We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only good thing was pool”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only good thing was pool”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Room was tiny, staff unfriendly I felt very uncomfortable having breakfast. Bar prices were good and pool was very nice but the other guests make our stay bearable. Parking was terrible so get there early to get space.

Room Tip: Twin room was a box with shower that barely comes out. If you claustrophobic don't get twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kateroyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for your time submitting a review and I am glad you found our Bar prices were good. We try to look after our Guests and not charge excessive prices in the Bar as part of our service to our Guests. I am also glad you found our pool very nice as we have spent a lot of money on it this year and am pleased to say we have received so many complementary comments on the way it now looks. During the recent fine weather it has had an enormous amount of use.

Whilst admitting parking is restricted especially when we have all of our 45 rooms occupied we try our up most to ensure that everyone has a parking space and are pleased to say that so far this year by organising the parking we have always found a space for everyone either on the road outside the Hotel or in the Hotel grounds. We even managed this on August Bank Holiday weekend

I am sorry if you thought our staff were unfriendly at Breakfast time and can only put this down to pressure in serving at a very busy time of the year. I can assure you that if you speak to our staff during the day or evening they are all very pleasant and our customers comment frequently on how friendly they all are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    80
    31
    21
    11
See reviews for
83
72
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

stayed for one night,believe me one night is enough..room and hotel very dated. bedding and decor very dated, the mirror unit in bathroom is from the seventies, as for the filthy green chairs in the corridoors..say no more, breakfast we actually thought we had been given a childs breakfast it was that small. we was expecting toast with this,we was told it was coming, next other tables who where seated after us where getting their toast, when i asked about our toast,we where told it was in the toaster,we was abruptly given it eventually.the couple behind us asked for a simple runny eggs and beans,they had to request this twice, staff dont seem to ynderstand english..they never got a runny egg..avoid this dated place..we certainly will not return and definatley would not recommend it to anyone,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187069Shell1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
I note your comments and we are disappointed that we do not appear to have met your expectations but must point out some facts which you seem to have got completely wrong perhaps this was because you only stayed one night and did not get time to appreciate our facilities.

Our sheets are Premium sateen 300 thread count and are no more that three Months old as we have recently replaced them all.

We do not have any Green chairs in our corridors.

Breakfast is help yourself to cereals etc so you can have as much as you like.

Hot food is served by our waiting staff and you could ask for what you wanted. If you felt there was not enough on your plate why did you not ask for more? Our waiters are always happy to serve more when it is requested. It is no good waiting until you get Home before mentioning this.

Sorry if the service of toast took longer than expected but you will appreciate we were full at the time you stayed and everyone asked for Toast at the same time and as we prefer to serve fresh toast it took longer than normal.

My waiters are very upset that you suggest they do not understand English when in fact they can write English far better than some English people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was my first time staying in a hotel on my own in Great Yarmouth. I was met by John who welcomed me and helped me with my cases to my room. The room was excellent. Very clean as was the en-suite.. The towels and the bedding smelt of fabric softener which was great as I went off to sleep in an exceptionally comfortable bed. The breakfasts and other meals were very appetizing and very good value for money. The staff were so welcoming and friendly that I would recommend any solo travellers to stay at this hotel, I will definitely return for another stay. The hosts John and May put a lot of time and effort into the efficient running of the hotel and it certainly shows, and yet they still manage to make it a friendly place to stay. Well done John, May and all of the staff, I'll be seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

just returned from a weekend away staying at this hotel, our room was ok but the curtains there only one on the rail, the sheets only just fitted the bed, the on suite well what can we say the bath had a shower on the taps, there was no way you could stand it the bath as the ceiling slanted you had the bend to get the bath the toilet roll holder was behind your head the mirror in the bathroom was slanted to so my husband had a job to see in it, I went to use the hairdryer and to plug it in had to unplug the kettle and more the mirror to the other side to in front of the tv . so we will not be going back to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19susan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for spending time to write a review and I am glad that overall you said found the room OK but disappointed bearing that in mind that you only give a rating of 2.5% for it.

I note your comment regarding there being only one Curtain but as it is a small window it is sufficient to cover it. If two curtains were placed on the Rail it would restrict the light to the room or just cover the wall so we felt it was best to just have one Curtain and did not expect this to cause a problem.

With regard to the washing facilities this room is a room with a Bath not a shower. I am surprised that if it was so important to you to have a room with a shower you did not request this. It would not have been any problem as all the other rooms have a shower and we could easily have changed your room.

During our ongoing improvements to the Hotel facilities we installed showers above all the baths apart from the room you stayed as it is obvious that with the slopping roof it is physically impossible to stand under a shower. However we had a very constructive comment from a guest asking why we did not install a low level shower to enable children to be washed whilst sitting in the Bath and for adults to wash their hair whilst leaning over the Bath. We though this was a very constructive comment so went to the expense of installing a low level shower for that purpose. We did not think anyone could possibly think that they could actually stand under the shower.

With regard to having to unplug the kettle to use the Hairdryer we do not see this as a problem as it is not very often you wish to boil a kettle whilst drying your hair, The same could be said if you wished to plug in your computer, charge your mobile phone or use an electric razor or any other electrical appliances.

You will have noticed that we supplied a free standing mirror in the room so that it can be placed wherever you require it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Good value for money. Very knowledgeable staff friendly too.
Clean room and communal areas.
Food wonderful.
Good to see the windows being kept wonderfully clean by a handsome/charming young man.
Well done Hotel Victoria. See you again.
Jo

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19861979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned after a week at the Hotel Victoria. I was in a party of over 60's. I had very pleasant time. Drinks are reasonably priced with a pint of Becks at £3 & a pint & a bottle of house wine £12. My room was small but more than adequate. A shower that was always easy to operate never being too cold or hot. The breakfasts are well cooked, No greasy food here & the food always well presented with the usual choices of salads, roasts & a third choice. Portions are average. Starters of soup & another alternative are available. The sweets were without exception really nice. May & John are very pleasant people & make all their guests welcome. There is entertainment almost every night with bingo before for those that play.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

When we arrived. Reception were helpful and efficient.
No problems at all. One of the better laces in Great Yarmouth.
The pool was open and looked rather nice when the weather is OK.
Its a traditional old seaside hotel so you get what you book!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leejc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Carlton Hotel
Bay Carlton Hotel
#9 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Kings Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Great Yarmouth
Hotel Victoria Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing