We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon delight”

Restaurant at Holdsworth House
Ranked #26 of 299 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$46
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Afternoon delight”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Booked an afternoon tea. Was warmly greeted and shown into one of the lovely rooms,. Very attentive staff took our order, all three wanted a different tea, but the waitress didn't blink an eye. The drinks arrived and whenever we needed either hot water or more tea.. No problem.
The three tired stand arrived with a variety of sandwiches, cakes and scones all elegantly presented and tasted fantastic.
After a very leisurely meal we wandered the grounds and thought of when we would be returning.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Andrew5061 thank you for sharing your experience of afternoon tea at Holdsworth House. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you got chance to explore the house and grounds - do come back in autumn to see the changing colours in the gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    37
    35
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, just needed more of it!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went for a meal with family, we were the only people in the restaurant, there was a wedding on, which took over the rest of the place! The dining room we were in was in a corner, but we felt to be looked at by people trying to find there way too and from the wedding and the toilets / bedrooms.
The service was slow, the food struck us as expensive as apart from items from the grill you needed sides to make meals adequate!
There was not a great selection of deserts, however all appeared a bit too fancy and pretentious!
I felt overall the food was good, but service and cost let it down!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane&matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jane&matthew,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience of Holdsworth House Hotel.

Primarily may I say how sorry we are that you were not fully satisfied with your visit. We take all your feedback on board and will look to enhance our offering for future guests so that expectations are met or exceeded.

I do very much hope that you will take the time to return to us in the future to see the changes we make and to truly enjoy your experience with us. If i can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel (01422 240024).

Kind regards


Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We have taken mum for afternoon tea today for her birthday.... Our table was in what can only be described as the hallway everyone there today betwean 3 o'clock and 4.30 would of passed us.... The service can only be described as awful....it took 15 mins to be asked if we wanted tea/ coffee and another 15 mins after said beverages arrived to get the actual afternoon tea.... Not one waitress/waiter asked if everything was ok..... Really not what we were expecting if there was a minus score for service that's what we would of given.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Heather J,

Thank you for taking the time to visit and review your recent experience of Holdsworth House Hotel, I am sorry that you were disappointed especially considering the special nature of your visit. I do wish you had given us the opportunity to rectify this at the time by telling a team member about your dissatisfaction, as we would have been more than willing to make it right for you.

The Stone room where your party was placed is an area which we use regularly for small and large parties alike, alternately we do have private dining rooms available for hire giving the privacy you may have been looking for.

In terms of service delivery we freshly prepare all items on the day, with some like the sandwiches and scones prepared at the time of arrival. This ensures full freshness and the time taken usually lends itself well to the leisurely style of Afternoon Tea service, however i can see that this was not what you were expecting and i am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in the service we deliver and and will use your comments to improve to ensure future guests receive a superior experience.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

food in the restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner. the sirloin steak I had was one of the best ever. Lovely surroundings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janice6958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Janice6958,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of Holdsworth House Hotel, we really do appropriate you taking the time out of your day to do so. Great food and service in beautiful surroundings is exactly what we aim for, and we do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to enjoy more of the same.

Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“The best food we've ever had in Halifax!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A small but excellent menu. Four different starters and four different main courses all excellent. The pork cheeks were mouth watering. Friendly caring service and great Jacobean atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant at Holdsworth House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Will_Of_The_North,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holdsworth house. Thank you for your excellent comments and be assured that these are always passed onto our team who are always pleased to get positive customer comments. I am sorry you had trouble with your TV and housekeeping has subsequently resolved the issue in the room you stayed in. I am also sorry we did not achieve the full 5 star recommendation and hope that you return to us soon so we can strive for that goal.

PS: The Pale Ale served in the bar is Withens from a fantastic little brewery in Hebden Bridge called Little Valley Brewery you can buy the beer on their website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Holdsworth House also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Holdsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing