We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Our second visit after 3 years away was lovely. Excellent staff, excellent accommodation and excellent service. The room we were given was small but adequate. It was well equipped and comfortable. The breakfast was filling and well cooked and served with a smile by great staff. We cannot praise this hotel enough.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank koolsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for returning to The White Swan and for writing your second review. It was lovely to see you both again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    165
    30
    14
    1
See reviews for
46
188
24
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at the White Swan on the Friday as our base for a three night stay around a 50 mile charity trek in under 24 hours across the Pennines.
From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we were treated to superb service from a hotel team who couldn't do enough for us despite us coming and going at all hours and being utterly dishevelled and exhausted on occasions too!
Worth mentioning an excellent meal at the Italian attached to the hotel and the cracking breakfasts too. Thank you so much to all of the staff, you were all superstars!
Regards Rhys, the two Paul's, Lee and Mark.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review. I will pass on your kind comments to all the relevant departments. We will let the restaurant staff of Julio's know. It would be lovely to see you if you return to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break at the white swan and we can say it has been most enjoyable.
Friendly staff, excellent clean rooms, peaceful room and a lovely breakfast in the morning.
It's worth mentioning the italian restaurant downstairs as this was also a pleasant experience with lovely food and wine.
We would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be clean and tidy. I am pleased that the room was nice and quiet for you and you found the staff to be friendly. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here to attend a friends wedding and wasnt expecting much to be honest, especially for £49 for a saturday night! The staff are so friendly and helpful. Even before we arrived we asked if we could come earlier to the room in order to dress for the wedding and so they kindly arranged for the room to be ready 2 hrs earlier than the usual 2pm. Thank you so much btw.
Valet parking into a secure (free) carpark. A touch of class!
I always think that you can tell alot about the room standard by how the corridors and carpets on the corridors look and these were spotless! Not a speck of dust and not a single finger mark on the mirrors of the lift!
Our room was lovely, clean, and spacious, with a huge wet room which was just gorgeous. Huge fluffy white towels and plenty of them as well as plenty of soaps, shower gels and the personal touch, a trouser press (came in handy!) and a handy shoe polish kit! Attention to detail is fantastic! Nothing in this hotel looked cheap or plastic. The brass firemans hose on one of the corridors was gleaming! (Hats off to your domestic staff)
The bed was lovely! Firm mattress with huge fluffy pillows and gorgeous linen which was whiter than white. The type of luxury we have found only in 5 star country houses! Well done! We didn't stay for breakfast but the dining room looked lovely and we certainly will next time!!breakfast is served until 10am sundays too which is a fab thing to provide so people can have a little lie in.
All in all we found nothing at all to complain about.
A hidden gem in Halifax centre and yet no noise from those out drinking saturday nights/ sun morn! Dont be put off by the location! This hotel is on a par with those luxury country houses!
Thank you all so much. It was hard to leave this morning....

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for writing such a lovely in depth review on your recent stay with us. It is always lovely to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. I am glad you found the room to be of good value for money, clean and tidy and the benefit of having an early check in. As we pride ourselves on our customer service I am delighted to hear the staff did not disappoint. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in Halifax. Once again thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here Sunday night and were able to park outside the front door, beautiful building, very grand. The stair case and reception were plush and our room was very tastefully decorated. There were complimentary toiletries and nice selection of teas and milks. Good wifi. Central location. Peaceful and very comfortable and excellent value. We enjoyed a tasty breakfast with good range of foods on display. Would love to return. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for such a positive review. Thank you also for taking the time to take some photographs and publish these. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, in particular the hotel's décor, and facilities in the bedroom. I will ensure the breakfast team are told you enjoyed your breakfast. We're glad you would love to revisit, we look forward to seeing you if you do. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This to me is a real hotel, the rooms are well furnished with great shower and all the facilities you would expect. This is our second visit and although the staff were different, they were so helpful and friendly and always put themself out. Breakfast is to die for, only problem we had was that it was a Friday night and the locals were rather noisey and our room was on the front, but you can't blame the hotel for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel and it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel, and for writing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you found the hotel to be a :real hotel'. We are proud of where we work and enjoy making our guests' stay a pleasant one, and are glad this had showed.

It's great to hear you found your room to be well furnished and like the new shower, and fantastic to hear you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

Please don't hesitate to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, away from the street. We also have most bedrooms with double glazed windows now too, after customer feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I chose The White Swan Halifax for a single night stay because they accepted pets free of charge. I didn't expect the hotel room to be as lovely as it was everything you needed was there and spotlessly clean. The hotel staff just couldn't do enough for us but most impressive thing was just how welcoming and friendly they were the service was second to non. Breakfast was fantastic and everything you would possibly need was available as you like it for £10 for a couple it was excellent valve for money.
We spent the evening In the bar drinks were cheap for an hotel delivered to the table. Comfy relaxing friendly atmosphere. Another bonus to this hotel is the Italian restaurant downstairs we ordered food to the bar swiftly it arrived and it was excellent

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorls71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The White Swan for your stay last weekend. I'm glad you found the hotel to be clean, and I will certainly pass on your kind comments about the staff.

We're glad you enjoyed the selection of our breakfast and enjoyed your time spent in the lounge and your meal from Julio's.

Thank you once again, we look, forward to seeing you again if you are in Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
211 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#4 Business Hotel in Halifax
#5 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. We also serve a small lunch menu and AFternoon Tea is pre-bookable. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel By Compass Hospitality Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing