We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than home”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“better than home”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

.Chose White Lodge after being recommended by regular visitors. From Jean to George, via parking ,room and everything else, don't need 200 characters, just one describes," EXCELLENT". Nothing too much for Jean and good old english breakfast was out of this world. Will definately go back, later in year
john and Chris

Room Tip: Book well in advance or you'll miss out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
How lovely to meet more members of this family. I am not allowed to use your names on here but I have to say all 3 generations of you are brilliant Guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for the terrific review. Maybe next time you can all come and stay together !!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Love Jean, Eddie and George x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
556
49
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

From the minute we rung the bell on arrival we were made to feel welcome by Jean, she showed us to a lovely room which overlooked the front and gave us a tour which was friendly and genuine.
Breakfast is delicious and a lot of effort is put in to ensure that every whim is catered for and nothing is too much trouble :) The personalised messages on the breakfast forms were a really nice touch.
Everywhere is immaculate jean and Eddie do really put their heart in to everything they do, the homemade cakes and buns made for guests were a personal favourite :)
But I think the one thing that really impressed me was how jean interacts with guests, through just a weeks stay there was a lot of guest changes and everyone was addressed by their name and natural conversation created this is something that a lot would not make the effort to do and makes you feel very much at home.
Finally George what a lovely dog he is so well behaved and extremely friendly
when we visit yarmouth again well Definately be booking in as cannot fault a single thing xx

Room Tip: Stayed In a front facing room, good size lovely view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte 'char... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello you two (sorry not allowed to use your names on here!). What an absolute pleasure it was having two such lovely young people staying with us. You went out of your way to make my job easier by being so thoughtful and not having your room cleaned every day !! As you know I was really busy all the time you were here so was truly grateful to you !! :-)
We would love to see you again any time you fancy a break.
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review. Sorry I've been a while responding but thankfully continue to be very busy :-)
Love from Jean, Eddie and of course, George :-) xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The White Lodge for a night, due to working in Great Yarmouth.

Stumbled across it by accident. I had already booked elsewhere but was told my place there was double booked so I had to find an alternative.

I am glad they cancelled. I had a really nice stay here. Jean was pleasant and welcoming. I had room 4 which was ideal for my needs. The bed was comfy and the room was clean.

The pier and town are a 10 minute walk. If you think you would struggle then pick somewhere closer. For me it was a nice stroll.

My breakfast was tasty and well cooked. I really can't find anything bad to say about my stay.

I will be booking again next time I am in Great Yarmouth. Thanks!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brumboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Brumboy
Well I'm pleased the other place couldn't accommodate you so you came to stay with us ! Thank you so much for the great review. It was lovely to meet you and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to see you again soon if you return to work in Great Yarmouth.
Many thanks for taking the time to review us.
Best wishes
Jean
P.S. Watch out for those seagulls :-) !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Another superb stay at the very friendly, immaculate and welcoming White Lodge...it’s always our home from home when in the area visiting family, friends or working. The place is beautifully decorated and Jean and Eddie, the hands on owners can’t do enough to help and make everyone feel so very welcome. The rooms are pristine and every whim is catered for, even watching the England game at 11 at night. Every room we have stayed in has been comfortable and given us an excellent night’s sleep. It's almost as though Jean handpicks all her guests as we have never ever been disturbed by any other guests or noise, which I can't truthfully say about anywhere else. Every room is ensuite with toiletries and plush white towels, there are tea and coffee making facilities with cookies or biscuits provided too as well as a TV and not forgetting the ever useful free wi-fi. The breakfasts have remained consistently brilliant every time we’ve stayed and there is so much choice both from the cooked menu and the help yourself cereal and toast bar with every taste/diet catered for. Jean even adds her homemade cakes to choose from. This gem of a B&B is located in the quieter area along the sea front yet is only yards from the beach. No shortage of free parking either. George the dog
was his usual friendly self with his very own special welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
How lovely it was to see you both back with us again. It's always good to see returning Guests who are definitely now good friends. Thank you so much for the extensive and well written review.
We should have people queuing up to get in after reading that :-)
We are really looking forward to seeing you both in November and maybe before that as well.
Look after yourselves and a very big thank you again.
Love Jean, Eddie and George (who says "thank you for the Jumbones" :-) xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Have just arrived home after spending 4days/3nights at The White Lodge!
Eddie, Jean and George, wonderful, friendly and welcoming hosts!
Nothing was too much trouble! We booked after reading all reviews!
Definately not disappointed, the house is beautiful, so homely and kept immaculate!
As one reviewer before said, comfortable beds, nice hot showers and lovely hot freshly cooked breakfasts!
Will definately be back Jean, hope too see you soon!

Room Tip: Fitness centre/pool not applicable There is no fitness centre/swimming pool (hit buttons in haste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello you two. Sorry I am not allowed to use your names on here.
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. As you know, reviews are very important these days to people looking for accommodation. I am pleased we lived up to expectations. It was lovely to meet you both and I enjoyed our little chats. I hope you will come and see us again soon. George would be particularly pleased to see you knowing that you brought him delicious roast chicken!!! He never forgets things like that!!! Keep in touch as I am interested to know how you get on with the glass cleaner!!! :-)
Take care both of you and many thanks again for the fabulous review.
Love Jean, Eddie and George xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a weekend holiday. Me and my Husband really enjoyed the stay and the hosts were incredibly welcoming. The food in the hotel/lodge was fantastic, especially breakfasts, it's a meal that everyone would enjoy! The lodge was very clean and our room was cleaned every single day without doubt. The room was really beautiful, the en suit was very very clean. The hotel was on a crescent with free parking and was right near the beach which is a great location, there was no noise at night also. I am planning on going back to The White Lodge in the future as the staff couldn't do enough for you and overall was a absolutely incredible stay, would recommend to all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Aw what can I say !! What a lovely review thank you so much. You have really appreciated all the finer points of what The White Lodge is all about and we really appreciate you noticing everything and saying so :-)
I do hope you will come and stay with us again as you are fantastic Guests and it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay. Take care of yourselves and thank you very much again.
Love Jean x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a short weekend break, very friendly vibe from the moment we rang the bell. Jean was very welcoming and there to help with anything needed. The room was exactly what we needed, large comfy bed, nice hot shower, lovely cooked breakfast. By far the best B&B I have stayed in around the UK. If we come back to the Norfolk area for a trip will definitely be calling in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531David1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for writing us such a lovely review. What a great young couple you are and the perfect Guests for us. I don't suppose we'll see you again as your plans are to take you thousands of miles away but I wish you the very best of luck with those travel plans and for your future. If you ever come back to visit England again, we would love to see you so don't forget where we are !!!!
Love and best wishes to you both.
Jean x :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing