We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.M.G - never, never again!”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fawlty Towers
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The "warm welcome" at Fawlty Towers consisted of "mind my feet" as I struggled past my host carrying heavy bags (hubby having gone to move the car). The place has an air of total gloom and despondency. The décor is tacky, worn-out and shabby. The carpets were grimy and the whole place looked in need of good old dusting, cleaning session followed by a total redecoration. We did not trust the bedding, so slept (very fitfully) on top of the towels which we placed on the duvets! None of us could face the thought of the breakfast, so left the premises at the crack of dawn.
At £50.00 per room per night, no-one expects 5-star accommodation, BUT you should be able to expect the bare minimum of cleanliness and comfort, neither of which were on offer at this establishment.
I have stayed at quite a few hotels in my time, but Fawlty Towers, for me, hits an all-time low!
I would advise anyone to take their £50.00 and spend it elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try the nearest Travelodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

myself,partner and son have just come home from stayin at the fawlty towers b&B las tnight (31,7,13) .... we paid £60 foe the night includin a breafast ...there was fresh fruit,cerial,iced water,fresh orange juice,toast,jams,marmalades ect and the biggest nicest full english any could want ....they wer more than happy to cook some thing different for my son who is a fussy eater xxx it was nice quiet to sleep at night time,very close to every thing xxx the people wer lovely and went above to make us feel wellcome xx thank you very much ...we will be back xxx much love liz,jo and owen xxx i would just like to say i dont agree with the negative things said on here....i say if you want 5 star pay for it xx if you want a friendly seaside b&b and a full tummy to start the day go here xxxx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizknight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

One might be forgiven for thinking that anyone who named their guesthouse "Fawlty Towers" was having a laugh? Well, if you elect to stay at this place the joke will most definitely be on you.

My room for my one night stay (number 12) was pretty grim; not particularly clean, beds and furniture that are well past their sell by date and an ensuite which, although functional, looked to have been fitted by Billy the Bodge - no self-respecting bathroom fitter would leave anything in such a state. The mould came free. For balance, I should say that the bed linen had been changed, and the ensuite cleaned, prior to my arrival. Shame that the used tissues left under one of the beds by a previous guest, or the half eaten biscuit remains in one of the dresser drawers, weren't dealt with at the same time. A net curtain on the window (which overlooked Apsley Road) would have been a nice touch too - as I'm a bit old to start picking up cautions for flashing.

Can't comment on the breakfast offering the following morning as I decided not to bother.

I'm sure that the proprietors would insist they do their best, and roll out the usual "what do you expect for what you've paid?" type arguement.(£25.00 for B&B in my case). Whilst I don't expect a great deal beyond the basics at that price, I still expect a reasonable degree of "clean" and "functional" (as opposed to "missing", "overlooked" or "that'll do"), and if what I experienced in room 12 is the de-facto standard at Fawlty Towers then the moans below from other contributors are most likely fully justified.

In summary then, if you're looking for any degree of comfort or finish for an overnight stay in Great Yarmouth then this place should simply be avoided. If you're a member of a stag party, or on a seaside bender, aren't too bothered with trivialities like cleanliness and need somewhere to crash close to the seafront it might tick the box. I won't be returning though.

Sorry guys.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, probably best to ask for a room that doesn't overlook Apsley Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NGB_May2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Do not stay here!
We found this B&B on a web deal and we needed somewhere cheap and cheerful for a night. On arrival, we were shown to our room by a kitchen hand as the owner has issues with the stairs.
The interior is circa 1960 and in the expected state for that age!
We booked a double room and got 2 different height single beds pushed together. There was thick dust on all the pictures and on the ceiling fan. The towels supplied were stained and had other people's hair on them.
We decided not to stay for breakfast and left as soon as we woke.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cragglea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to have a weekend away to Great Yarmouth.
No parking what was a pain.
Room was very basic. Kettle, hair dryer and towels.
Room was clean shower could of done with a clean though, shower head was broken carried on falling off the wall.
Bed was hard and very uncomfortable, double bed a was too small for two people to sleep in.
You could hear people coming in and out of there hotel rooms, and at 7 in the morning you could everyone in the kitchen cooking breakfast.
Best thing about the hotel was the location 2 seconds away from all the shops and see front.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here as part of our stag weekend to Great Yarmouth.
All the rooms are named after the characters from the TV series. Which made us laugh. I was in the Basil room. We loved the bunk beds!!!!!!!

Again it's very basic but each room is en-suite, the location is superb as its just off regent road and is handy for Marine Parade and attractions.

Cheap cheerful but very clean. Mind the shower door though as it came off in our hands as it was connected properly.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank bigborisbushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel friendly when they came to the door gave us a family room as that was the only one they had got left. clean room tea coffee and biscuits in the room breakfast was at 9clock until 10 clock cereals fruit juice full English breakfast toast tea or coffee you had a key that fits your room and the front door what we payed was very good we will stay their again when we go back

Room Tip: room 1 very quite side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanjane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prom Hotel
Prom Hotel
#11 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 60-61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Great Yarmouth
Fawlty Towers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing