We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel ”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #2 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel ”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful hosts, lovely hotel and nicely decorated and comfortable rooms. Nice choice and organisation for breakfast... a great location, we will definitely come back and would highly recommend...

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi there
Thank you very much for the good review. I am pleased you found your room comfortable and liked the decoration too.
We are always pleased to get such positive feedback on our breakfasts. As you say, we are well organised and have an extensive choice of food to offer.
It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for staying with us. I hope to see you again one day if you're back in the area.
Thank you
Best wishes
Jean x :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    25
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
119
546
47
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Just completed my latest stay at the white lodge and I must say I would never bother to look elsewhere to stay. When you've found the best why try the rest - simple psychology really. Having stayed here since jean and Eddie took it over I have seen what a transformation they have made to the property. I love how they have managed to restore the art deco look to a number of the rooms while keeping a modern feel to the rest of the building. The rack in the reception area with original 1940's papers to look through is a nice touch along with the 1949 telephone. It brought back memories hearing the bells ringing. The breakfast system , previously mentioned by reviews, continues to be a big success with guest's. Your breakfast is served to you ,freshly cooked, at a time that suits you so there is no unnecessary hanging around. Jean and Eddie go out of their way to ensure your stay is a memorable one, and that is why you always see familiar faces as guests return time and time again. I have already booked again for September and know exactly what awaits me, a happy smile, a warm reception and a great stay! Well done jean and Eddie you deserve all the success you are having.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1805nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It is so good to see you and many other Guests are continuing to return to as again and again. You have all really become The White Lodge extended family members. I know you appreciate how much we have done to the building in the last few years and we will continue to improve constantly. We love the Art Deco period and are always on the lookout for new artefacts to put throughout the building. I am pleased we jogged your memory with the old telephone we recently acquired!! :-)
A major part of our Guest's experience is of course breakfast. As you know, we have an extensive menu to suit all tastes and are always willing to add or change anything that a Guest may require. We cater for all special diets including gluten free, vegan, vegetarian, dairy free or any other dietary needs.
All food is freshly cooked at a time to suit the Guest. We only use quality ingredients for both breakfast and the home made cakes I bake for Guests to enjoy any time they want.
I am pleased to see you have booked with us once more and look forward to seeing you many more times over the coming years.
Many, many thanks for your superb review. It is very kind of you to take the time to write such a brilliant one for us and makes all our hard work worthwhile.
See you in September.
Love Jean and Eddie x :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would just like to say thank you to jean,eddie & george after our two night stay,i booked the white lodge after reading the reviews on trip advisor & true to the rating the white lodge is a little gem,the friendly welcome, the cleanliness of rooms & the lovely breakfasts all make for the perfect stay,as david dickenson would say "THE REAL DEAL" :-D thanks once again "THE SKATERS WILL BE BACK"

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grewy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hello "Skaters"!
I would like to thank you for staying with us. It was a pleasure to meet the 4 of you.
I am pleased you found us to be "perfect". What more could we ask from a review!
I am particularly pleased that you found us to be spotlessly clean. Yes, our breakfasts are something of a legend these days! All cooked freshly, using only good quality ingredients and at a time to suit you. I hope you will all get those skates back on and skate back to us soon !! :-)
Thank you again
Love Jean x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a one night stay at the White Lodge, 19th July 2014. What a lovely warm welcome from Jean and George the adorable staffie. Our room was bright and clean, well equipped. The walk into town was a pleasant ten to fifteen minutes along the seafront and we ate and drank in the places recommended by Jean, also scoring top marks. Thoroughly recommended guest house

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicknocks66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi you two.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. Even though your stay was short, I am pleased you liked our spotlessly clean, bright rooms. Yes, it is a pleasant stroll into the town where the noisier side of Great Yarmouth greets you but it's always nice to return to the peace and quiet of The White Lodge afterwards.
We would love to see you both again any time you have the chance of a break.
Many thanks
Kind Regards
Jean and Eddie x :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Jean our host was so friendly and welcoming, a real Yorkshire character, and her dog George was the equal, (lovely).

Fabulous Art Noveau interior, beautiful room fresh and clean, delicious breakfasts, a real home from home, now that we have found it why go elsewhere next time ?

Janet & Ardell 25/7/2014 to 28/7/2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Oh how I have missed our question and answer sessions !!!!!!
Seriously though, it was lovely to meet you both and I thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay as our Guests. Thank you very much for the fabulous review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you both again sometime.
Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just got back from a great weekend staying at the white lodge in Yarmouth and can say what a great place so friendly and clean and as much breakfast as you want and will be going back for sure . Shame we never got to meet Eddie but Jean your a gem and make every one so welcome it makes it feel home from home . We also must not forget George he play s he s part to help jean cause he is there to meet every one when they book in . He does a great job then he gets a treat missing the place already .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello there. How lovely it was to meet you both and your special set of wheels!!
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and sorry you didn't get to meet Eddie who as you know was away on a business trip !!!!!!!! Hopefully you will come back again and I'll make sure he's here next time!!
Yes, how would I ever manage without George's invaluable help!!. He never misses a check in
as you know !!!
Hope to see you both again
Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

people might get fed up reading all the good reviews, but everything they say is true. Excellent hosts where nothing is too much trouble(thanks Jean for rescuing my shorts from the red wine mishap, and also for the lovely bacon sandwiches packed up for our early departure, they were the best).Everywhere is spotlessly clean .Everything you could want for breakfast both quality and quantity(tasted even better on Friday!!).Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiecat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgeGreatYarmouth, Owner at The White Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi you two!
What a great review thank you. Well if a Yorkshire lass can't make bacon butties, there would be something wrong :-). We are always happy to do take-away breakfast if anyone needs that.
Always a pleasure to look after you when you come and stay. I hardly noticed the wine stained shorts amongst the washing mountain so no problem at all!!
We are also looking forward to your next visit. See you soon. Take care. Love Jean xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Property: The White Lodge
Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing