We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldnt hesitate to recommend stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Merivon Guest House
Ranked #7 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wouldnt hesitate to recommend stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hosts Jane and Richard were very helpful and welcoming! Couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was pleasant.Very informative about local amenities,and very helpful and accommodating for our 6 month old baby!

Close to all amenities.Very clean and welcoming environment,do book to stay here we couldn't fault it!Its the little things that make the stay perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
109
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I stayed at the Merivon the wkend just gone with my best friend. The service from Jane and her husband were outstanding what lovely kind people. The room was spotless and such lovely little touches like flowers in the room, biscuits and even chocolate sprinkles for the hot chocolate. Breakfast was superb and nothing was ever too much trouble. A lovely homely feel with amazing hosts. Would def go back and highly recommend to other people. Thanks again Jane!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelreview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Really enjoyed my stay, Richard & Jane were perfect hosts, I would recommend this place to everyone for a very very nice experience.
Great breakfast!
Even if you didnt want to go to Great Yarmouth, I would, to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamahamanhx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights this week and were delighted with our experience. Hostess Jane is really friendly, nothing is too much trouble and she has plenty of advice with regards the local attractions. We were well looked after and would recommend the Merivon to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

The location is great - no more than a few minutes walk away from amusements, food, pubs, the beach, a nice little park and the bus station. The train station is around a fifteen minute walk away, but if that's too much for you, your hosts will collect you or drop you off (free) - a nice touch.

Breakfast was plentiful (and included in the price), the building seemed very clean in all areas and our room had all the bits and pieces we needed, including a hairdryer, shoe polish and a kettle with plenty of tea, coffee, chocolate, milk etc.

I doubt you'll find a better place to stay for the price. 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I recently stayed at The Merivon guest house while on a short golfing break in the area. The Merivon was spotlessly clean and tidy, the room we stayed in and the decor through out was very clean and modern.
The breakfasts were exceptional and always a choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereal and of course a full English breakfast.
Litterally 100 yards from the sea front if your there for the entertainment and town centre is readily accessible.
The hosts Richard & Jane couldn't do enough for us and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danchidlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

I recently stayed at the merivon with my dad and brother, the service was fantastic, the breakfasts were superb and Richard & Jane were such fantastic hosts. Very friendly place and in a brilliant location. Would definitely stay at the Merivon again if I was visiting Great Yarmouth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chidlow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A superb & very friendly guest-house where nothing was too much trouble to make your stay ideal. We had the 4 poster room which was spotless, had fresh flowers & fruit, it really made you feel @ home.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that overlook the Green at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#2 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#14 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merivon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merivon Guest House

Property: The Merivon Guest House
Address: 6 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merivon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merivon Guest House, Great Yarmouth is in a ideal position on Trafalgar Road, just a stone's throw from the seafront and just across the beautiful St. George's Park from the town centre. We are a small, family-run guest house who cater for adults only. We have recently refurbished the entire property, so that rooms are modern with a contemporary twist. We have superking, doubles, twin & fourposter room, available for your comfort. Attention to detail is key at Merivon, and we hope you notice our little extra touches here and there. Freeview TV. DVD available. Fluffy dressing gowns in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Merivon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merivon Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing