We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Merivon Guest House
Ranked #10 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed for three nights (19th - 21st August) whilst working in Norfolk and I'll definately be booking again.
Nothing is too trouble for Jane, who goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need or want. My room was at the back of the house, so fairly quiet despite the house being on a well used road and the bed is so comfy, I've never slept better away from home before.
Even at the height of the school holidays the parking permit system means there is no problems parking either.

Absolutely first class, Thankyou

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaltonHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for The Merivon Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is an excellent guest house nothing too much trouble for Jane and Richard. Jane welcomed us at the door, took our cases to our room while I parked the car with the free car parking pass. Excellent breakfast each morning served with a smile. Nice clean room and towels, free wi-fi and well stocked complimentary drinks tray.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for Jane and Richard who take a real pride in making sure your stay is as comfortable and trouble free as possible, they cater for adults only, and many guests even leave the kids at home in order to stay here, superb breakfast, clean rooms and luxuriantly appointed beds and towels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Merivon. It is one of the best B&B's have stayed at. Nothing is too much trouble for hosts Jane and Richard. Very centrally placed for town and beach. Go on give it a try I know you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SelbyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

as this was our first guest house we had stayed in, i was truly amazed. from the start we were picked up from the bos station, then when we reached the guest house Jane gave Charlotte my missus and my self a warm welcome and our cases were taken to our room.when we got in our room it was lovely, the bed was the centre peice it was a super king bed and you could get lost in it.breakfast was superb a choice of a cooked breakfast or continental i tried both and in my opinion both were superb and as much as you wanted. the guest house was about 3 or 4 minutes walk to the sea front 5 or 6 minutes to the shopping centre. i would go back to this guest house nothing was to much trouble for jane.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just arrived back from a two night stay at The Merivon. As we were arriving at around 10am we knew our room wouldn't be available as check in was 2pm, but Jane the owner had told us to ring the bell when we arrived which we did to a very warm welcome and she gave us a car parking permit .When we went back later to check in we were very pleasantly surprised .we were in room 2 the décor was lovely with great attention to detail .We were surprised to find biscuits , fruit, sweets, bottled water and even pringles in the room and a very comfortable bed. The two days we were there we found Jane to be perfect host and breakfast was a treat ,with fresh fruit ,cereals, yogurts and a lovely cooked breakfast. We would definitely stay here on our next visit to Great Yarmouth - a real East Coast find !we are off to Italy next week for a wedding I hope the room and hospitality are as good as we found on this short break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BOBH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This bed & breakfast is the best we have ever stayed at, Jane. Can not do enough for you,the extra little touches make all the difference, would definitely stay again and again, all provided are bottle water, flowers , fruit. Toiletries, crisps sweets tea and coffee , brilliant location , nice restaurants near by, sea front just at bottom of road, beds are really comfy lovely breakfasts, flat screen tv,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#8 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#2 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#48 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merivon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merivon Guest House

Address: 6 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merivon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merivon Guest House, Great Yarmouth is in a ideal position on Trafalgar Road, just a stone's throw from the seafront and just across the beautiful St. George's Park from the town centre. We are a small, family-run guest house who cater for adults only. We have recently refurbished the entire property, so that rooms are modern with a contemporary twist. We have superking, doubles, twin & fourposter room, available for your comfort. Attention to detail is key at Merivon, and we hope you notice our little extra touches here and there. Freeview TV. DVD available. Fluffy dressing gowns in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merivon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merivon Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing