We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Together”

Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn
Ranked #32 of 305 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Swanland, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Get Together”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A dozen friends from our distant-past schooldays met up for a Sunday meal here.
The building, the decor, the setting are all stunning and well worth a visit.
There was only an a la carte menu available which offered very expensive options. They did source their food locally which might explain why there was no salad on offer in any of the courses. The presentation was superb and the food cooked to perfection (if you like your Yorkshire Puddings large and crispy) though the portion sizes were on the meagre side for the prices charged (e.g. just two thin slices of the Roast Lamb)
The staff were friendly and willing, though not always very capable - e.g. tried to give us someone else's bill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YvonneD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    101
    46
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Terrific Venue”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one place I have eaten at on many occasions because of its consistent good food and service.
The dishes are always imaginative and capture the essence of first- class locally sourced food.
It is set in the beautiful Shibden Valley close to the town of Halifax.
Well worth a visit if you only want a drink and maybe a sandwich as there is a good selection of both.
One word of caution mind your head going in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 966Hoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Locally produced food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I'm a (soft?!) southerner and accustomed to the sort of prices one finds on the M4 corridor ... even allowing for the north/south price divide, the Shibden Mill Inn seemed astonishingly reasonable.

The approach to this venue is very picturesque; in my experience, about 70% of cosy-looking pubs live up to their approach once you get inside ... this one, if anything, exceeds expectations - it's wonderfully cosy and old-fashioned. Parking is ample, though the hill that leads down to it is steep - care needed on a frosty night.

I visited on a Sunday and was pleased to find the normal menu was available, as opposed to just a 'Sunday roast'- a Sunday roast being relatively easy to cook for oneself; to use a Yorkshire phrase, 'why go out to stop at home? - happily, there was plenty on the menu here that wouldn't be easily cooked at home!

We were pleased and interested to read about the provenance of the food on offer - almost everything was from the local area. Crispy duck eggs were a highlight from the starters, and locally farmed pork from the mains.

The range of wines was extensive, encompassing both traditional and new - there are ranges by the bottle and glass, and I must commend the sommelier on his choice, when, having finished our bottle of French red, we asked for a complimentary wine by the glass.

The portions here are filling in the extreme - so I'd recommend either starving during the day, or deciding at the outset whether to go for starter _or_ pudding - unless you have a huge appetite, you will struggle!

There's a pleasant outside area - on a rainy April day I couldn't take full advantage of it for my post-prandial ciggie - but it must be lovely in summer!

The range of liqueur coffees was fair, though not extensive - the requisite wafer thin mints were indeed supplied, though!

The bill was astonishingly fair for what we'd had - great service, hearty food, lovely atmosphere.

Overall - heartily recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malentaheloyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third visit”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The meal was quite nice.
One of vegetables was under cooked and inedible. The Pork crackling mentioned on Roast Pork Sunday lunch was absent.This was pointed out to the waitress,her answer was "I will tell chef". No replacement vegetable was offered and no crackling was provided.Not good service considering the prices.
We were offered water with the meal.When the bill came we were charged £3.20 for a litre unsealed bottle of water which could well have been from the tap,disgraceful.
Third visit and probably the last.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlrichmond37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Good over all bit pricy but pay for what u get some lovely people and lovely clean bar and loo's
Beer on the expensive side but hay ho

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hothalifaxlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Shibden Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing