We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Beach House
Ranked #18 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

9 nights late august 2013 brilliant location close to town but in a quiet road . comfortable en-suit room with added little touches and spotlessly clean . beautiful décor with a beach hut theme . Keith ,Lesley , boo and millie where all very friendly and made great recommendations for places to eat and things to do and nothing was to much trouble . would absolutely recommend a visit to the Italian restaurant at the end of the road 'the albatross '.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank battybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we see you again sometime. Millie and Boo send their love. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
74
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights late august 2013, and had the double room with balcony. The room was clean, beautifully decorated, and had a small en-suite, which had a shower, washbasin and w.c.
a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate for our needs. Lesley and Keith provide those "little touches" that make their guests feel special, like sweets, cookies, plenty of tea and coffee etc, and a "forget me not" box full of things you may have forgotten, like plasters, toothbrushes etc. The breakfast choices were very good, and the full English breakfast was enough to keep us going until we ate out in the evening! Lesley and Keith are friendly hosts, who make sure you have everything you need, but also do not intrude on your privacy; they have got the balance just right, and their repeat guests speak volumes about their lovely guesthouse ! We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay at The Beach House again, if we return to Great Yarmouth in the future ! Oh ! The dogs, Millie and Boo are also very friendly little bundles of fur, greeting people from behind the "baby gate" which stops them from escaping !! Thankyou Lesley and Keith, it was lovely meeting you both, and maybe we'll see you again at some point in the future. Very best wishes for your continued success, Kathy and Arthur.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, the double room with balcony means you don't have to keep going downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime, Millie and Boo send their love. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We have now stayed here 3 times and have never had an issue with anything. Lesley and Keith are the perfect hosts who feel more like Family rather than hosts.we celebrated our 1st Wedding anniversary while staying here and we had flowers on our table at breakfast and a card from them, which was a lovely touch,thank you again Lesley and Keith. Rooms are very clean and lots of little touches like little bags of sweets (who doesn't like sweets) cookies full tray with tea and coffee milk, Mugs not just a small cup, fresh milk if you require it. Breakfast was lovely and my wife said that the Blueberry pancakes are Devine.
I would recommend this Guesthouse to anyone and everyone as its like a home from home.
Thanks Again for a wonderful stay Lesley & Keith we will be back soon.
Love Sue & Paul X

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gibbo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to see you all again. Give our love to sunny Canvey Island. Hope to see you next year. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My son and I stayed here again recently. Our third time now!! We requested the Same room as before, so welcoming, so clean, just pure class!! Keith & Lesley are decent caring people and Really do their upmost to look after their guests Needs!! Perfect location, close to Everything! 10 out of 10 on everything.... If you are looking for a clean, decent, guest house "with a hotel mentality" Stay here!!!! If you are looking for a cheap n cheerful place that isn't too bothered about being clean n decent etc... Go elsewhere!!! P.S - amazing breakfast too!!! Sean n Cieran from London.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Its always great to see you both and so good to know you enjoyed yourselves again. Hope to see you soon. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

As a family of four we spent five nights in this lovely b&b staying in the Norfolk suite. This is a family room on the ground floor comprising of a lounge area with sofa,chair,TV and fridge, and a adjoining bedroom with a double and two single beds. There is a wardrobe and ample drawers for your clothing. In the lounge there was tea,coffee,cappuccino and hot chocolate. Individual wrapped biscuits and little bags of sweets. Plenty of milk,sugar sweeteners and even a box full of things that you may have forgotten such as toothpaste,toothbrushes,plasters,sewing kit,cotton wool,tissues etc. The tea bags, biscuits etc were replenished every day and plenty of them too!
The shower room was lovely with a complimentary toiletry dispenser in the shower which had shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, also hand soap on the basin all avon products. Everywhere was spotless, the beds and pillows were comfortable and we had ample towels all smelling lovely and fresh :)
Breakfast was served between 8-30 and 9-30 in a cosy room at the front, again this was spotless. There was a variety of juices and cereals, and a choice of tea or coffee, the teapot was very large and I could have quite easily managed to get at least 7 cups of tea out of it :). you could choose from a full English breakfast to home made pancakes, everything was well presented and delicious. there was plenty toast for everyone aswell.
The location is excellent with about a 2 minute walk to the bottom of the main street and about 5 minute walk to the pier.
Keith and Lesley are really nice people nothing was a bother and their two dogs Millie and Boo were so cute! our girls loved them and couldnt wait to say hello to them every time we walked passed the door :)
We really enjoyed our stay and thank you for having us :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly_day_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely detailed review it was good to meet you all and we are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Millie and Boo say hello! Hope to see you all again one day. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

absolutely fantastic bed and breakfast, rooms are spotless and really cosy en-suite shower room spotless too, all products are avon, containers in shower with shampoo,conditioner and shower gel also in the room a (forget me not) box with all bits in that you will have probably forgotten, things like toothpaste, toothbrushes and other little bits and bobs. brilliant touch. breakfasts well they are the best i have ever tasted in a B&B and plenty on your plate. Keith and Lesley excellent hosts made us very welcome on arriving and throughout our stay. this will be the only B&B i will stay in so hopefully when we decide to go back I hope there are vacancies. ( will be booking well in advance just to make sure)
To Keith and Lesley
thankyou so much we had a brilliant time just a shame it was only for a long weekend wish we could have stayed longer. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to your next stay with us. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

First impression was excellent, looked very well kept. We had notified of a mobility problem to Keith and he told me how many stairs etc. Gosh the stairs were steep and narrow on the bend. We met Keith and Lesley by the dining room with their dogs and a stair gate to stop them getting out.
There is a family room downstairs that was already taken, we had room 5. There are no downstairs toilets be aware.There are 6 rooms in total and 5 of those on first floor. The room itself was small. My own personal opinion was it was a single room with a double bed in. There was only one bedside lamp and a small ledge the other side there was nowhere to put anything. There was a low chair which my husband said the springs had gone on it in front of the wardrobe which was a bit awkward.
Tea and coffee facilities were good except the kettle was too big to fit under the taps. I used the drinking glasses. There were little extras in the room a box of bits and pieces you may have forgotten,like needle set, cotton wool and tissues. There was a lovely little bag of sweets each day by the tea and coffee. Also there was avon products in the shower area. This is really designed for a small person and the shower needs a longer lead. The bed was very uncomfortable and had difficulty in turning over.
The breakfast each morning was spot on and there was plenty for everyone.Good quality products.
Lesley and Keith have tried hard but perhaps more for comfort and less of little extras. They are a lovely couple very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildenhall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachhouse14, Owner at The Beach House, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your review. I find it strange to say the least that we converted room 5 about 3 years ago in response to increasing natural demand for en-suite rooms and have had nothing but positive excellent comments on Tripadvisor about it until this month!
This room has been inspected by 3 different Visit Britain Inspectors and passed as 4 star.
As you stated Keith explained that the stairs were steep, we both do when a mobility issue is mentioned. It is not our place to question or decide your personal level of mobility. Perhaps when you heard that our ground floor suite was not available you should have carried on looking for ground floor accommodation. Nor is it appropriate to ask a persons size in deciding whether a room is suitable. The shower is standard size and not downsized in any way for a small person. The shower hose is also standard length I have never been asked for a longer one. The sink is in keeping for an en-suite bathroom and I'm sorry if you found it a problem to fill the kettle in it, the kettles are also standard size.
The bedside chair has not got springs but the supports were checked and are strong. The bed is a 4' 6" and only 2 years old and we have many comments on here about the comfort of our beds.
We do not have a downstairs toilet but there are 2 communal toilets on the 1st floor.
I feel some of your comments are unjust and your scores do not give a balanced view of the whole experience you had here for the price you paid. Also none of this was mentioned when you were here so we could endeavor to do something to help.
I can only hope that prospective guests read our many other excellent reviews and can judge this review accordingly. Lesley & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#64 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
104 reviews
0.7 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#11 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 14 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House is situated close to the sea front and town centre. Our aim is to give a good quality service. All of our rooms are clean comfortable and well decorated. Our ground floor Norfolk Suite sleeps 2-4 people, is en-suite and has its own private lounge. Every room has a colour Flatscreen Freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries. All of our larger rooms are en-suite with our 2 singles sharing a bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing