We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing.”
Review of The Swiss Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swiss Cottage
Ranked #26 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Narre Warren, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Room was large and had a sea view. Rooms clean and bed comfortable. We were the only guests and we waited on by Barbara who was very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room had a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for such a nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
68
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

This one of the best hotels anywhere, it is spotless, the rooms are excellent and Bob and Barbara great hosts where nothing is too much trouble.
Situated on the sea front it is difficult to imagine a better setting.
We have been three times this year and are looking forward to going again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
It is good to see people coming back and saying nice things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

myself and my partner, had a very enjoyable stay here, we were made to feel very welcome. the room was very clean, comfortable bed, exellent breakfast, good start to the day ahead. nice short walk to the town / pleasure beach, great saved on vehicle parking fees. highly recommended !

Room Tip: seaveiw rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissCottage, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
The ability of this review system to allow us to say thanks to guests is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

we was made to feel very welcome. room was nice as well as clean the bed was also very nice and comfortable although we found the bathroom clean it had a cold and damp feeling to it .we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast never meet bob but we found barbara very nice

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Bob and Barbara great hosts,room was excellent,full English great and filling just right to start the day with.Nice quiet peaceful location,home from home.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Bob and Barbara are so welcoming, The whole place was absolutely spotlessly clean with clean towels put in the rooms every day aswell as tea and coffee with biscuits. The breakfast was outstanding, top quality food very well cooked , We would definately go back. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

very ill mannered to my 12year old son, and not a pleasent stay, hense why we left a day early..room very cold and had sarcastic answer when i told them, and not over clean. there were a pair of glasses down the side of the bed .. and bathroom floor wasnt freshly cleaned...very dissopointed and for the money i paid, very bad service in my opinion...

Room Tip: bring a blanket
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tania w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbriggs, Owner at The Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We felt sorry for this guest and her son as they arrive in wet weather which didn't let up. The young chap was very bored and despite being just a walk away from the main entertainment area in the not a pleasant walk. The guest says the room was cold but we did find the windows open closing these may have upset her. We know that comments on cleanliness is just something to attack us as the rooms are serviced each day and we pride ourselves on the good comments on this. No glasses were given to us and none found since they left.

No one likes to hear bad things and we hope she has better weather on her next stay away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#20 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cleasewood
The Cleasewood
#8 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunnydene
Sunnydene
#44 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#35 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage

Property: The Swiss Cottage
Address: 31 North Drive, Great Yarmouth NR30 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, pleasant, attractive and welcoming, we invite you to stay in the relaxing surroundings of this, non smoking, Victorian Guest House. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the feeling is one of peaceful satisfaction. We are perfect for a stay in Great Yarmouth Norfolk. Swiss Cottage is on North Drive promenade with ample, free parking in an enclosed courtyard at the rear of the building. Come stay for a night or take advantage of the discounted breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing