We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #1 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Jean our host was so friendly and welcoming, a real Yorkshire character, and her dog George was the equal, (lovely).

Fabulous Art Noveau interior, beautiful room fresh and clean, delicious breakfasts, a real home from home, now that we have found it why go elsewhere next time ?

Janet & Ardell 25/7/2014 to 28/7/2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Oh how I have missed our question and answer sessions !!!!!!
Seriously though, it was lovely to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay as our Guests. Thank you very much for the fabulous review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again sometime.
Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    24
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
534
47
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from a great weekend staying at the white lodge in Yarmouth and can say what a great place so friendly and clean and as much breakfast as you want and will be going back for sure . Shame we never got to meet Eddie but Jean your a gem and make every one so welcome it makes it feel home from home . We also must not forget George he play s he s part to help jean cause he is there to meet every one when they book in . He does a great job then he gets a treat missing the place already .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello there. How lovely it was to meet you both and your special set of wheels!!
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and sorry you didn't get to meet Eddie who as you know was away on a business trip !!!!!!!! Hopefully you will come back again and I'll make sure he's here next time!!
Yes, how would I ever manage without George's invaluable help!!. He never misses a check in
as you know !!!
Hope to see you both again
Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

people might get fed up reading all the good reviews, but everything they say is true. Excellent hosts where nothing is too much trouble(thanks Jean for rescuing my shorts from the red wine mishap, and also for the lovely bacon sandwiches packed up for our early departure, they were the best).Everywhere is spotlessly clean .Everything you could want for breakfast both quality and quantity(tasted even better on Friday!!).Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiecat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi you two!
What a great review thank you. Well if a Yorkshire lass can't make bacon butties, there would be something wrong :-). We are always happy to do take-away breakfast if anyone needs that.
Always a pleasure to look after you when you come and stay. I hardly noticed the wine stained shorts amongst the washing mountain so no problem at all!!
We are also looking forward to your next visit. See you soon. Take care. Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Where do we begin... We spent just the one night at the White Lodge and from the moment we arrived to meet Jean and the lovely George it was an absolute pleasure. Our room was immaculate with everything you could possibly want or need the attention to detail was second to none. Beautifully clean towels soft fluffy and crisp bedding and a bed that was so nice you didn't
want to get up from it. Breakfast was delicious and so much choice again nothing too much trouble from Jean who made you feel that you were a family member rather than a paying guest. Will certainly be returning in the future. and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 961Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am so grateful for your fabulous review, thank you. You have mentioned all the things that we feel are very important to our Guests when staying for bed and breakfast i.e. comfortable bed with spotless bedding, quality white fluffy towels and an excellent breakfast with lots of choice and all freshly cooked each morning.
It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you will come and stay again soon.
Thank you very much again for your kind words.
Love Jean x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at The White Lodge and I can honestly say it is the best place we have stayed in. The rooms are immaculate and have very comfortable beds, there are also fresh flowers in the room and they are tastefully decorated. On meeting the hosts Jean, Eddie and George we were made to fell instantly welcome. Jean gave us a guided tour of the dining room and lounge and told us were everything was and told us if there was anything we needed over and above what she offered we only had to ask.
Fantastic choice at breakfast time and if you go hungry here it is your own fault.!!!
Jean and Eddie were fantastic hosts and we came away feeling like we had been on a home from home holiday and made some friends along the way and we will certainly return when we get the chance

Jean& Eddie thank you for a fantastic holiday and the ice pack!!! Will miss seeing George for his morning fuss :)

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but rooms 1 and 2 have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireTravelgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello to the 3 of you,
Thank you so much for doing us such a speedy review. You must have done this before you started the holiday washing!!!
It was an absolute pleasure having you all to stay and I am really pleased you all had a good time here and found everything to be good.
Our priorities are cleanliness, comfort, fantastic breakfast and friendly and efficient customer service. It seems that we have met all the criteria for you:-)
I am sorry I had to give you an ice pack at all as I know you were suffering with the leg!! Hope it gets better soon.
We haven't yet had anybody else throwing Fruit and Fibre around the dining room so quite boring really!!! :-)
Look after yourselves and do come and see us again anytime you like.
Love Jean, Eddie and George xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from spending a week at the White Lodge.
We couldn't have asked for anything more. The room was absolutely beautiful with a view to the beach, it was serviced to an excellent standard every day with the bedding changed after three days. Loved the fluffy 'white' towels that were changed when requested.
Breakfast was very nice - Jean you do a really good fried egg and you spoilt my hubby buying him a new coffee jug. The extra little touches such as the home baking, overflowing fruit bowl shows that nothing is too much trouble.
We'll bring George different dog chews next time cause he doesnt seem too keen on the low fat ones.
Thanks for a lovely stay, see you next year.
Diane N Nigel xx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Stoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Yorkshire !
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much. Yes room 1 is lovely! I am really pleased that you have booked to stay with us again next year as well. It's fantastic to see so many people returning to us year after year. Your hubby deserved a new coffee pot and I'll see what I can come up with in the tea pot line for you next year !!!!! I find the baking very therapeutic even though it's sometimes very late at night when I have the time to do it!! Everybody likes home made cake :-) I am sure George is happy to have the low fat chews!! He gets such a lot of treats, low fat is the only option really to keep his weight down !!! I have to say that although we always supply fresh fruit for everybody, not a lot of it gets eaten following a White Lodge breakfast!!
I am really looking forward to seeing you both again next year and will make sure the cushions in your room are extra special !!! :-) Thanks again. Love Jean, Eddie and George xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

couldn't fault the white lodge b&b, Jean & Eddie were a lovely couple, trueblue hosts, immaculate accommodation, lovely breakfast. Plenty of parking, easy walking to food outlets, beach & promenade. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello New Zealand !!!
How fantastic of you to take the time to leave us a review when you have just done such extensive world wide travelling. We feel very honoured to have Guests staying with us from such faraway places. What lovely people you are too. I wish you could have stayed longer as you were so friendly and such easy to please Guests!!
We would love to see you both again if you ever return to England. In the meantime, many thanks again for the fantastic review.
Take care
Love Jean, Eddie and George x :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing