful crab salad and perfectly cooked steak everything was wonderful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear Dawn O thank you for your review of the Holdsworth House restaurant. We hope you'll return to try more of the seasonal menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“High quality food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There were a number of unusual items on the menu...wild mushroom soup was the best we had ever tasted! It was difficult to resist not having 3 courses.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Jean H thank you for dining at Holdsworth House, one thing is clear you must come back to try more! Kindest regards from the all the team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Atmospheric with fabulous food”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Best dining experience of 2012 for me. Excellent service, terrific food and the ambience cannot be bettered. For a family celebration (we went to celebrate daughter's engagement) there's nowhere quite like it for me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review and for taking time to share it here as so much of our business comes from personal recommendations. Congratulations to your daughter and please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friend is getting married at Holdsworth House next year and she invited a small group of friends to have a look at the venue and have afternoon tea.
I had never been to Holdsworth House before and luckily I wasn't driving as it is tucked away on the edge of quite a urban area and you could quite easily drive past the entrance.
My first impressions were very good, it did help that it was a beautiful day, the grounds and exterior of the house are very well looked after and it feels like a secret hideaway.
There was a wedding reception on while we were there but the staff on reception directed us to a waiting area until our table was ready.
The main house is very oldie worldy with creaking floor boards, dark wood, low ceilings and interesting things hanging on the walls but that is very much the charm of the place. The interior looks to be very clean and well looked after which is lovely to see as often buildings of that age can look a little in need of some TLC.
When the waiter came to collect us he showed us into a little dining area with the table already set for afternoon tea. We could chose to wait for tea to be served or have it straight away. The selection of sandwiches could have been a little more varied for my taste but that is a personal thing. The sweets and cakes were delicious, but my most favourite thing was the strawberry and mint sorbet which was absolutely delicious, the only downside to that was it was served in a small teacup but we all could have devoured much more!! The waiter was very attentive without being intrusive.
When we had finished our afternoon tea the wedding reception were all outside so we were able to have a quick look at the rooms that they would be using throughout the day. The house is deceptively large rooms lead on from other rooms making it the perfect venue for any special occasion. I would recommend anyone to come to Holdsworth house whether it be just for a drink or a walk in the grounds. I am looking forward to returing before my freinds big day next year to have an evening meal as the menu looks gorgeous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catdurham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you Catdurham1 for sharing your experience of Holdsworth House. We are excited that you'll be returning soon for your friend's wedding and that you've had a quick glimpse of how things work when a wedding is taking place here; we are fortunate that the fantastic layout also enables non wedding guests to enjoy the facilities when a wedding is on. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing