We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COMFY AND FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chequers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chequers
Ranked #79 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
cambs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“COMFY AND FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Bev & Alistair are brilliant hosts. They really made us welcome, the rooms are clean and comfy, and I felt at ease at once. My son and his friend who both have learning dfficulties were also made welcome and settled in easily. They are saving up to go again next year. I throughly recommend this hotel you would go a long way to find such great hosts.
PS. Bev is a good cook too

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Excellent location, quiet but very near the areas of interest in the town and very friendly and helpful proprietors - what more could you want?

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woluwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

A very caring Family who are easy to chat to, makes you feel very welcomed. Alistair and Bev were very helpful in our stay. Food was beautiful and the rooms very spaceous and clean. Bar was downstairs so after a full day we could relax and have a drink without worrying about going out. Have highly recommended the Chequers to our family and friends. Bev took us to the Norfolk broads this we enjoyed fully and cant thank Bev enough. She is very commited in making sure her guests are welcomed with open arms. Our stay was excellent and we wouldnt hesitate on staying with you again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbilsxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

We went to stay at The Chequers for a family weekend break after being recommended by some friends. We found it very easy to find, when we arrived we were welcomed by Al & Bev with open arms and made to feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and very comfortable with refreshments available. The food was very good especially the breakfast a good old full english. With easy access to the sea front it is ideally positioned. A fantastic stay and we've re booked for later on in the year.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessa_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

we stayed here for easter weekend. on arrival the owner was sat outside waiting for us. he greeted us with a smile and checked us in quickly. the owners hospitality throughout our stay was impeccable. this bed and breakfast had homely little touches and has been very well thought out by alistair and bev. they have done things like put tissues on the bedisde lockers and put grabrails on the exact places on the stairs where you need them.
the rooms were decorated in chocolate browns and creams very modern and nicely done. it was extrremely clean everywhere and the bar was excellent shame no other guests used it as much as we did.
the breakfast was full english, cereal, toast, or scrambled eggs, you could even have kippers or smoked haddock.
this hotel is not suitable for wheelchair users as all the rooms start ont he first floor and there is no lift. i walk with two sticks and alistair did put me on the first floor which is one flight of stairs.
it is located one street from the seafront and is a 100 yard walk to wellington pier and the pleasure beach. regent road where the main shops are is about a ten minute walk.
this hotel is not worthy of it's four stars it deserves five.
i cannot fault this bed and breakfast and will be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

spent a weekend at this friendly guest house and have booked for the summer . great service ,clean comfortable rooms ,excellent bar and amazing food . well worth a visit .nothing was too much trouble for the caring owners ***********************

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davyboy143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chequers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chequers

Property: The Chequers
Address: Nelson Road South, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chequers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chequers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chequers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing