We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower by camp light!”
Review of Fawlty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fawlty Towers
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 25 August 2014

When we arrived the hotel had messed up our booking and only had a single room put by when we had booked a twin! They then put a camp bed into the room to accommodate us, by doing this they rearranged the room so that one of the beds was no longer facing the TV, not ideal. We were on the second floor, the second set of stairs were slanting towards the inner wall and from below looked as though they were crumbling (there were visible cracks) there was a dog whining in the room opposite ( ok not the hotels fault but again not ideal). We didn't even bother with breakfast as this was an additional charge and only served for an hour and from what I've read I'm glad we didn't. We had a safe in our room yet no code! When booking it said there was free wifi, we had no access to any wifi. The sheets on the bed were stained. The plug sockets were loose in the wall, they also used a single plug socket to run many plugs off which is extremely dangerous. The fridge was filthy, although they did offer free bottles water in it which was a plus. The bath room was shabby decorated, tiles not in line, bare floor board floor and not even a holder for the toilet rolls. The bedroom doors could be opened from the outside unless locked once inside. The ceiling fan had clearly been hitting the ceiling as there were grooves out of it. On the second day of our stay the toilet light bulb went, we asked them to fix this on our way out and when we returned we found a note and a camping lamp!!! (Photos will be uploaded) so we then had to shower by camping lamp light! There were minimal toiletries (only a small amount of body lotion in the shower). Tea and coffee supplies were fine, although the kettle was full of lime scale! The noise from the street was also ludicrous, we were awake from around 3am till 5am on the Saturday night and were awake by 9 due to noise. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't ever stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MEKMEK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

sorry about your booking already apologized to other person who booked with you in above complaint. We only serve breakfast for hour as we have lots of other things to do most b&b have limited meal times. There is free wifi available although sometimes guests do have problems getting it on top floor. Each safe you can set your own code if you had asked a staff member we would be willing to show you how. All our laundry is done externally and if by some miracle they do have any marks on them when returned the are binned. We spend about $400 per year on replenishing marked bedding. The sockets have all recently been tested and are safe including multi socket extension leads. The fridges are cleaned after every guest. the bathroom as recently been renovated and although tiles are not fully aligned looks clean and tidy. We have no bare floor boards in here all floors are either carpeted or laminated. all doors have security locks which stops children locking themselves in or guests locking themselves out (without keys) so people have to lock doors when in or leaving. We would have filled toiletries if asked was obviously missed when bathroom was cleaned .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Fawlty Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked for one night. We had paid in advance but did not stay for more than a few minutes. It is the dirtiest, smelliest. most disgusting place I have ever seen, Some authority should close them dow
n.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

so sorry that you did not stay. If you had made us aware of your problem at the time of your stay we would have done our best to sort it it to both of our satisfaction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

If you would like to get an air/water borne disease, and you like freezing, dark, and dirty rooms, then this is the hotel for you! Myself, my sister and my mum stayed in Basil's room. I got a cold during my three-night stay. To be fair, the owner did help us with our luggage, and was generally helpful, and gave us a free parking permit to borrow, but that was the only good points. There was limescale, dirt, grout and mould in the shower, and the door handle was broken. I didn't get a shower because it had never seen a cloth, and I wore slippers to avoid walking barefoot around there. The breakfast was so greasy it could have put a hole through a plastic bag, and the crockery was dirty. The room we stayed in smelt of grease, damp and smoke, and it looked like we walked straight into a 70's timeslip. The white TV remote was covered in a tomato sauce of some sort. Do not stay here if you expect cleanliness, as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

I's sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We don't have any diseases air/water borne available at the moment. Our heating is on for at least four hours daily as my husband as heart problems. I'm sorry that you got a cold during your stay but this was not down to us. The parking permits cost us a lot of money and have to be returned at end of stay. The shower room and bedroom are cleaned after every guest. The carpets have all been replaced this year with new Wilton carpet which costs thousands and the bathrooms are all laminated floors which are mopped after every guest and steam cleaned on a regular basis. The full english is grilled bacon, grilled tomato fried sausage, fried mushrooms fried hash brown and fried slice with hot beans and grilled black pudding and fried egg. We try to keep it as healthy as possible but as all breakfasts are cooked to order time is of importance. The crockery is cleaned by dishwasher and unfortunately sometimes can leave watermarks. All rooms display a no smoking sign and we cannot be held responsible if guests ignore these. Sorry we didn't check the remote but was not looking for spillages. So sorry you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

this hotel is not what it seems from the outside a tad unreal but inside it is all you want and more from the friendly owner to the rooms that have everything you will need kettle microwave iron fridge en suite i even had a sofa and tv the breakfast was excellent value full english a mound of toast cereal yogurt and fruit with orange juice on all tables even wi fi is free.the hotel is situated less than 5 mins from the beach and front and is 100yds away from the main shopping area.And we had one basil moment when the tea and coffee got mixed up made for a very funny fawty towers moment thank you for a great stay scott

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

LIar .no smell of smoking in the hotel.Liar breakfasts were superb.We only had a small meal while out during the day because we were full up.In fact i commented to my wife that the sausages were no cheapos.
The beds were clean and comfortable.
It really is about time that TRIPADVISOR verified that these reviewers were genuine.

Room Tip: take no notice of some of the bad reviews some of them are written by nearby hotelliers.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from this Bed & Breakfast & after reading the reviews was abit worried Especially with the name Fawlty Towers I thought thered be Zany people about immatating the characters but there was none of that the only thing that resembled the programme was the Bedrooms they were all named after the characters & things to do with the programme.We had a biggish room with en suite,Tv,microwave,mini fridge,tea coffee etc there was a wardrobe dressing table as well & i noticed a safe in the wardrobe as well.We slept well both nights & the bed was very comfy.Breakfast was the BEST ive ever had in a B & B there was a varity of cereals to choose from yoghurts fresh fruit we also had orange juice on the tables the fried Breakfast consisted of Egg,Bacon,Sausage,Black pudding,Fried Bread,Hash Brown & fresh mushrooms not from a tin like some places serve Grilled Tomato & Beans.We also had A Basket with Toast & selection of Jams.We also had Tea or coffee which came in pots so had several cups from it not just one like some places offer.It was a stones throw from the Town & the Britannia Pier is aprrox 5 mins walk away.Our sat Nav took us to Albion Road but the B&B is just round the corner from Albion road.There is Limited Car parking near the hotel & you have to park in parking bays in the streets nearby & the proprioter gives you a parking permit every day as they are only valid for 24hrs.We would go back again if you only pay for a cheap price for a place dont expect The Hilton or The Ritz cos you wont get that standard but if you need a good cheap B&B with Good Breakfast then this is the place yes it looks abit run down from the outside but when i get good service & good Food then i'm not bothered about how something looks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliceNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I think the photos and reviews are well and truly out of date, the decor was not only tired but dirty, ceilings falling down, rooms smelt of smoke, wallpaper peeling, floors sticky with dirt, showers mouldy, the smell of stale fried food everywhere, all surfaces greasy including highchair, breakfast obviously the cheapest bacon and sausages. Staff looked scruffy, no welcome, no thank you for visiting in fact no interaction with my family at all. Family room had no room for a cot so had to sleep in bed with parents.
The rear entrance was through a dirty, smelly yard and smelly kitchen, no assistance offered with cases. Overall, whether paying 50p or £50, the least we expect is cleanliness. Not going back, ever.

Room Tip: Don,t bother, save your money and go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sallyhdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

No ceilings in here they are all suspended ceilings. All rooms display a no smoking sign but we cannot sleep with every guest to make sure that these are upheld. There is no wallpaper peeling in here have looked everywhere but cannot find. All carpets have been replaced with Wilton carpets this year which has cost thousands. Our sausages are butcher sausages which we have brought over from Halesworth about 30 miles away and are complimented on them extensively many guests asking to buy them. The bacon is smoked back bacon certainly not the cheapest. We are a cheap hotel but give value for money. We are very friendly and normally interact with guests but only if guests are open and friendly. Sometimes however we do have problems and although we have to carry on with the business can be difficult I've had cervical cancer this year and although am doing well at mo has been hard with radio and chemo therapy and all this on top of my husband's chronic heart failure we try not to let our health problems interfere but find it hard to be cheerful all the time. We could have supplied a cot is asked not all families have small children. The rear entrance is through a yard but you do have the option to take the slightly longer route and walk around but not through the kitchen no guests are permitted in the kitchen for health and safety reasons. Due to above health problems we have been unable to help with cases. But if assistance was required could have got boys to help once home from college.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
569 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 60-61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fawlty Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Great Yarmouth
Fawlty Towers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing