We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
The spacious and comfortable sitting room with traditional furniture, ceiling beams, inglenook fire.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The spacious and comfortable sitting room with traditional furniture, ceiling beams, inglenook fire.
Another view of the sitting room with restored pine doors,gas log burner for instant heat/no mess! We hope everything is here for you to enjoy this spacious room. Smart tv, wifi, garden view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The spacious and comfortable sitting room with traditional furniture, ceiling beams, inglenook fire.
Another view of the sitting room with restored pine doors,gas log burner for instant heat/no mess!
We hope everything is here for you to enjoy this spacious room. Smart tv, wifi, garden view.
Mullioned window in the kitchen dates from 1650, exposed stone, modern appliances mix old and new!
The specially designed kitchen fits in everything you need to cook a lovely meal.
Electric ceramic hob and electric oven with chimney extractor ensure cooking is easy or eat at pub!
Super comfortable luxury Hypnos super King bed ( can be 2 single will give you a great nights' sleep
Night Night! Enjoy reading in bed with a variety of lighting options. Bedside, central and downlight
The most amazing bedroom! Spacious, comfortable, fantastic views across the other side of the Calder
Everything you can need has been provided for a lovely stay including mirrors, hairdryer and more.
The luxury bedroom is full of character, restored pine doors hide a modern wardrobe with drawers.
An original gas light from the bedroom has been restored as a feature above the cast iron fireplace
The beautiful cast iron feature fireplace in the bedroom., lovingly restored.
A 21st century bathroom of hotel standard for a luxurious soak in the huge bath with shower at 1 end
The spacious bathroom has an Aqualisa Digital power shower, basin, loo , gas boiler, washer/dryer
The staircase has the traditional handrail to help you. Please note the top step is higher.
Work from home if required! Wifi all over the cottage, desk, chair on landing or space for Z bed.
Wainhouse Tower taken on a light June evening.Open on Bank Holidays if you enjoy a climb for a view!
The sunny garden and patio offers you a lovely place to relax outside in and enjoy the views.
The rear courtyard with plants and washing line  with mullioned window dating from 1650
An inscription to John Edward Wainhouse who built the 470 ft tower nearby and other buildings
A view of the cottages and the Wainhouse Tavern Grade 2 listed, Wainhouse's home in the 1870's.
Afternoon tea on the patio, whilst you sit in the sun admiring the view.
Feature wall plates commemorating local events and local paintings give the sitting room character
Enjoy dining on an antique table surrounded by local memorabilia and artwork.
Antique furniture and local art work on walls provide character features in a 17th century cottage.
Enjoy the sunshine and views across the Calder Valley from the terrace which is a sunny + sheltered
Moorland view for you to explore by bike or foot.
Walk/cycle along the River Calder or the nearby Rochdale Canal and maybe catch a train or bus back.
Look for the heron as you pass along the canal towpath , the Calder Greenway, by foot or bike
The Rochdale Canal provides beautiful walks or cycle  Maybe walk one way then catch the train back?
View from the bedroom window in winter across to Norland on the other side of the Calder Valley.
I am very welcome as long as I am well behaved, stay downstairs and I bring my bed and sofa protecto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Halifax, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kym S
Surfers Paradise
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time staying in the Dyer's Cottage in Halifax. We had everything we could possibly need and our Host Jane made us feel very welcome.

The Cottage has been renovated to a very high standard, but it has still kept its old world charm. I would have no hesitation staying in the Cottage sometime in the future.

We are from Queensland Australia and we found Halifax a very interesting place to visit. Lots of things to see and do

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
I am so pleased Kym that you enjoyed your week staying at Dyer's Cottage. Your comments about the renovation are very kind but it has been a labour of love to do sympathetically. We wanted to maintain as much of the character as we could yet introduce a feeling of comfort and luxury, especially in the bathroom. It would be lovely to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane A
1 review
“Super”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A beautiful and charming cottage, excellently equipped and furnished with great attention to detail, the perfect "home from home". Jane, the owner, did all she could to make us welcome, even going down to stocking the fridge with essentials for when we arrived. The location is perfect for exploring the Calder Valley and even further afield. And the pub next door is just an added bonus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
Thank you for this review. I am pleased that you found the cottage a pleasurable place to stay and I hope you will be able to return again soon.
Best wishes,
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed and fantastic bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for this lovely review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dyer's Cottage. As you have written, Calderdale has so much to offer a visitor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for this review and I am very pleased that you and Tara found everything suited you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying at the cottage and will be returning soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HelenRT
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Holiday place with an interesting history and character. State-of-the-art bath/shower-room and kitchen. Gas fire that looks like a woodburner, huge and comfy bed, south-facing garden and friendly pub close-by. What's not to like? Furnished & equipped to allow visitors to come for meals and entertainment. I've been to a lot of holiday cottages and I highly recommend this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the shower
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dyer's Cottage Helen and hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing