We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will happily stay here again.”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will happily stay here again.”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We arrived, with friends at the end of a frantic period for Jean as she coped with the Xmas rush with her partner too ill to be able to help her.

You wouldn't have known it from how clean and calm the place was!!

We have stayed at many places over the years - so many in fact that I always take a business card with me when I leave if the place is any good. In this case I took several to hand out to friends. I cannot recommend The White Lodge enough!

I've never stayed anywhere that actually allows you to choose the type of breakfast you have but encourages you to have extra portions without adding it to your bill! And what a breakfast!!
Mary C below is right - the sausages and bacon were amazing! I need to find that butcher! LOL!

As to the rooms - Jean pulled out the stops to give us the best rooms she could. And I also need to find out where she bought the beds from as we had a fantastic nights sleep due to their quality.

All-in-all a great place to stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
556
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Three of us spent Christmas with other guests at The White Lodge. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jean and immediately made welcome; followed by a quick tour of the facilities, breakfast room, lounge and our accommodation. Rooms have a lovely homely feel with tea and coffee facilities, TV and a guide for local facilities in Great Yarmouth. We were also informed that if we required anything, to ask, we didn’t forget our toothbrushes had we, Jean would have no doubt obliged!

At breakfast there is a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, selection of teas, coffee etc. and everyone gets a cooked breakfast made to order as you choose your selections the night before; even porridge!

As we were staying over the Christmas season we had the benefit of evening meals and luncheon, again Jean excelled with a gorgeous selection of home cooked seasonal fayre, with choice for those who did not feel attracted to the traditional offerings – non of which you could fault and would put many hotel catering departments to shame. Well-done Jean.

The White Lodge is well located with ample on-street parking and within a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre so you are not disturbed by town noise. There is attractive park opposite the lodge where you can enjoy a commodious walk off-road into town.

If you are visiting Norfolk then White Lodge will make an excellent base for a stay in Great Yarmouth or if touring, the Broads or Norwich per se.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomersetStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Jean and George are very welcoming and make you feel at home from the second you walk in the door, a beautiful house in a lovely quiet area.
The room we had was very tastefully decorated with fantastic sea views from the dual aspect windows and a luxuriously comfortable bed made for a restful nights sleep. A good supply of Tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the room was greatly appreciated.
Breakfast was very tasty with something to suit every taste, I only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 1 was beautiful but I'm sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We arrived the weekend after Christmas and could not have received a warmer welcome. the room was large, the sea view was panoramic, the bed was comfortable and despite all our efforts we could not use all the hot water. And there were two comfortable chairs. Breakfast delicious - need to find out where Jean sources her bacon and black pudding. would we stay again - most definitely.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive but are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

What a joy this place is. The Art Deco theme gives it the superb character The room we had (room 1' king bed with sea view) was huge, warm and very well furnished with some very nice touches and a wonderful welcome tray with Tea, Coffee and lovely biscuits. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in anywhere, other than at home and I stay in hotels of all grades very frequently. However all of this was topped by a quite superb breakfast with a huge selection. We shall be back hopefully very soon.
We have seen the negative report on this site. The person that wrote this clearly does not understand what a good guest house is and is clearly a complete fool.

Room Tip: Try the king size sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianCBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Me and my wife stayed there over Christmas, we received a warm welcome the rooms are clean and comfortable. The owners are constantly seeking to improve the guest house and i like the art deco theme they have going.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Myself and my wife spent most of the weekend just gone in Great Yarmouth and stayed at The White Lodge on Saturday night the 13th of October. Doing as suggested by the information on lastminute.com, I phoned ahead to make sure our arrival time was ok and spoke to Jean, who sounded just as nice and friendly as many of the reviews on TripAdvisor had said.

We arrived just after 1 O'Clock and were greeted by Jean (and George the dog who is also very friendly) and were given a tour of the downstairs where the breakfast room and lounge were and were then shown to our room. We had the "Super King" room (no9) which was excellent. The bed was, as the name of the room suggests, absolutely massive and the room was also spotlessly clean. Towels are provided for anyone who wonders about that (as we asked before we traveled). The decor of the room was also very nice and it felt very homely to the point where you could forget you were staying in a bed & breakfast.

After a very good night's sleep we went down for breakfast about 8:30. The selection of food available is very good (lots of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, selection of teas, coffee) and everyone gets a cooked breakfast made to order as you choose your selections the night before. This was also excellent, everything was cooked to perfection and pipingly hot and fresh. I also recommend the small brioche like pastries, they are very nice too.

In terms of location The White Lodge is probably a 10-15 minute walk away from the main part of the sea front but we viewed that as a very good thing as the odds of being disturbed by any late night drunk people into the early hours is from what we could tell very low. Some people might prefer to stay a bit closer to the heart of the action but The White Lodge is close enough for it to not be a real hike to get into the beach and the rest of the front but far enough away to be nice & quiet.

We have stayed in many hotels and places over our eight years as a couple and Jean is one of the nicest, most accomodating people we've ever met. She would do her best to handle any requests you might have and all the nice things other people have said in their reviews is true. As for the one bad review on here - don't believe a word of it, it's all nonsense.

If we go back to Great Yarmouth at any point we will definitely be staying at The White Lodge again, thoroughly recommended. It's won TripAdvisor awards for a good reason!

Room Tip: "Super King" room (no9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing