We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet an other fab stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #1 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yet an other fab stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Well what can I say other than thank you Jean and Eddie!! not for getting our little George the dog. This was our 5th stay at the White lodge and can only say that a warm welcome and a big breakfast awaits. Room facilities were all fabulously clean and tidy as always, plus loved the big bed in room 9. Not stayed in that room before but loved it. I sat in the window seat watching the snow come down and the chicken scratching about in the garden, just bliss.
We had a night at the dog races which is only a 5 minute drive from White Lodge and only cost just over £5 so between 6 was nothing. Which enabled us all to have a glass or two. The meal we had there was good to.
Over all a fab weekend with great friends good company and a brilliant guest house.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim00079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    842
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
533
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

lovely place , friendly owners, sweet dog. Everything good, especially breakfast which was a bit special. The bedroom was nicely furnished with a huge comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 187067Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This was our second Christmas at the White Lodge and was even better this time. Our hosts Jean and Eddie could not have been more welcoming. We had a super time with them. They even arranged for all the guests to go to the Christmas Circus in the Hippodrome on Boxing Day.

There is plenty of space for free parking in the Crescent.

The room was fabulous decked out in Art Deco style with a huge six foot bed and sea views. All home comforts were provided as standard. A huge flat screen television showing all the freeview channels was mounted on the wall. A large selection of teas, coffees, toiletries etc were all provided.

A beautiful lounge with a roaring coal fire, sofas, armchairs, Sky tv were provided for the comfort of guests. Fast wireless broadband was available all over the hotel.

The dining room was decked out for Christmas and an unending supply of food and drink was heaped on the tables. The quality of the meals was five star standard and we put on pounds during our stay.

All the guests gelled together and we had an absolutely fabulous time. We have already put our names down for next Christmas.

This is truly the best place we have stayed in and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novestonback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I found this B&B on Tripadvisor and I wasn't disappointed. My son and I spent 3 nights here and we would stay here again. It's in a great location just across from the beach on the quiet North End of town. Room was large (we had the large twin room - Room 1) and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was excellent and made to order. Jean was very friendly and George the dog also made friends quickly and easily. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a large twin room with plenty of space and 2 very comfortable single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We turned up unexpectedly early evening and were lucky to get the last room available. Warm welcome, lovely clean and comfortable room, superbly prepared breakfast - who could ask for more? You won't find better than this!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My girlfriend and I have just spent a truly fantastic weekend away at the White Lodge, courtesy of Jean, Eddie and George the dog! I had informed Jean before that the weekend away was for a special occasion, and she made a huge amount of effort to make the room look as beautiful and romantic as possible - they added in lots of lovely touches (chocolates, champagnes, cute little heart-shaped decorations!) to make the weekend truly unforgettable.
Jean and Eddie were wonderfully welcoming - they really made us feel at home. George the dog was lovely - don't be put off by his barking when you first come in, he's as tame and friendly as anything! The room was gorgeous and spotless, the bed was big, soft and completely relaxing, and the attention to detail with the tea, coffee and biscuits was immaculate. Everything worked perfectly - the wifi was consistent and we had no trouble with the big TV! We were also lucky that we had incredible weather: getting to watch the sun rise over the North Sea from our room was a real treat. Would definitely recommend it to anyone, and will definitely be coming again!

Room Tip: We got a room facing the sea and there were no problems at all - it was beautiful and sunny. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was my first stay at a B&B and admit I was a bit worried about that. This place was perfect and I plan to go there again. The owners are wonderful friendly people and make you feel so relaxed. The room was spotless, beautiful bedding, wonderful bed. A lovely assortment of coffee and tea in the room. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and there was a large assortment of of goodies in the dining room, different breads to toast, cereals, coffee, tea, and in the fridge, lots of juices and yogurts to choose from. I felt so relaxed and so spoiled that I didn't want to leave. This is a place you must stay at.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carleen289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing