We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellant cleaniness, friendly and welcoming”
Review of The White Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Lodge
Ranked #1 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We first stayed at The White Lodge in May following recommendation from my Mum and Dad. We found Jean, Eddie and gorgeous George so friendly and welcoming, they even decorated the breakfast table for my husband's birthday! The cleaniness and breakfasts are excellant. We returned last weekend with my Mum and dad and enjoyed another great weekend. Cleanest and friendliest B&B i've stayed in!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marierushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (964)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 964 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2009

I would just like to thank Jean, Eddie and especially George the dog! for such making our stay in Great Yarmouth so wonderful. I have stayed at lots of guest houses in my time but the White Lodge is by far the best. The 1930's decor throughout the house is absolutely stunning. We were shown round quite a few of the rooms and every single room was spotlessly clean, newly refurbished and, as I said above, the decor was beautiful. Our super king-sized bed was very comfortable and I had the best night sleep in ages. Jean and Eddie were really friendly and helpful and I felt that we were saying goodbye to friends at the end of our stay! The breakfast was excellent and should not be missed. We totally fell in love with George the dog - especially my 2 children. We could not believe how well behaved he was! Now we have stayed at the White Lodge, we would never stay anywhere else in Great Yarmouth. In fact, we are going to be booking up another short break in a few weeks' time!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

A lovely place to return to after a five day boating trip. Jean and Eddie (and George the dog) really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. After so many meals out on the Broads we just wanted a quiet night and to cater for ourselves. On enquiring about taking a disposable barbecue onto the beach Jean packed us up a hamper of plates, barbecue tools, a rug, an ice bucket and even stakes to stand your champagne glasses in the sand. The rooms are really tastefully decorated with really comfy beds and I can thoroughly recommend the smoked haddock and poached eggs for breakfast - Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afbrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The White Lodge is a beautifully appointed 1930s built guest house run by Jean, Eddie and George (the dog). Upon entering Marine Drive we were struck by the unparalleled views of the quiet part of Great Yarmouth's beach; being situated about 3/4 mile from the town centre, The White Lodge was able to give us free street parking for the whole of our stay and quiet nights. The guesthouse is spotless and the panelling in reception, which also goes up the stairs, is stunning and adds to the general feeling of warmth and homeliness of the place.

Jean and Eddie are perfect hosts, attentive and knowledgeable. The room we stayed in had yet to be refurbished to the same standard as the rest of the house, but nevertheless was spacious and spotlessly clean. The extra touches were priceless and very appreciated: fresh flowers in our room; white towels folded on each bed; shampoos and shower gels; coffee/tea tray and activity books for our children.

The breakfast was astonishing. Every day a menu was left in our room for us to select our breakfast for the next morning. Jean and Eddie even added lovely stickers for our children to brighten up the menus for them. The choices included a full English (emphasis on the full!), which comprised of bacon, sausages, eggs, black pudding, tomato, beans and fried bread - any combination of these can be chosen via a simple tick list system. Alternatively, we could choose eggs on toast, beans on toast, smoked mackerel and poached eggs or the best kippers we've ever tasted. On the morning, when one of our daughters chose kippers, Jean was able to provide boneless ones especially for her. Fruit juices, cereals, hot drinks, yoghurts, fruit, as much bread as we wanted, brioche and waffles are left out in the dining room and are freely available.

Nothing is too much trouble, on a day when I was suffering from a bad back Jean and Eddie sent breakfast up to my room. Like the title of our review says, this is truly a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maple2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Sensational guest house run by a fantastic couple. Rooms are immaculate and lovingly
co-ordinated . The breakfasts are beautifully cooked and set you up for the rest of the day. Eddie and Jean will happily direct you anywhere, discuss real ale or great places to dine, while George loves everyone who gives him attention.
Had a superb two days here at the races. Lots of our fellow guests were racegoers too, so many hard luck stories were exchanged over breakfast! Wholeheartedly recommended........

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swampbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

From the warm welcome and george's friendly tail wagging when we first arrived to when we said our goodbyes, jean and eddie made us feel as though we were visiting friends and not just having a holiday. We've already been telling friends and family about our stay and hope to be able to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Staying at the White Lodge was a delight and a pleasure. The Hotel and rooms were spotless, the breakfast's were top notch and Jean and Eddie are lovely people. Nothing was too much trouble, we fancied a night at the greyhound stadium (Recommended) and jean arranged it all for us, even the taxi. Very definately a place to stay if you want top service with the friendy home from home atmosphere that helped to make our holiday.
Brian and Gwynneth.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianJDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
531 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#2 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
347 reviews
1 mi away
Kilbrannan Guest House
Kilbrannan Guest House
#3 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Henry's on the Prom
Henry's on the Prom
#5 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lodge

Address: 19 Marine Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4ET, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £54 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge accommodation and food is of a standard expected in a high-class hotel but with the addition of a more relaxed, personal service. All our 10 rooms have en suite showers, televisions and tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have sea views whilst others have French doors overlooking the gardens. The guest house has a lovely double room with a balcony where you can sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lodge Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing