We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”
Review of Midland

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Midland
Ranked #90 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

one star for our waitress Monica. Damp rooms, musty smell Creaky floorboards. Shower door hanging off. No soap.The curtain nets were filthy and the window ledges were rotting away. All paint peeling. The cook was unchanged in his clothing for the 6 day's we were there and he smelt of sweat. The plates were always cold and the food portions were tiny ( 9 beans per plate!) Very limited breakfast. Dinner no better and frozen apple pie every night. Never again! Avoid at all cost.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oceandeep55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent holiday with us.
It is a great disappointment to read about the issues you had during your stay. I was however pleased to see a mention for Monica from our restaurant. She is a superb asset to the team and it be a delight to share with her at our next meeting that she had a personal mention on TripAdvisor.
With regards to the maintenance issues, we run a policy of "report it and we'll fix it". Had our management team been made aware we would have ensured that this was either rectified immediately or had given you the offer of alternative accommodation.
Our housekeeping team members are trained to the highest standard and I was personally shocked to see that you found it to be below the pristine level you should always expect. I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. Please be assured that this has been taken seriously and as a direct result of your feedback new measures have been out in place.
It was a further shock to read the comments about our head chef. We supply uniform which is laundered daily in house. As I am sure you can appreciate our kitchens do become extremely hot during the summer months and he has personally sent his apologies if you felt he looked unkept at the end of shift.
We receive some superb comments about the food offering at the hotel and wherever possible we local produce and meats from a local butcher. Our portion control is adhered to within industry standards. Breakfast will always consist of unlimited cereals, fruit, fresh juices, toast tea and coffee. In Addition to this we have a full breakfast; Sausage, egg, bacon, fried bread, tomato and beans or scrambled eggs, poached eggs on toast.

If you would like to contact me discuss any further matters please do so on 01493 330046.


Kind regards,


Tim Hull
Hotel Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Just back from a 4 day break to the Midland hotel with a group of 59. Service was great and friendly staff, hotel management Paul & Viv are excellent hosts.
Great food for both breakfast and dinner, and very clean rooms.
Entertainment each night was very good.
Great hotel at a great price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank micko1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello micko1962,

Thank you much for the 4* review about your recent short break with us here at the Midland Hotel.

The team here take great pride in delivering superb and friendly customer service. I will be delighted to pass this feedback to Paul and Viv to share at the next team meeting.

Our full English breakfast is a firm favourite with all our guests ( and staff ).

I was of course pleased to hear that you found your stay good value for money, we strive to be competitive in the holiday market.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome your group back to stay with us in the near future. Should you wish to book please do not hesitate to contact me personally on 01493 330046.

Kind regards,


Tim Hull
Hotel owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed @ the midland over the easter with national holidays ,hotel sad looking on the outside .ok on inside, staff friendly food was fine .manager give us plenty info on yarmouth,nice place to go , plenty to do and see ,

Room Tip: top floor quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adriankaren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Midland hotel with national holidays. After reading some of the reviews on here I did not have high expectations. On arrival, the hotel manager Paul came onto the coach and gave us all the information that we needed, and helped some of the guest to their rooms with their bags. Hotel interior clean, but very dated. In need of some work, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was basic, but tasty, very good value considering the price that we paid! Full english with cereals,juice and toast for breakfast and a choice for evening meal. Not 5 star food, but well cooked with a good choice. When you think of the percentage of what we pay that actually goes to the hotel, I think they do an amazing job. The hotel staff were friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at the Midlan

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

It am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Hotel, and you were able to highlight the expectations related to amount you paid for your holiday, especially as V.A.T is also paid.

I will pass on your comments to Paul, and we hope to welcome you again to the hotel,maybe for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

we went on a National Holiday coach trip last week. on arrival at the hotel the manager Paul, took all our cases up to our rooms. All the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. The 2 nights entertainment were good. The rooms however and the interior and exteria of the hotel need 100% upgrade.You could here everything in adjoining rooms. Meals were ok always hot and you did get a choice so not too bad.when you went in bar and dining room it was cold

Room Tip: we were in room 36 straight opposite lift so heard everyone using it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggyg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at The Midland Hotel for a week with my husband.
We were a little nervous about staying here after seeing some of the reviews. However, I'm glad we decided to stay there in the end, as we had a lovely holiday.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach and the town centre. All of the staff were helpful and nothing was too much to ask for, excellent food served with a smile, clean rooms and good entertainment.
Highly recommended.
Looking forward to coming back soon

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelman46, Owner at Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It is shame you felt a little concerned about staying with us, and i am peased that we were able to exceed yor expectatations, feedback like this will reassure other guests who have booked stays with us. Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just returned from a National break. The staff at the Midland Hotel have excellent customer service skills and nothing was too much trouble. A great location and good value for money when you consider what you are paying. Excellent entertainment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank guy2_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2.6 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
429 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Station House
The Old Station House
#1 of 1 in Hemsby
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#44 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland

Address: 7-9 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Great Yarmouth
Midland Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing