We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Time...!”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Time...!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Just returned from the white Lodge - with reviewer Vikki25 (below) - however just a couple of other helpful comments :)

The White Lodge has totally free WIFI - which runs fantastically well....quick speed. The code is given in the folder in the room - Jean tells you all this at the start.

Parking - there is more then ample free parking outside the White Lodge - which is fantastic. A couple of times we decided to take the car into town of an evening and parking is free along the seafront after 6pm...other times it's £5 for the day along the road, but the White Lodge is only a 10 minute walk to the Britannia Pier.

Apart from that - echo the comments from Vikki25 - thoroughly enjoyable stay - cannot wait to go back!

P.S The sausages and scrambled eggs are immense!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
546
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Well - what to say about White Lodge - one word = PERFECTION.

From the very start to the very end of our stay here we had an amazing time.

We arrived, early, on Friday - at lunchtime and was greeted by Jean and Eddie - who are just such friendly, kind people - they made our stay so comfortable and easy.

Room - Our room was ready early and so we got straight in - we had room 7 which was on the first floor and was SPOTLESS. The room had french windows that could be opened up with a view out to sea...which was lovely as the weather was warm and sunny. The room has a flat screen TV with DVD player integrated in to it, with Freeview. Tea and Coffee making facilities are in the room, along with a couple of biccies (which was a nice touch!). There were fresh towels in the room and shower gel and shampoo supplied, along with a shower cap! The rooms are turned down every day during your stay which was nice!

Breakfast - WOW! Breakfast was soooo yummy! There was everything you can imagine to help yourself to - cereals, yoghurts, pastries, toast, juices, nutella, jam, peanut butter, all kinds of teas and coffee....and then you get the choice of a full cooked breakfast or something on toast or eggs benedict. Every day we had a cooked breakfast and it was cooked to perfection - hot and tasty. Each day you are left a breakfast menu in your room to be filled out as to what you would like and a rough time that you require breakfast and you leave this at reception before 8pm so they can see what is required. All 3 days we were down to breakfast early but this is no problem....

George the Dog!! - well the famous George the dog is as all previous reviewers have said, just lovely. He barked once when we arrived to say hello - and then from then on we did not hear him once. Every time we came down to breakfast (he's not allowed in the breakfast room) or in from the day out he was there to greet us with his wagging tail and then when we went to go upstairs he would look up at us (as he's not allowed up to the guest rooms) and then retire to 'his' chair in the lounge area :) Just a delight to have around...!

Yarmouth - well the B&B was about 10 minute walk to the centre of things, you have the piers and the town and the pleasure beach - would recommend the Pirate Golf (18 holes) along the Seafront - £6 for an adult...well worth it :)

All in all a perfect trip, with the perfect hosts and the most perfect place to stay - will DEFINATELY be back!!

Thanks Jean and Eddie for a wonderful holiday!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

this is the second time we have stayed and it is always a pleasure to stay with great hosts in jean and eddie and of course george the dog. They cannot do enough for you and the rooms are lovelyand also the breakfast are spot on.so if you are looking to stay in great yarmouth this is the one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkyperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2012

10 of us all went for a hen weekend, we all had the best time, jean was very warm and welcoming. The breakfasts were amazing the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I will definatley be going back. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we have just had a lovely week at the white lodge our first stay at the hotel.could not fault it. jean and eddie were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble and so was george the dog and we have already booked two stays for next year. from sue mick and jean from clacton on sea.

Room Tip: room 10 is ground floor . room 1 is the largest.room 5 has a balcony overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 149mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Have stayed at the White Lodge five times over the last couple of years before going on holiday or to visit friends and family and on every occasion I have found the place to be spotless. It is in a fantastic quiet location just set back from the sea front, yet within walking distance of the Town Centre and local amenities. The hosts Jean and Eddie are very warm and welcoming, so helpful and nothing is too much trouble, they are very attentive and provide a fantastic service. The different rooms I have stayed in have all been immaculate, clean and fresh with the home touch of a TV in the room and tea and coffee making facilities, not to mention the fluffy towels and toiletries provided. Each morning there has always been a large selection of cereals, fruit and yogurts available as well as a selection of breads for toasting with the added bonus of a huge tasty cooked breakfast which I have always taken advantage of. No review would be complete without mentioning the star "George" - he is Jean & Eddie's dog and the saying bark being worse than bite has never been more appropriate, he is the softest most lovable dog ever and very fussy and I confess to not particularly being an animal lover but he is such a character. All in all a fantastic place to stay and after staying in some very "posh" hotels around the world, both chain and boutique, this place certainly surpasses them with their personal friendly customer service. Am sure it won't be long before a revisit is in order. Thanks Jean & Eddie, See you soon

Room Tip: All the rooms I've stayed in have been bright, airy, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the white Lodge for the Jubilee weekend
The public areas and dining room were tastefully decorated with bunting etc to give a celebratory feel
Our room was of a very high quality - attractive and modern. The location is excellent - quiet and easy to park but just a short walk into the town center
Lots of information about the local area in the room.
Breakfast excellent and an added bonus is George the dog
We will recommend to friends and stay again soon.

Room Tip: Room nine had a king size bed and was very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing