We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Midland
Ranked #91 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Largs, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and had a thoroughly good time. The location of the hotel to the seafront, shops and restaurants is excellent. We enjoyed all our meals which were efficiently served by very pleasant staff. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We knew we were not visiting a 5* hotel as we were not paying 5* prices. The Midland Hotel provides a good base in Great Yarmouth and represents value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil_Largs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Many thanks for finding time to write a review, and will pass your comments onto the staff, once again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
9
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have just returned from a short three day break at The Midland. We hadn't booked anywhere to stay and turned up 'on spec'. This hotel definitely does not deserve any bad reviews and I was shocked to read what people can find to moan about.
We did not expect to stay at The Ritz but what we did expect was value for money and that's exactly what we got. The Midland offered us a warm welcome, functional rooms which were clean and well equipped. The staff were pleasant and we have no complaints about the food.
We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had rooms 9 and 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Thankyou for finding time to leave a response. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and felt you received good value for money, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

me and my wife spent a week at the midland . we were expecting a really bad hotel from reading the reviews we had a great week . staff were freindly rooms were very clean but needed a lick of paint a good choice of food which was cooked adequately everything was fine for the money we paid went with national holidays and you dont expect to be staying at the ritz

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherokeeHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thankyou for finding the time to reply so son after your holiday, I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at the hotel, as do more than 50 peaple each week. As I am sure you could tell we have new carpet thro' out the ground floor, and I am sure you found the new flat screen tv's a great improvement. Once again many thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltburn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

just arrived home from our 5 days at the midland,had a brilliant time,after reading some reports about this hotel we were expecting a poor 5 days,but that wasn't the case,people have complained on reviews about the meals but we were pleased with them,a great selection of sweets,some people have complained about the breakfast having one sausage one slice of bacon one egg one tomato there was also fried bread,a cereal choice,and plenty of toast,so i don't know what some people want,i am one who likes a good feed and i was well satisfied, the staff were very nice all pleasant,we had room 9 which we requested after reading it was a nice room,you don't or can't always expect to be given your request but on this occasion we were,after explaining we had a disaster holiday at the norbrek at blackpool,thanks paul,we will certainly be coming to your hotel next year in the summer as the weather was not too good in october but we didn't expect miracles from you,thanks to helen who was very pleasent and supplied us with our meals swiftly and thanks to the chef mark i believe for providing clean appetizing meals, ignore negative reviews and visit this hotel you will not be dissapointed,forgot to mention all fresh veg no tinned rubbish.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigerpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Friends and i, went on a five day coach holiday to the Midland Hotel, expecting cheap and cheerful, it was cheap.At those prices you dont expect luxury just cleanliness.The complaints are to many to mention, but i dont think the dining room has seen a hoover this year.The only good thing about the hotel was Helen the waitress, and even she couldnt distract us from the dirt !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walkerjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

It was i and my wifes misfortune to choose this hotel package with national holidays[the 1st and last time] we will be doing so.
The room was adequate but dated,the breakfast was nice[but no beans].
The evening meal was a choice of two main courses[i can only state this for the 1st night as we decided to eat out the 2nd]
The choice was breaded plaice or lamb.and neither i or my wife liked either,in the end i got the lamb which to be fair was palatable but only just and the wife chose the plaice which was like breaded cardboard.
We went for a romantic weekend and came home very disappointed with the experience..:]
All in all the Midland is a b&b dressed as a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rampantrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
I am sorry that neither you nor your wife liked the choice on the menu, a salad was also on offer, as well as a soup, Florida cocktail or fruit juice and a choice of at least 6 sweets and tea or coffee. The coach holidays are popular because of the price, should you have wanted a romantic wekend, then maybe you should have paid twice as much and travelled with and stayed at a Shearings hotel. I guess you paid about £79.00 each for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast, entertainment one night, and your coach travel and a trip out......good value I think.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel is badly in need of a good clean, the carpet in the restaurant is disgustingly filthy, the dado rail has never seen a duster and the lounge has a damp smell, the beds are as hard as nails but clean, okay the staff are great in the restaurant and the food is good and homesome if you stay away from the fish ( frozen and out of a packet, mine was not cooked), such a shame as it could be a lovely hotel but badly in need of someone who cares about it. It is alright saying it is a cheap holiday but you do expect cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpumacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
392 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
22 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#74 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#64 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland

Property: Midland
Address: 7-9 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Great Yarmouth
Midland Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing