We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #1 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is the second time we have been and cannot fault the b&b at all. The room we stayed in (King size sea view) is gorgeous, spacious with the biggest bed imaginable and great views. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Complimentary drinks, biscuits and toiletries on arrival. Plenty of parking available on a very quiet wide road. The breakfast was beautiful, anything you could want was available.
As for the owners, extremely lovely couple and George the dog is irresistible! Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for The White Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

Fed up of boring hotels and want a taste of home? Look no further than the White Lodge - slightly out of town but only a hort taxi ride or walk into the town centre. You will enjoy! George is the best welcome ever.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have just returned from our fourth visit to The White Lodge and am as impressed as I was the first time we visited. The owners, Jean and Eddie along with George the dog are so friendly and welcoming it is like visiting old friends now. We stayed in the sea view super king room and there is nothing bad at all that I can say about the room. (Have stayed in other rooms and these have also been of the highest standard). The bed is lovely and comfortable, the towels are soft and fluffy, the toiletries are a really nice extra special touch along with the biscuits and bunch of flowers that were in the room to greet us. The bathroom was spotless, it's a clean as it can get! As the weather has been cold these last few days Jean even gave us a extra heater alongside the radiator in case we needed a extra boost of heat when returning from a trip out. All these extra little touches makes it feel like your visiting friends in their home. As for the breakfasts, what more could you want! Jean gives you a choice of what is available in regards to a cooked breakfast and you can choose as little or as much as you like and this is without the cereal, fruit, yoghurt and the unlimited bread that you can toast if you wish. I must say I had Jean cooked me porridge this morning and it was the best porridge I have ever tasted, really lovely and creamy! If your a porridge fan this is a must. Jean provides a toaster and urn of hot water for the tea and coffee so you can help yourself as much as you require whilst she prepares your cooked breakfast. However if you are unable to help yourself for whatever reason Jean will assist in way she could to ensure you left her dining room full and set up for the day. I would recommend anyone to stay here, great people, great room, great food, what more to you need? We will back again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allylou76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This was the third Christmas we spent at the White Lodge and the standards were just as high. The company was great and our host Jean arranged a trip to the Circus at the Hippodrome on Boxing Day evening.

As usual there was far too much food and now we have had to go on a diet to lose weight. It was a pity Eddie, Jean's husband, was ill and couldn't join us but her mum and dad pitched in to make it another great stay.

The facilities, food and accommodation were top class. It remains the top establishment in Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novestonback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We arrived, with friends at the end of a frantic period for Jean as she coped with the Xmas rush with her partner too ill to be able to help her.

You wouldn't have known it from how clean and calm the place was!!

We have stayed at many places over the years - so many in fact that I always take a business card with me when I leave if the place is any good. In this case I took several to hand out to friends. I cannot recommend The White Lodge enough!

I've never stayed anywhere that actually allows you to choose the type of breakfast you have but encourages you to have extra portions without adding it to your bill! And what a breakfast!!
Mary C below is right - the sausages and bacon were amazing! I need to find that butcher! LOL!

As to the rooms - Jean pulled out the stops to give us the best rooms she could. And I also need to find out where she bought the beds from as we had a fantastic nights sleep due to their quality.

All-in-all a great place to stay. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Three of us spent Christmas with other guests at The White Lodge. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jean and immediately made welcome; followed by a quick tour of the facilities, breakfast room, lounge and our accommodation. Rooms have a lovely homely feel with tea and coffee facilities, TV and a guide for local facilities in Great Yarmouth. We were also informed that if we required anything, to ask, we didn’t forget our toothbrushes had we, Jean would have no doubt obliged!

At breakfast there is a good selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice, selection of teas, coffee etc. and everyone gets a cooked breakfast made to order as you choose your selections the night before; even porridge!

As we were staying over the Christmas season we had the benefit of evening meals and luncheon, again Jean excelled with a gorgeous selection of home cooked seasonal fayre, with choice for those who did not feel attracted to the traditional offerings – non of which you could fault and would put many hotel catering departments to shame. Well-done Jean.

The White Lodge is well located with ample on-street parking and within a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre so you are not disturbed by town noise. There is attractive park opposite the lodge where you can enjoy a commodious walk off-road into town.

If you are visiting Norfolk then White Lodge will make an excellent base for a stay in Great Yarmouth or if touring, the Broads or Norwich per se.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomersetStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Jean and George are very welcoming and make you feel at home from the second you walk in the door, a beautiful house in a lovely quiet area.
The room we had was very tastefully decorated with fantastic sea views from the dual aspect windows and a luxuriously comfortable bed made for a restful nights sleep. A good supply of Tea, coffee, water and biscuits in the room was greatly appreciated.
Breakfast was very tasty with something to suit every taste, I only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Room 1 was beautiful but I'm sure they all are.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
459 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#2 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £52 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing