We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably OK in peak season”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hopton Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Probably OK in peak season”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked Hopton through the Sun for a cheap getaway.

The £9.50 holiday actually cost £119.80 after all the extras were added, for 3 adults and a baby.

We paid extra to upgrade to deluxe - on arrival found out this is only "mid range" so we paid another £50 and upgraded to the best caravan model on park - it was lovely.

Went to showbar on the first night and was greeted by the most horrific "entertainment" which was 3 yellow coats, 2 singing completely out of tune and the other dancing around like a mad woman. People were laughing and heckling, to no avail they carried on. We actually left and went to the arcade for a break and returned at 1030pm to find the showbar had closed! Early night then!

Tuesday we went to curry night at The Boardwalk. £25 for 3 curries, we were given 3 side plates and served the smallest portions ever, the beef madras looked like dog food - awful, so many people complaining. At 1015pm we were advised of last orders, we asked when the bar closed and were told it was subject to customers, there were at least 12 people still there - but lights were turned on and the bar closed up regardless.

We ate out on Wednesday so can't comment there.

Our final night Thursday - went to Boardwalk, Rugby was on - had a bottle of wine, at 925pm we were asked if we wanted anymore drinks before the bar closed! They then packed away and pulled the shutters down. The TVs were switched off even though Rugby was still playing, much to the annoyance of the fellow holiday makers! The bar staff then hovered at the bar, one with their coat over the end - wanting to go home! My mum was trying to finish her drink as quick as she could and was told "you can take that with you to the showbar" in other words please go! This was 940pm!!!

The showbar entertainment was awful as ever, however it was the last night so we ventured in. By 11pm they had turned on the lights and were saying good night! Even the arcade was closed!

It was disgusting that people were turned away from an entertainment complex on their holidays. Total joke.

We went to Vauxhall caravan park in June, the entertainment was fabulous, proper singers and comedians not yellow coats trying their luck. And it was open for as long as stated, I would definitely recommend paying extra and going to Vauxhall - give Hopton the wide berth it deserves!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam20181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    281
    107
    33
    34
See reviews for
715
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely place.. We both work for a hotel chain so getting a break away is quite hard to do. On arrival we got upgraded to a platinum caravan without any charge amazing shame we had to leave thank you to all the team we will be back xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed in a private caravan which was lush...but to get in to the entertainment we had to buy a pass each... Bit steep at £18.50 each but hey we're on our hols....this was our 3rd visit and think each time it's gone down hill...the restaurant/ bar was the only place that had wifi so could get really busy at times...when we visited in April we noticed the sofas were looking rather tatty...by sept all the stitching has come apart and the filling falling out :( bar prices had shot up 30p a pint since April too...£4.40 for a bottle of cider!! The food looked good but again rather expensive...fish and chips for 2 and wine £20.... At the front of the park there are 3 takeaway vans... fish and chips...doughnuts ice cream all good prices...oh and a lovely Chinese takeaway
All the staff were really friendly..security always had a smile
Shop was very expensive £2.40 for the cheapest stick of rock!!!
The entertainment to be fair wasn't too bad on the fri and sat and once that finished karaoke in the bar took over if you didn't want a early night...but the Sunday was not so good....it was the staff entertaining... A game show ..sadly you felt like they wanted to be anywhere but on stage...it also finished early so our last night was a bit drab to say the least....

Room Tip: Ask for caravan near to the entertainment....it's a huge park and some have a very long walk..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Have recently stayed here with my 13month old boy and my girlfriend. We upgraded for twenty pounds to a luxury caravan prior to arrival, then due to our caravan not being ready to check in too we're upgraded again for free. We enjoyed our stay so much that we paid to stay for an extra weekend. The early evening entertainment by the seaside squad is brilliant my little lad loved it and for people aged 2-8 I would say it would be even better. The funstars provide plenty of entertainment for the children too. Average Pub prices in the bar (£3.30 for a pint) not sure about soft drinks as my little one just took his bottl. Plenty of Amusement Arcades and a Papa Johns on site which delivers to your caravan. Food in Broadwalk bar is reasonable value and quite nice although was less impressed with breakfast.
Spar shop on site is open 8to8 and sells everything we required and has an instore bakery at rear of store. Tescos supermarket a couple of miles away in Lowestoft. Also a Tescos and Asda in other direction in Great Yarmouth (about4/5miles).
Good location for Great Yarmouth and the site also has it's own beach but weather wasn't really good enough to check this out.
Indoor poor ok and outdoor pool looked nice but again weather wasn't appropriate for that. Both free with entertainment pass. Also a crazy golf and pitch and putt course on site. Plenty of activity a for children to do in the day although they aren't free to best of my knowledge. We eventually had a deluxe caravan and would upgrade to that again as the luxury didn't look very luxury! Looked clean though and only a preference due to having small child. All the basics in the caravan and we hired a cot and high chair, Would and probably will go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPQ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hopton is a lovely park. Visiting since 2008 and have loved it everytime. This year I found the owners exclusive stuff to be such overkill and the atmosphere is so so flamboyant. I found the staff very helpful and bubbly, 4 young Lads working there seemed a bit shifty while talking to them all in the boardwalk bar. The park is so beautifully landscaped but at a cost that comes with the toffee nosed owners. I come with my sister twice a year and find many owners unnatural and irate. If your a loaded family who have 70 grand for a holiday home this is for you, if not, look elsewhere because its going away from a haven and more to an exclusive park. The people who run Hopton are the sort who will toss and turn all night if they lose a fiver. Sorry Hopton you don't score points for me anymore with your corny staff of robots!!!

Will be trying wild duck next year!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolineparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our first experience on a haven holiday with our two year old. We had a lovely prestige caravan which was nice a clean and spacious. Our little boy loved the amusements and entertainment. We only used the pool once as found the water very warm , in fact too hot it felt unhealthy and lots of sand on the bottom of the pool. The food was fine in the resturant, nothing special but ok , just a bit pricey for the quality. Other than that no gripes about the campsite. Great activities for the kids -our little boy loved the bouncy castle and trampoline which are both free.
We stayed in a caravan on the end of a row right which was great as lovely and quiet and minimal passers by. We visited bewilderwood whilst there-well worth a visit. Unfortuanetly pleasurewood hills closed during the week out of season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Awesome weekend away in a deluxe plus 6 berth static caravan . Very very quiet location and a minute walk through the site to the lovely clean and tidy Hopton sea front and cliffs . All the site and vans are immaculatley clean friendly staff and the site is slap bang in the middle of Yarmouth or Lowestoft . Or just relax on this site ? Lots of cheap decent food stalls and quite cheap too . Great little site we`re already re`booked .

Room Tip: Sea fronted vans are quieter with excellent morning views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidosthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
4.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
5.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
4.2 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopton Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopton Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Hopton Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Hopton on Sea | Warren Road, Great Yarmouth NR31 9BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:5 star — Hopton Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Hopton Holiday Village Hotel Great Yarmouth
Hopton Holiday Park - Haven Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing