We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We already look forward to coming back!”
Review of The Elmfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elmfield
Ranked #16 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“We already look forward to coming back!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Elmfield, and was well looked after by Chris and Suwanee, and I have to say this was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at before. Many B&Bs in the area did not welcome babies so we were glad to find the Elmfield. We booked directly with the B&B after speaking to Chris on the phone, and it is the same price as booking sites - so book direct!

We were travelling with a baby and we got a complimentary upgrade to a family room so that we had a bit more room. Room 9 had a double and bunk beds, and was extremely clean. Sure the shower wasn't super strong, but it was adequate and meant we were able to take the baby into the shower with us. There was also a kettle and cutlery which helped when making up bottles/preparing snacks. The double bed was slightly too soft for our liking but that is a personal choice.

The location was great, 5-10min walk to pretty much everywhere and closely located to the beach which would be handy for summer. We used free street parking as the B&B parking was a bit difficult to get into, but there was plenty around and was not a problem.

Breakfast was fantastic - full english breakfast was so well cooked that I didn't feel it was unhealthy and we cleaned our plates 3 mornings in a row which is rare. It wasn't greasy at all and everything was fresh and yum. There was also a good selection of cereals on the side.
If I was staying for a long time I would want maybe a "light" morning with yoghurt and cereal so maybe this is something that may be introduced - but we had this for 3 days in a row and were happy.

Having read some of the other reviews - I don't understand the confusion with breakfast. There are menu sheets at the front desk where you fill in what you want - daily if you want as you can fill in the date. We filled one in each day - switching between scrambled /fried eggs and veg and meat sausages. There was no problem with this at all! And i am sure if you woke up with a strong aversion to what you ordered the night before, if you spoke to Chris something could be done...

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Norfolk and the Elmfield was a great base to explore the area.

Thank you Chris and Suwanee for taking such good care of us (especially Lachlan!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7leafClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    21
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
52
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The friendly owners of the Elmfield gave us a professional warm welcome and were available without being intrusive. In a busy street [not noisy but parking is limited] it offers off road parking, which takes some worry away. The cleanliness is also second to none.They are also doing a refurbishment of the rooms, which can only add to the already positive atmosphere [but we enjoyed it anyway]. You can choose your breakfast when you book in, which is cooked in a healthier [less greasy] way and presented nicely. We stayed two nights and I would recommend it strongly, to couples especially.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Chris and his wife hosted six of us guys for 3 nights during the Caister Soul Weekender. I speak for all of us when I say the this was the best B&B we have stayed in. The beds were comfy and rooms were supplied with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, water and.....biscuits! The breakfast was freshly cooked and was the best English I've had in all the hotels I've stayed in, including the breakfast served in the executive lounge at the Hilton.

We will definitely be booking this B&B for next years Weekender.

See you then Chris!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlpm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

After booking with Chris he said if I called the day of arrival he would give me a check in time I did and got in my room at 12 midday brilliant
Was met by a lovely warm welcome had bags carried to my room
Breakfast in morning was more than enough and set me up for day
I will be going back have no hesitation in highly recommending Chris and suwanne on their wonderful hosting

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a bad start when stuck in traffic driving to Yarmouth, so when I called the owner to say we might have a problem arriving between 4 and 6pm - check-in time according to their website - we were told that they could wait until 8/8.30 at the latest, as they have to get up early to start preparing breakfasts. When it became clear that we wouldn't meet their 8.30 deadline, I called again, and was told that there wasn't any leeway on this and they wouldn't leave a key anywhere for us. While lucky we had family staying in the area who could go and retrieve the key for us, they also felt they were met with a frosty reception, plus it cost us a fortune in taxi fares just because of the inflexibility of the owners.

The following morning when we went down for breakfast - 8-9am according to their welcome pack - at 8.30, we were told that they weren't ready for us so we needed to go back to our room and they'd call us when they were ready. We were asked to complete a form with our choice for cooked breakfast, which we did, then returned to our room and sat waiting for our call. This came at 9am, so we made our way back to the breakfast room, where were then waited another 20 minutes for our cooked breakfast with no explanation for the delay. We, like other reviewers, were puzzled by having no option to change our breakfast choices on following mornings, so didn't even bother with breakfast by our third day.

In fairness, the room itself (room 9) was very clean, and was cleaned every day, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The shower was pretty poor though.

The B&B was full the weekend we stayed, and given the good reviews from others, we may have just caught the owners at their most unprepared. My review may therefore appear unfair against other recent ones, and I take the point that the owners are new so may be finding their feet, but in comparison to other B&Bs my husband and I have stayed in, we were rather disappointed with the Elmfield.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly071267, Owner at The Elmfield, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It is our wish that every guest receives the best service that is possible, so we are always
very disappointed when a guest leaves dissatisfied.
Out guide line for check in is between 4pm and 7pm. This is only a guide line.
We do realise that especially on a Friday night people find themselves held up in traffic.
Frequently we will receive a call from a guest informing us that they will not be with us till 10 or 1030pm and then we will wait up for them.
It is only when a guest has no idea when they will arrive that I cannot guarantee we will stay up.
With regards to our breakfast we do our best to cater to all tastes.
Most people when staying for more than a few days will want to vary their breakfast and this is not a problem. We have blank menus at our desk on the ground floor and now have blank menus in our welcome book in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We required a family room in the Yarmouth area for the weekend as we were going to spend the Saturday at the Bewilderwood forest adventure park.
Found The Elmfield after a search on hotel.com then a review on trip advisor.
We arrived late on the Friday and were greeted with a warm welcome. There is off street parking available all be it in a narrow driveway.
The room had a double bed plus a bunk bed which our six year old was more than happy with. There was a small en suite shower. The room was impeccably clean and quiet at night although prepare for a morning chorus from the seagulls.
The breakfast was excellent. Full English if desired with the owner happy and courteous but not obtrusive.
For the price of £140 for 2 nights you cannot go wrong. My advice would be to book direct with the hotel.
Finally, I managed to leave my pullover in the cupboard, after a short call to the hotel, it was posted back to me the next week free of charge, now that's service.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank passinsd517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary, lovely and clean, very friendly. Comfy beds! Will take an extra tea bag or two next time as only two provided! Very nice full English brekkie! Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholacullum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waverley Hotel
The Waverley Hotel
#12 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#59 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Property: The Elmfield
Address: 38 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elmfield 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house. All rooms are en-suite, off road parking, WiFi access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elmfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing