We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst place ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The worst place ever.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for 1 night - we entered with trepidation as it looks grim on the outside, it exceeded even our worse fears. It smells awful, it's tatty, filthy, dreadfully furnished, shocking. I have never been to any accommodation as appalling as this, we walked straight out & found somewhere much better. Do not stay here, it will take quite a while before you can see the funny side of a place so awful.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    28
    12
    10
    68
See reviews for
40
38
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The worst smelliest place i have ever stayed and felt physically sick after leaving from the smell and general filth. Luckily had a sleeping bag as bed linen unclean. Did not use shower as was so filthy. Old shoe laces hanging from light fitting which from previous pictures have been there over 2years. Damp coming through ceiling. old used toiletories left in sink from previous guests. avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JACQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Corby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have rated this b&b excellent as it was just what we wanted we had a very good experience the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us.You were made to feel welcome its like a home away from home and the breakfast was amazing fills you up for the day and is including in the price which is also a plus.This b&b is also very close to the town and a 2 min walk to all the clubs on the seafront.There was loads to do even in peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

There was a small fridge, tea/coffee,bottled water and biscuits in the room, an iron & ironing table, hair dryer, clean towels & sheets,The cooked breakfast was on a par with a good cafe and they offered a very good range of cereals, yogurt etc. Fresh coffee/tea and a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice with loads of toast. I overheard the waitress offer a vegetarian full english and another chap requested no pork, all orders taken with a smile.

Location, value and service was great, the decor quality is old sea side B&B standard but the real down side is the smell of the kitchen cooking after breakfast time. I was out all the time so didn't bother me too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by name....Basil, Sybil, Polly etc. I was in the Majors room with a back yard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGH_OCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

stayed in the honeymoon suite haha 2 single beds room was big enough everything there that was needed tea coffe making stuff and a fridge iron ironing board and even bottled water in the fridge its tired and could do with sprucing up a bit but B&B for 2 people £30 great value for money we was on the top floor at the front very noisy with people passing til at least 05.30am but thats not the owners fault ideal for the beach and shops owners are very friendly and the breakfast was lovely and they serve real tea as in tea leaves not t bags that came as a great suprise at the end of the day you get what you pay for we will defenatly be staying there again

Room Tip: try staying at the back im sure it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon10019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Overall excellent stay. Decent room , plenty of blankets. New windows.Heat worked, had hot water in the bathroom. Breakfast was outstanding. Staff was great. If you like the show you will love this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamsidecarsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Good points: fridge in room is a real bonus, biscuits and bottled water in room (most places just offer tea/coffee these days), iron & ironing table in room, clean towels & sheets, breakfast is very good; the cooked breakfast is of a good standard with a very good range of cereals too. A jug of freshly squeezed orange juice provided (not just a glass of shop bought), location is good and relatively quiet. Cheap price.

Of course, some people just want to notice the not so good points. They exist but put them in context.

Walls and ceilings are not of an A1 standard, some DIY and plaster repairs do not help. The owners provide a good service and real value for money, but do not have an eye for the finer, cosmetic points. I stayed in the 'Kippers & Corpses' room and dispute what one other review says.

Room Tip: No advice on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Beach Hotel
The New Beach Hotel
#10 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Property: Fawlty Towers
Address: 60-61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Great Yarmouth
Fawlty Towers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing