We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Andover House Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Carlton Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Furzedown Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waverley Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The New Beach Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Pier Hotel(Gorleston-on-Sea)
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Court Hotel(Great Yarmouth)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
941
26
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
26
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean eddieb bdog georgelovely doghome from homenothing is too much troubleeaster eggsbiscuitssea viewroom was spotlessguest houseplenty of free parkingcooked breakfastwouldn't stay anywhere elsea lovely place to staybed and breakfastfeel very welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
939 - 944 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2009

I booked a suprise night away at this bed and breakfast based on the trip adivsor reviews and was very pleased I did so. We received a warm welcome from Jean and were given a quick tour round their beautiful house. The whole house has been exquisitely decorated and none of it feels like a seafront B+B. The bedroom was clean with lovely furnishings and the bathroom was spotless.
The B+B is situated a little walk away from the main drag which is perfect because you can enjoy the beauty of the location without being spoiled by the attractions and noise. However, the walk to the seafront attractions is very pleasant. My husband and I walked along the beach and it took maybe half an hour at a slowish pace.
Jean advised us about where to go for the evening and we had a lovely walk into town. We found the best fish and chips we have ever eaten at a sit down restaurant called Fish'N Chick'N by the market shopping area. We highly recommend it!
Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Great selection of teas and coffees and nicely cooked food. Jean had plenty of time to chat with us and made us feel so at home. She and Eddie have only had the business for a little over a year and the standard they have achieved in this short space of time is fantastic. We both loved our stay will definitely be coming back in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmerwabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We spent a long weekend at The White Lodge, after having read previous reviews on this B&B on this site.
We can confirm everything that has been said so far;
Lovely house, with nicely decorated rooms; Good location with the beach/sea literally just across the street, yet located out of the hustle and bustle of the Great Yarmouth Promenade (10-15 minutes walk).
Great English breakfast, porridge if you like, served at time of your choosing.
The hosts, Jean, Eddy (and George) are very welcoming and will do everything to make you feel at home and enjoy your stay. Arranging flowers, advising a lovely restaurant, advises on trips; helping you with everything you'd possibly need.
Thanks Jean and Eddy, we'll definitely come back to the White Lodge when we head back to Norfolk!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stijn_moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at the White Lodge, Jean & Eddie make you feel so at home, everything is so clean and tidy. We asked Jean where to eat and she recommended the Olive Garden, all I can say is first class choice. The white lodge is on the waterfront and only 10 minutes walk to the town night life. The breakfast is great. Everything about the White Lodge is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

I stopped for 2 nights and had really good service. The room was lovely and clean and bright. The guest house is located in a quiet residential part of Great Yarmouth. The breakfast was well cooked and there was plenty of it. There was a good slelection of cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit available. Eddie and Jean were friendly and great hosts. I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We had a break in Great Yarmouth on the weekend of 20th February 2009 to celebrate my cousin’s birthday and we all found our stay at The White Lodge fantastic.

Our hosts, Eddie, Jean and their very friendly dog, George were very welcoming from the moment we walked through the door. They showed us around a number of vacant rooms and allowed us a choice of which one we wanted. This was completely unnecessary as they all appeared to be fantastic. All the rooms we saw (inc the lounge and dining room) were very tastefully decorated and furnished, suitably spacious and light and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel itself is situated right on the sea front and far enough out of the hustle and bustle to be quiet but not so far as to pose an inconvenience should you wish to get there. Its probably about a 5-10 minute walk to the piers and pubs/restaurants, but such my was girlfriends insistence she was ‘not walking in these heels’, Eddie and Jean called us a taxi which was there in minutes and was only £3.50 into the center.

Jean recommended us two fantastic restaurants and even went to the trouble of booking our tables and Eddie recommended gave us a full run down of which were the best bars and which were the ones to avoid.

Breakfast was served at a time of our choosing between 8:00-9:15am and is a choice of full English, beans on toast, kippers or smoked haddock, all of which were sampled and all of which were generously portioned and delicious!

Overall The White Lodge is a very homely place to stay and I really felt there was a conscious effort to look after us properly, which you don’t get at the larger hotels. I would recommend The White Lodge to anybody planning on visiting Great Yarmouth!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presty1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews