We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation; clean, welcoming and fabulous breakfast”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation; clean, welcoming and fabulous breakfast”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the white Lodge for the Jubilee weekend
The public areas and dining room were tastefully decorated with bunting etc to give a celebratory feel
Our room was of a very high quality - attractive and modern. The location is excellent - quiet and easy to park but just a short walk into the town center
Lots of information about the local area in the room.
Breakfast excellent and an added bonus is George the dog
We will recommend to friends and stay again soon.

Room Tip: Room nine had a king size bed and was very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
556
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Outstanding service, couldn't be more helpful. Great bed, breakfast. Really out to please the customer. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We booked this b&b at the last minute as we decided to stay over for the weekend and we were not disapointed. It is located on the seafront just 10mins walking to the centre. Our room was overlooking the sea and was very comfortable with everything we needed and we had a great nights sleep. We enjoyed the home cooked breakfast with eggs from the garden so we would recommend this for anyone staying in Yarmouth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We initially tried to book another guest house in the area however that particular place had a less than reliable booking system. This was fortunate for us as with the White Lodge the whole process from booking-online to booking-out was seamless. In addition, Jean (owner, ‘meeter’ and ‘greeter’) kindly posted some possessions on to us that we had inadvertently left behind. Thanks again Jean.

Overall the service was excellent in all departments and the stay was extremely good value for money. Great range of breakfast options and the substantial cooked breakfast was particularly filling and tasty. The environment was clean, quiet and cosy.

Free parking and proximity to the beach were a bonus, along with not being too near all the action at the pier.

If we were to return to Great Yarmouth for another weekend break the White Lodge is where we would stay.

Helene & Edwin.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We decided to go to great yarmouth in the morning and booked up and set off.
This b&b was number one in the ratings on here so we went with it.
On arrival we found out that the only room left was room 10 on the ground floor,
we did not have the same views as the rooms upstairs but the room was immaculate.
The room had plenty of light coming into it and the bedding was crisp.
The bed was only 4'6 but a good night sleep was had by both of us.
The host Jean is very friendly and GEORGE(the dog) greated us every time we came in or out with affection,bless him.
The breakfast was nice and plenty of it too,eggs from their own chickens.
i tried to find fault with this place and found none.
WELL DONE JEAN i don't think we could find a better place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARPHIL2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I chose this B&B to stay in whilst in Great Yarmouth for one night purely on the basis that it was No 1 on Trip Advisor and I was not disappointed. The location is brilliant, walking distance of the centre yet quiet and peaceful with views of a pretty boating lake and then the sea just right there out of your window. The place is spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The towels are good quality Egyptian cotton and the showers are lovely and powerful. Jean is down to earth, friendly and helpful. Breakfast includes eggs from their own hens. A well deserved No 1 in my opinion!

Room Tip: If travelling solo like me Room 2 is lovely - sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay and could not fault anything we stayed in the king size sea view room it was massive very clean,The breakfast was beautiful fresh eggs lovely, the white lodge is also ideally situated for everything and of course I must not forget George (the dog) he is so friendly he came and greeted us every time we came down the stairs or when we came in so a big thanks to Jean & Eddie and George for a wonderful stay if anyone is looking for superb hosts friendly atmosphere and lovely food look no further it does not get any better than the white lodge Paul & Evelyn.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbielouise96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing