We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, almost” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant at Holdsworth House

Restaurant at Holdsworth House
Ranked #32 of 292 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$19 - US$44
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, almost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Me and the wife came for Christmas Day, we had a lovely time, though the fish starter was lovely and the chocolate fondants were cooked beautiful (tad sickly) the roast potatoes were a bit dry but with gravey it was nice. Would come again. Maybe lower the price as the person said below itis a little steep.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Daniel F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your Christmas Day lunch.

I was pleased to read that you had a lovely time and your constitutive feedback regarding the food and price will help us develop further our package for next Christmas.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back and if i be of any further assistance then please feel free to contact me directly.

Kindest regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    34
    35
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“vegetarian food ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

i attended Holdsworth house for a wedding witch was good .but ...as i am a veggie i was given the veggie option in the meal witch was unimagnative to say the least i don't understand how the chefs can call what i was given is sutible...?????
as for portion size ,in comparison to 'meat dishes' was just unbelivable it doesnt make any sense to me. large full plates and mine alarge plate with 8 -10 thin sliced carrot and parsnip i think (tasteless) and a small teacake size dish with some pasta !!!!!
later on in the evening i was given the option of a mushroom in a white teacake (bought in)

where is your imagination !!
it makes me wonder if the chefs/cooks have ever read a veggie cook book or ever met a vegetarian .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear D C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience of Holdsworth House, I am genuinely sorry that you were unsatisfied with the vegetarian meal we had to offer you on the day.

We will use your feedback to help re-master our dishes so that future vegetarians such as yourself are not affected in the same adverse way you were.

I do very much hope that you have the opportunity to return to us and if I can be of any further assistance then please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Four of us had three course dinners on three nights and not a single niggle about the food, the presentation or the service. The steaks are hung 28 days and are succulent. My personal favourite was the lamb rump. Divine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank i2c_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you i2c_JP for writing your review of the restaurant at Holdsworth House. Our Yorkshire steaks are indeed popular so we are delighted that you found not one but two that make your top list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Day Lunch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were prebooked and prepaid to have xmas day lunch at a cost of £87.50 per head.

The food was a joke, the fish starter was a pathetic, we were given aunt bessie roasties with the traditional turkey course, two chocolate fondant sweets were sent back and took 25 minutes to return without cutlery to eat them with, finally coffees arrived and we needed to ask for sugars.

To sum up the food was a joke, the service disgraceful, and the price was a total rip off. I would never set foot through the doors again.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derrick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear derrick c
Thank you for taking the time to post your views online. I am obviously disappointed to read your comments, and concerned that the way in which your comments are portrayed differ to those of the guest who dined with us on Christmas Day, the majority of which I spoke with personally.
In terms of the food we provide, we work hard to always prepare in house using fresh ingredients sourced from local suppliers, the roast potatoes we serve fall in to this category.
I would be happy to discuss your comments with you in person, as you can appreciate from the majority of comments we receive on Trip Advisor, these are certainly out of kilter and not the norm, so I am keen to ensure I get to the bottom of these.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the matter.

Kind regards,
Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No room at the Inn!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

One Sunday, on the spur of the moment, we decided to have a drive out and look for this hotel with a view to having lunch there. We are fans of the TV programme "Last Tango in Halifax". After an hours drive we eventually found it. It is smaller than it looks on the TV but very charming. We found someone and asked if it was possible to have lunch. We were told that it was fully booked. Fair enough as we hadn't booked so asked if we could have a bar meal. Again no can do. Asked if we could have a drink in the bar or a coffee, again no can do! Told that the bar area was closing as there was a wedding booked! Even if we had been staying over night I doubt that we would have been able to use the bar as residents. Moral of this story is check before you go/book because if there is a wedding (which we suspect is most weekends) like Mary and Joseph you will not be accommodated! Shame it looked lovely. Drove all the way back home!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Christmasy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and i am sorry that we were unable to accommodated you on this occasion.

I am glad that you found the hotel small and charming, I do hope very much that you are able to make the time in spring/summertime to visit us again so you can take advantage of all the hotel has to offer, along with the surrounding area.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing