We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have been warned.”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fawlty Towers
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You have been warned.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me and my Family were planning to stay in a different Hotel to start with but they sent us a email saying that they doubled booked us. So we had to quickly book another place as we were worried that other places were going to get booked up fast, so we didn't think to read the reviews. What a mistake that was! The next day we decided to read the reviews and were in shock at what people were saying. We choose to the ignore the reviews and hoped that people were just being fussy. But man we were wrong again. So anyway we got there and waited at the door for a while until this old man greeted us with a 'oh il get someone' no hello, welcome. The greeting of the fatty scummy smell was more welcoming than anyone there. We got our keys and had rooms 1, 7 & 14. Room 1 was my mum & dads room and it had the worst smell of fat and Greece. The carpet was black and nothing looked like It has been cleaned in ages! My sister and her boyfriend had room 7 and the carpet was also black and they had a shoe lace has the pull cord on the fan! Me and my younger brother had room 14 and that wasn't as bad as the others. The only thing was the shower fell apart when I got in it the next morning. We went for breakfast the next morning and all they said was were full at the min come back in a bit! No good morning or anything. The time I spent in the b&b I felt dirty and grossed out. I took the risk and had a full English and surprisingly it was nice! But I wasn't very impressed with the smell of the ladys armpits as she kept leaning over me to place things down. None of them seam to have any personal hygiene at all but that's no surprise if they live in that place! There is so much more I could say about this unhealthy place but you have to be stupid or dumb to go anyway after all this reviews! Everything you read is true don't think were being fussy or anything because were really not! If you don't care about your cleanliness then go ahead knock yourself out with the fumes but all im going to say is you have been warned.

Room Tip: Sunny side hotel is very nice!! Nan and granddad stayed there and the rooms are beautiful and the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    28
    12
    10
    70
See reviews for
41
38
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family and I were looking for accommodation in Great Yarmouth and regrettably ended up in this B&B. We arrived tired and desperate for a good nights sleep. My mother was struggling through the door with her case as the bare footed landlord sharply told her, "watch out for my feet"! Perhaps an offer to help may have been a better greeting. The shabby, filthy room was smelly and unclean. My son and I were so disgusted by the dirty bed linen and stained towels that we used our own towels to lie on. The bathroom door didn't close and the sink, shower and toilet were unclean. In the morning we left as fast as we could, having not slept a wink for fear of being eaten alive by bed bugs! Disgusting, overpriced and the worse place I've ever stayed in my life! Didn't dare to sample the breakfast, as we were quite sure we'd end up with food poisoning! Don't bother with this place, it's disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jodykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The "warm welcome" at Fawlty Towers consisted of "mind my feet" as I struggled past my host carrying heavy bags (hubby having gone to move the car). The place has an air of total gloom and despondency. The décor is tacky, worn-out and shabby. The carpets were grimy and the whole place looked in need of good old dusting, cleaning session followed by a total redecoration. We did not trust the bedding, so slept (very fitfully) on top of the towels which we placed on the duvets! None of us could face the thought of the breakfast, so left the premises at the crack of dawn.
At £50.00 per room per night, no-one expects 5-star accommodation, BUT you should be able to expect the bare minimum of cleanliness and comfort, neither of which were on offer at this establishment.
I have stayed at quite a few hotels in my time, but Fawlty Towers, for me, hits an all-time low!
I would advise anyone to take their £50.00 and spend it elsewhere!

Room Tip: Try the nearest Travelodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

myself,partner and son have just come home from stayin at the fawlty towers b&B las tnight (31,7,13) .... we paid £60 foe the night includin a breafast ...there was fresh fruit,cerial,iced water,fresh orange juice,toast,jams,marmalades ect and the biggest nicest full english any could want ....they wer more than happy to cook some thing different for my son who is a fussy eater xxx it was nice quiet to sleep at night time,very close to every thing xxx the people wer lovely and went above to make us feel wellcome xx thank you very much ...we will be back xxx much love liz,jo and owen xxx i would just like to say i dont agree with the negative things said on here....i say if you want 5 star pay for it xx if you want a friendly seaside b&b and a full tummy to start the day go here xxxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizknight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

One might be forgiven for thinking that anyone who named their guesthouse "Fawlty Towers" was having a laugh? Well, if you elect to stay at this place the joke will most definitely be on you.

My room for my one night stay (number 12) was pretty grim; not particularly clean, beds and furniture that are well past their sell by date and an ensuite which, although functional, looked to have been fitted by Billy the Bodge - no self-respecting bathroom fitter would leave anything in such a state. The mould came free. For balance, I should say that the bed linen had been changed, and the ensuite cleaned, prior to my arrival. Shame that the used tissues left under one of the beds by a previous guest, or the half eaten biscuit remains in one of the dresser drawers, weren't dealt with at the same time. A net curtain on the window (which overlooked Apsley Road) would have been a nice touch too - as I'm a bit old to start picking up cautions for flashing.

Can't comment on the breakfast offering the following morning as I decided not to bother.

I'm sure that the proprietors would insist they do their best, and roll out the usual "what do you expect for what you've paid?" type arguement.(£25.00 for B&B in my case). Whilst I don't expect a great deal beyond the basics at that price, I still expect a reasonable degree of "clean" and "functional" (as opposed to "missing", "overlooked" or "that'll do"), and if what I experienced in room 12 is the de-facto standard at Fawlty Towers then the moans below from other contributors are most likely fully justified.

In summary then, if you're looking for any degree of comfort or finish for an overnight stay in Great Yarmouth then this place should simply be avoided. If you're a member of a stag party, or on a seaside bender, aren't too bothered with trivialities like cleanliness and need somewhere to crash close to the seafront it might tick the box. I won't be returning though.

Sorry guys.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here, probably best to ask for a room that doesn't overlook Apsley Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NGB_May2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Do not stay here!
We found this B&B on a web deal and we needed somewhere cheap and cheerful for a night. On arrival, we were shown to our room by a kitchen hand as the owner has issues with the stairs.
The interior is circa 1960 and in the expected state for that age!
We booked a double room and got 2 different height single beds pushed together. There was thick dust on all the pictures and on the ceiling fan. The towels supplied were stained and had other people's hair on them.
We decided not to stay for breakfast and left as soon as we woke.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cragglea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I decided to have a weekend away to Great Yarmouth.
No parking what was a pain.
Room was very basic. Kettle, hair dryer and towels.
Room was clean shower could of done with a clean though, shower head was broken carried on falling off the wall.
Bed was hard and very uncomfortable, double bed a was too small for two people to sleep in.
You could hear people coming in and out of there hotel rooms, and at 7 in the morning you could everyone in the kitchen cooking breakfast.
Best thing about the hotel was the location 2 seconds away from all the shops and see front.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sjwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prom Hotel
Prom Hotel
#11 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Property: Fawlty Towers
Address: 60-61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Great Yarmouth
Fawlty Towers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing