We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome little gem!!”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #3 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An awesome little gem!!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Jean & Eddie and George gave us a very warm welcome, especially George (very enthusiastic & obedient). The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable comfortable. And the breakfast.... very, very good. Well done!!
PS: I would suggest that visitors come bearing doggie treats for George :D

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Latifah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
120
564
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I booked The White Lodge for a last minute overnight getaway stay from the Midlands. We were greeted on arrival with such a warm welcome by Jean....and George the staffie who was adorable! We were given a tour of the facilities and any questions answered. Our room was wonderful, the bed very comfortable and the en suite facilities more than sufficient. The breakfast provided was outstanding with nice touches like home made cake to take away with you for the day! We would definitely stay again...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanLouCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have a two night weekend break and booked the White Lodge after it was recommended to us. A warm welcome awaited us from Eric and Jean and George ( the family dog). The bedroom was huge with two windows overlooking the sea. Full tour of the house was given on arrival along with details of a local taxi firm when we mentioned we were going Greyhound Racing on the Saturday evening. Breakfast room was also very light and airy and food was cooked to a very good standard and hot. There was no restriction's on our comings and goings and Jean even booked us a taxi to go racing. An good B&B with excellent service which we would have no hesitations in booking again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband prefers staying in independent Bed and Breakfasts to impersonal hotels and since this was a treat for him I booked the White Lodge. I found it as a result of checking the reviews on Trip Advisor. I contacted them to let them know we would be arriving early and Jean was very accommodating about this and met us at the door. George, their infamous dog, was having a little snooze when we arrived but soon popped out to greet us. Jean explained everything at length and gave us our menu cards to order breakfast for the next morning. My husband does not eat pork products so it was nice to see fish being offered on the breakfast menu.

We were exhausted having been on the road since very early that morning so we went for a nap. Unfortunately this was disturbed by some other guests arriving but we were so tired we nodded off again. When we got up we took a wander into Great Yarmouth having first taken a stroll across the road to the beach. We walked through a small park called Waterways which is very sweet with all the little bridges. We took in the sights of Great Yarmouth. Scroby Sands wind farm can be seen from all along the beach and we checked out the visitor centre close to the pier. We took a stroll down the pier and took the obligatory strong man photo while watching a young girl having a ride on one of the donkeys. We got on the tourist train which went further down the seafront and when we got back to our starting point wandered down a street full of quite tacky merchandise to the shopping mall. On our way back down the street we stopped into a restaurant for a bite to eat before heading back to the White Lodge.

Breakfast the next day was wonderful so good I was not able to finish it all. You can help yourself to as much toast, fruit juice, tea and coffee as you like. There are also cereals on offer.

The cleanliness is first rate better than almost every place I have stayed in previously. The towels were the softest, most luxurious ones I've ever had the pleasure of using.

There were three reasons why I did not give the White Lodge full marks. Blackout lining on the curtains would have helped especially during our afternoon nap because while the window was small the curtains let in a lot of light. As I mentioned the towels were fabulous but I would have liked to have had a bath sheet rather than a bath towel but I understand with economies of scale and the amount of laundry that needs to be done this might not be possible. The shower head was large and the water plentiful the only problem was that it was a fixed shower head and I like to be able to shower all of me so if a shower with a hose could be introduced that would improve the showering.

My husband and I would like to say a massive thank you to Jean for her wonderful hospitality and we would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast for anyone visiting Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello LondonIrishLass
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Thank you also for all the lovely positive comments you have made. We are very grateful to you.
You are absolutely right about room 4 curtains needing extra linings. I have only just made the curtains and although I have lined them, It's clearly not enough. I will add blackout linings as well just as soon as I get time.
I'm afraid it's not possible to put flexible shower heads on our shower system as the system is pressurised straight from the mains and it just wouldn't work well.
I do put bath towels in all rooms as standard. As you say, the ecological side of washing dozens of bath sheets is prohibitive to us putting them in the rooms. However, if you stay with us again and just ask me, I will supply a bath sheet for you, no problem :-)
It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Kind Regards and thanks again.
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We have just had a short one night break in Great Yarmouth and were lucky enough to book into The White Lodge. Jean was straight out to greet us and gave us a full welcome detailing the public areas, introducing us to George and advising us of timings etc. we had room 1 which was very large, huge bed and two windows on to the front (sea view). It was off season, so very easy to park and we left the car for the whole duration. The room was clean, with lovely 1920's features and tea/coffee making facilities. We were able to come and go as we please and had a key to get back in as it was the early hours.
Woke up to a delicious smell of bacon being cooked! Breakfast was plentiful, and yes, we popped our own bread into the toaster (if it's good enough in a 5 star hotel, then it's good enough here!), helped ourselves to the good selection breakfast goodies whilst waiting for our cooked breakfast. Breakfast is selected the night before along with an approximate time that you would like to go down for breakfast.
Jean is a very pleasant host, but....George completely steals the show!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Simnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Well Jean and Eddie you have excelled yet again.
The White Lodge in Yarmouth, offers comfort, cleanliness, peace and quiet, excellent service, Jean goes the extra mile to ensure her guests have a great time.
We return here year after year and to keep the standard as high year after year is an amazing feat well done to both of you.
I feel I have already covered, how spotless the rooms are, the wonderful home cooked breakfast,the wonderful decorating of each and every room, the wonderful sea view, ample parking, in previous reviews, but when you write a review, these are all the important things so worth saying again.
Looking forward to our next visit in December already!!!!

Room Tip: We always have room 7, our favourite sea view. The trees that blocked some light from the premises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Have used this B&B a few times now. It improves every time. ( If that's possible) my room had a new bathroom suit and redecorated 2 perfection. The hotel is perfectly located on the sea front. We always arrive to a very friendly and professional welcome. Our room was so clean and so bright. The breakfast is always lovely with a huge choice and plenty of it. Everyone is so helpful with taxi's and information for local restaurants etc. Always a truly great weekend in a fabulous hotel. An absolute must.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing