We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday at the Elmfield Great Yarmouth.”
Review of The Elmfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elmfield
Ranked #14 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely holiday at the Elmfield Great Yarmouth.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after a Monday16th June 2014 to Friday 20th June 2014 stay at The Elmfield guest house, Great Yarmouth. It was a lovely experience. The hosts could not do enough for us, they were very pleasant and efficient. The room No.3, was spotless and the bed very comfortable. The room was airy and welcoming with biscuits bottled water and tea and coffee making equipment. Also T,V for Mike to watch the football . The breakfast was excellent , beautifully cooked and presented. With plenty of choice. Would certainly recommend this guest house. Judith and Mike Bowen.

Room Tip: Can recommend room No.3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    23
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
58
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Nothing but praise for The Elmfield...polite and friendly hosts...Comfortable family room spotless no dust...Fridge in room tea coffe water and a mini fridge...Towels supplied along with toiletries...Breakfast...wow fresh food well presented filling and loads of toast....Even our son who is not a cooked breakfast lover cleared his plate... On departing we were thanked for our custom....Please try the Elmfield you will not be disappointed

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed two nights here this week and was really impressed. I was given a spacious double room - although it was for just myself - with en suite, tv, tea/ coffee making facilities with biscuits and a bottle of water all for £23 per night. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Yarmouth's excellent beach but is situated in a quiet road. The cleanliness could not be faulted. All in all an excellent place to stay and I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Elmfield. Would say probably the cleanest and friendliest b and b we have ever stayed in. Would recommend. Our room was very clean, plenty of information available including which restaurants are good. Great location, 5 min walk to sea front and shops. Only negative was the british weather!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairewasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just come back from a lovely stay at the Elmfield. It is only a minute or two walk from the seafront but it's on a nice, quiet road. Although we are two single ladies, we were given a double room each.

The rooms were spacious and very clean. There was tea making facilities with biscuits and a bottle of water, refreshed every day. The rooms were quiet and we both slept well.

The proprietor was efficient and helpful. Breakfast was delicious too with everything you could want.

All in all, the Elmfield was the best value for money anywhere. All this: beautifully clean rooms, nice location, helpful owners, excellent breakfast all for £23 a night. I don't know how they do it for the money.

Room Tip: We had rooms 6 and 9. 6 has a sea view. 9 is slightly bigger in a quieter part of the house at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieSeptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from 3 night stay in this fantastic B&B.
The B&B, set back one road from the sea front ( 2 mins walk) and pier (5 mins). It's also a few roads away from the shops leading up to the town (5 - 10 mins walk) and there is also a big Sainsburys a 5 min drive away.

We were a family of 4 staying in room 7 at the top of the house.
We arrived a little early but Chris was most welcoming and let us pull into the side drive to park the car, there is also free parking along the road. We were able to check in early and give our order for the cooked breakfast the next morning and time that we would like to eat.
The room was spacious with a double bed and two single beds and very comfortable.
The room was very clean with nice furniture and cushions to compliment the look. The bathroom was clean with a good working shower, no issues with hot water, plenty of towels.
The room also had a fridge with bottled water, a kettle, teabags, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. These were topped up each day by Chris's wife Suwanee and more if needed. There was a good size TV on the wall with free view channels that could be angled at various parts of the room. There is free WiFi available. We had to go out into the corridor a few times to catch the signal as we were right at the top of the house, otherwise it worked fine.
We were given our own keys so that we could come and go as we pleased and there is no limit to when you come back at night, as long as you are quiet and respectful of others. There was no problems with noise, the street is very quiet but near to the seafront that you can walk to the restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was great, a wide selection of cereals (even for the kids) and apple or orange juice. The cooked breakfast was wonderful, fresh and not greasy. The eggs were provided by the chickens kept in the back garden. Each day our breakfast got bigger with the portions and on the last day we forgot to ask for scrambled eggs and were given fried, but Chris and Suwanee were more than happy to make some scrambled eggs as well. There is also plenty of toast.
The thing that made our stay even better was the lovely manner of Chris and Suwanee. They were very welcoming and attentive to our needs but not intrusive. They were happy to take our girls to see the chickens in the garden and there were little touches like a bowl of sweets in the hall way for guests and biscuits also in the dining room.
We would definitely stay here again and i can easily say this is the best B&B i have stayed in!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

sat nightstay , when we arrived never had problem parking on the nice quiet side streets opposite the park and 1 min walk to beach ,this property ,I would say is on the nicer side of the pier with lovely water gardens lovely walk with ponds and lake with ducks geeses etc and the beach with sand dunes ,had a lovely 7am walk ,
then back for a lovely hot fresh breakfast ,you pre order what hot you would like the eve before ,plenty choice.
we had twin room first floor with large shower
room had hot drinks tray with bisc and 2 bottles water
room lovely clean ,could of done with larger bath towel !
the guest house is much nicer than photos advertised ,it has been decorated ,lovely entrance hall ,and dinning room has new tables/chairs and lovely wall art ,tastefully decorated.
I loved the stair carpet !
it does have parking for 5 cars but as said before no problem on the street
on checkout owners offered to carry our cases to car ,they were lovely and said had only been owners for a year
well I would def go back when next visiting great Yarmouth
thanks for a lovley stay
tina

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Trevross
The Trevross
#51 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#15 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmfield

Property: The Elmfield
Address: 38 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elmfield 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guest house. All rooms are en-suite, off road parking, WiFi access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Elmfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elmfield Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing