We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #1 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The accommodation is excellent all rooms ensuite, our host's friendly and most welcoming nothing too much trouble, breakfast is excellent
Total value for money
Parking is ample,
Location opposite the Yarmouth water way, within easy walking of the pier and Yarmouth's amenities

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

As always, it was lovely to see you both back with us again. Thank you for doing us such a good review. You know we are always grateful for your feedback. An especially big thank you for the Cromer crab you brought me after your day out there. As you know, I ate it in minutes and enjoyed every bit !!!!!
Hope we will see you back again next year. Look after yourselves and say hello to Sheffield for me !!
Love from Jean, Eddie and George x :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the white lodge for his birthday trip to Yarmouth in July and although the weather didn't work out for us the B&B certainly made up for it. The service we received was fantastic and we couldn't have asked for more. It was my fiancés birthday and jean the owner had gone to great lengths to help me make his birthday breakfast special by going out and purchasing not only a cake but decorations and a card as well, when we came to breakfast he was very surprised and really happy at the effort that had been put in to make his day special.
We would recommend staying here to anyone. The accommodation is beautiful, clean and the service is 1st class.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorretta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi you two
It was a pleasure to make your fiancé's Birthday special. We like to spoil our Guests when we can and a Birthday is a perfect excuse for a bit of extra attention!! Thank you very much for your lovely comments on our standards of cleanliness as it is our absolute priority that Guests find their rooms spotlessly clean. We always strive to give good service and thank you also for commenting on that. Reviews like yours are so important to future potential Guests as cleanliness and good service are high on the list of lots of people's priorities.
I hope to see you both again (maybe next year's Birthday !!!:-) )
In the meantime, thank you very much for the review.
Love Jean and Eddie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband found this lovely guest house on line, as an idea for a few days away to celibrate our wedding anniversary and what a find....this stunning place is so clean, so well decorated, so cared for, and so well ran, almost like clockwork. We were well greated and treated throughout our four night stay, the breakfasts had so much choice that if you left the table hungry it was your own fault.Jean the proprietor even remembered everyones name, a remarkable woman, our thanks go to Jean, her husband Eddie and not forgetting George their lovely dog (sorry if I spoiled George with too many biscuits).See you all next year xxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Norwichbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Firstly, I forgive you for treating George so often. I know how hard he is to resist !!
What lovely people you are to leave us such a glowing review. It was an absolute pleasure having you both to stay, The best thing is that you already booked to come back to us next year and I will look forward to seeing you both again. Hopefully I will be able to show you what a good job I have done transplanting my tea rose (following your instruction!!) and the garden will look even better than it does this year. Look after yourselves and take care.
Thank you again for your kindness.
Love Jean and Eddie and George ! xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for 5 days July 2014 - Excellent accommodation & extremely friendly & helpful hosts Jean & Eddie - Food to a high standard, with a wide choice of breakfast. Rooms decorated to a high standard & spotlessly clean - would recommend anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi you two,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are really grateful to you for helping to spread the word about how nice The White Lodge is and how high our standards of cleanliness are.
It was a real pleasure having you both to stay and I hope we might see you again.
Thank you very much for your kindness
Very best wishes
Jean and Eddie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights recently with friends and have been coming back several times over the last few years.We're always greeted by a very warm welcome from Jean and Eddie (and a big lick from George- he's a dog by the way :). The rooms are immaculate, very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are superb! I can't thank Jean enough for coming to my rescue with needle and cotton in hand when i had a wardrobe malfunction just before i was due to go out and Jean saved the evening!! Thank you so much for going above and beyond the call of duty, Looking forward to coming back again.......Lindsay x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi
Firstly let me thank you for qualifying the statement that George is indeed our dog. I would hate potential Guests to read your review and think maybe one of us would lick you as you checked in !!! :-)
It was lovely to see you all again and I look forward to your visits every year.
As for my sewing skills, I was only too pleased to help! As they say "a stitch in time saves 9" or in your case saved you popping out of your blouse !!!! :-) LOL
Can't wait to see you all again. It's always a brilliant atmosphere when you all arrive back with us each year.
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a good review.
Take care
Love Jean and Eddie ( and a lick for you from George !!) xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hosts, lovely room, smashing breakfast.

Only stayed one night whilst passing through but would have been happy to stay longer.

All my family were very impressed and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the seafront for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ricardo157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

It was lovely to meet you all. I wish you could have stayed longer. I am pleased you enjoyed the sea view. It's definitely worth booking early to get one of those rooms. Uninterrupted sea views are one of the bonuses of The White Lodge. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Norfolk. Take care and thank you again. Love Jean x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night on recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Jean is a perfect hostess. Breakfast cooked to perfection and such a good choice too. Guest house is very tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. Would definitely return again. Plenty of free parking outside the guesthouse. A couple of minutes walk to the sea and about 10 minutes walk to the attractions of Great Yarmouth

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juhu45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Hi. I know you only had a short stay with us but I am really pleased you enjoyed everything.
Yes, we do have an extensive selection of breakfast choice but if someone wants something not on our menu, we will always supply it if we can. Our standards of cleanliness are always high and one of the first things most people notice.
Many thanks for your superb review and I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the cottage.
Come and see us again if you're in the area. You would certainly be made most welcome.
Love Jean x :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
598 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kilbrannan Guest House
Kilbrannan Guest House
#2 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
1 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#9 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing