We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUITE DIFFERENT”
Review of Spring Rock

Spring Rock
Ranked #52 of 299 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Spring Rock Inn is a country pub serving a wide range of cask ales , fine wines and good quality home cooked food.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“QUITE DIFFERENT”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

After a long walk on the moors my friends suggested we have a drink in the Spring Rock .IT doesn.t look much from outside but once you step inside it.s like a different world .All classes mingle there Solicitors ,undertakers,local trades men ,farmers ,and flash birds mingle freely while the landlord gives them a hard time which they seem to enjoy. No need to buy food ,on the Friday evening i was there plates of sausages and spare ribs were handed out so we washed this down with the local real .Such a friendly spot it is definatly worth a visit .If i lived in the area I would make this my local.I will certainly make a return visit .What a pity there arn't more pubs like this.who ever runs this place keep it as it is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, good pub”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Very nice local pub situated in a rural setting. We visited day after boxing day and found the pub surprisingly busy. Great selection of beers and real ales (if your into that sort of thing) the menu was not extensive but for a local pub it was good. Food tasted great and was served quick too. Defiantly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dave_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forget, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Watering Hole”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

After a long, wet and windy walk up on the moorland, this is the ideal spot to visit to warm up a shade, sup some very good local beer and have a pub lunch.

The staff are very welcoming and were really patient with us when we could not make up our minds what to choose from the ample menu.

The range of food is good and concentrates on pub classics with a little bit of flair added.

The meal, which was for 9 of us, each with a different permutation of food, arrived quickly and concurrently. It was of an excellent quality and substantially better than might be expected for a small pub.

We will be going back in an evening at some time to sample the food, beer and atmosphere again.

If ever you have the misfortune to be isolated from the world due to snow and foul weather, head for this place ....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good company , good food and good local beer”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

met here for a family reunion - we had good attentive and friendly service - good selection of wines and local beers in comfortable surroundings . there were over 20 in the party and the waitress managed very well and the food arrived almost altogether - the fish and chips look amazing as did the steaks but my Guinness and beef pie was home-made and delicious - no room for a pudding but next time I will save room for some Jam Roly Poly - it looked delicious. A great child friendly pub with great food if you are in the locality give it a try.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Rural Pub”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Frequented this "local pub" as it was just down the road from our rental accomodation. The staff were excellent and the food was a very pleasant surprise when compared to other English Pub fare we experienced. Lots of local ales on tap and a good selection of wines available. We decided to celebrate both our 30th wedding anniversary and a birthday at the pub. Lynn was exceptional decorating the table for our anniversary dinner and even going out of her way to buy us a anniversary card! The only thing that is missing is printed menus - which I understand are on the way. Currently you have to get up from your table to peruse the chalkboards for a listing of the fare. Plenty of vehicle parking available if required.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring Rock also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Norland, Sowerby Bridge
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Spring Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing