We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night while attending a family event in the area. The hotel is very central and made an excellent first impression thanks to the friendly and helpful reception staff. Inside there are some nice old features, and although the corridors are a little tired the rooms themselves were spacious and modern. Everything you could need was provided- tea, coffee, biscuits, toiletries etc- and the room was very clean and quiet. We had an excellent nights sleep, very comfy beds!

Breakfast was great, with a choice of hot and continental food and once again very friendly staff who kept everything topped up.

The hotel is within a few minutes walking distance of the Broad Street centre where there are plenty of restaurants (Nandos, Frankie and Bennies, Pizza Express etc) and a cinema. There is a McDonalds and bar opposite the hotel but our room was not at the front so we had no noise issues whatsoever.

Absolutely no complaints to be made about the place, wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HEm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent visit to the Hotel. We pride ourselves on customer service and I am delighted the reception and breakfast staff were well received. I will pass on your comments to both departments. I am glad you found the mattress to be comfortable and breakfast to be plentiful. We hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the white swan, paying £59 including breakfast which I think is a good price for this 3 star hotel in the centre of halifax.

We arrived at12pm so was very early for our room but the receptionist checked us in straight away - very fast and efficient (and the key is an actual key rather than a swipe card which I liked!!!)

We parked outside and gave in our car keys and their staff parked the car in a locked undercover car park next to the hotel. This again was all taken care of very quickly without any fuss, and when we checked out in the morning the car had been moved to the town hall car park at the end of the road and was ready to drive away - a very impressive simple service.

The hotel is clearly a very old building and some of the corridors look a little tired, but it was all immaculately clean and some of the features like the stained glass windows and wrought iron staircase make up for this.

The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and of a very good size, particularly the bathroom!!!

It had a dimmer switch, lots of plug points and mirrors, a trouser press, hairdryer, toiletries, shoe shine, biscuits and a fantastic amount of brew kit that we were very pleased with!!!

The breakfast in the morning was again very efficient with excellent staff that made sure everyone was served very quickly, that everything was kept topped up and that used tables were cleaned up straight away - the staff are a real credit to this hotel.

There was an extensive continental breakfast out which had many choices includes fresh fruit (sliced pineapple, strawberries, grapes etc), many cereals, and pastries including croissants, flapjacks and muffins).

Orders are taken for the cooked breakfast which came very quickly and was very nice (toast, egg, sausages, bacon, beans, mushroom, fried bread, tomato and black pudding!!!)

The only niggle was that the mushrooms were tinned which was a bit disappointing given that everything else was so fresh!!!

All in all we really liked this hotel and given how central it is and the staff being so wonderful I'd highly recommend!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dmorgan202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you indepth review. I am delighted to hear you found the Hotel to be good value for money and reception to be efficient. If a guest arrives early we are more than happy to let them check in if a room is ready. I am glad you found the car parking to be of use and the bedrooms to your liking. We have recently improved our breakfast selection and this proving to be successful. The mushrooms come from a local green grocer. I will speak to the chef with your thoughts on the mushrooms. I will pass on your sincere comments to all the staff. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

In this modern era of budget hotels which are impersonal and clinical(as well as lacking decent soundproofing in their fabric),it is great to experience an old hotel that is thriving when so many of them have gone are are dilapidated.
I have stayed there on business for three consecutive weeks and have had my faith in hotels rekindled.It has recently been tastefully refurbished so it is fresh and the rooms are very comfortable with Sky sports and free wifi.The staff are extremely personable and helpful.The breakfast quality is excellent although they do not do evening meals- there is a good Italian Restaurant-Julios- attached to the hotel where we ate most nights.Although it is in the town centre,there is free parking and the rooms have good soundproofing.There is also a wee gymn which has good equipment - running machine,cycling machines,rowing machine and a punchbag.
Give it a go and experience a good old fashioned English Hotel experience.

Room Tip: best to get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geo870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us the last few week and felt the Hotel's ambience as we like it to be perceived. Thank you for writing such a detailed review on your stay with us here at The White Swan. I am delighted to hear you found the free wifi and sky of use. I will pass on your kind comments about the staff and breakfast. We hope to see you again if you are working in Halifax in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This lovely hotel has everything you need and adorable staff.
I will definitely stay here when in area.
Breakfast with full waitress service feels like throw back, however a lovely way to start the day.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest, I'm glad you found the hotel to have everything you needed and that you thought the staff were adorable!! We look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the breakfast service, and thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here at the end of October 2013 with my two small children.

The room was clean, warm and a decent size and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice but expensive (£30 for myself and two toddlers to eat and the little ones only had some fruit and cereal).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad you found the room to be clean, warm and large enough. I will also pass on your kind comments about the staff being friendly and helpful.

With regards to the breakfast pricing, we do charge £10 per person if breakfast isn't pre booked. However if a room is booked direct we do have an offer whereby children stay free, so it would then just be yourself you were paying for to have breakfast in with the room pricing. Currently on a weekend we would charge £59 for 2 adults and 2 children including breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stopped for a couple of nights on business. Good check in and found the room large, well decorated and clean. Good wifi connection and lots of coffee on the complementary tray. Friendly staff.

Restaurant downstairs was good, however did get dirty spoon which was changed straight away. Spot on breakfast.

Just one possible improvement, I personally would have liked to have fuller, more firm pillows.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. I am glad to hear you found the room well decorated and clean. And the wifi of benefit. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and the breakfast team. I will also pass on your comments to Julio's Italian restaurant to prevent this from happening again. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is a nice old hotel. It's been renovated, but really just with paint and new (but not very expensive) room fittings. But it's been fun to stay there on my visits to Halifax. There are quirks and it really gets a 'very good' only because one overlooks them in this old hotel. The overall rating is well above my individual ratings on 'service' and so on. Breakfast coffee is served in French presses, but has in fact been brewed elsewhere or is instant coffee, not freshly made in the cafetiere. Not very nice.

But they've just put up their mid-week prices to £89 for a basic room. Sorry, but that's silly. This reviewer will try the alternatives in Halifax, even if they have problematic reviews. It may be that the White Swan is worth twice the going rate, but then again, maybe not.

Room Tip: Upper floors over the front (it's quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moderntate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest. Thank you for choosing The White Swan for your recent visits to Halifax. And thank you for giving us a 4* review. I appreciate your comments regarding the coffee, we do use a filter coffee at breakfast, but I will keep an eye on feedback. With regards to pricing, our prices start from £45 and we keep them in line with other hotels in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.3 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £37 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and Afternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing