We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic B and B”

Maryland Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maryland Guest House
Ranked #87 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Basic B and B”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Greeted warmly by Dave on arrival and he gave us details of local attractions etc. He then showed us our room and carried my bag. Room was up several flights of stairs and had a view of a rather large car park, a little disappointing as the guest house was not full, so therefore could not see the reasons for being right at the top at the back. Room small but functional with ensuite shower. Everythng was clean and tidy but the towels had really seen better days and could do with being replaced. TV did not work and when we mentioned this, to I assume was Dave's wife although she did not introduce herself, she was a little abrupt but it was sorted.

Breakfast - choosen the day before and adequate but nothing special and obviously the cheapests ingredients used. Dave was very efficient and made a wonderful waiter. He advised us on the best places to park for our days out and was very friendly and helpful.

A good place to stay for a few nights and Dave seemed to run the guest house on his own. We only saw "Mrs Dave" twice once for the TV and when we paid!!!!!!!! It would have been nice to have the warm welcome Dave gave us from both of them!!

Cant comment on other meals and did not sample them as not aware they did anything other than B and B

Room Tip: Please be aware that there are lots of stairs and heavy fire doors.... not easy for the elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
8
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rushden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Spent a weekend at The Maryland in Great Yarmouth and the welcome we recieved was very friendly. Rooms were fairly small but very clean and comfortable. Situated in an ideal place away from the noise of the sea front but within 5 minutes of all attractions. Breakfast was also very nice. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelsanders294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Needed somewhere last minute to stay in Yarmouth for three nights. Maryland can't be booked through usual booking sites late rooms etc. so had to call. They don't take cards so it's cash or cheque only.

Arrived and was greeted by owners - nice welcome. Rather odd I had to choose my breakfasts for the three mornings there and then. And breakfast is 8.30. Not 8.30-9.30. 8.30. 8am on peak Saturday's so goodbye lie in!

Shown to room, small but fine. Location good. Quiet area, lots of free on street parking which is great. One minute walk to seafront, five (tops) to pier and shops.

I tend not to stay in b and b's and was reminded why. Room was a bit chintzy for my taste. Rooms were only given a cursory tidy. Towels not changed. Even the loo roll wasn't put on the dispenser when the previous roll ran out. Small flatscreen tv with freeview good. Breakfast ok. Eggs hugely overlooked and rubbery. Sour tasting beans. Bacon nice though. Orange juice was a small glass and coffee topped up if you wanted it.

For the location and friendly Owners I'd rate it 3/5. I'm not sure how they got their four star rating as in my opinion it falls short of that.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Richsurgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryans Road, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

wasnt what i thought it would be. pictures are different then the website

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have recently returned from a great mini break in Gt Yarmouth, but had to write to express our total and utter disappointment with the Maryland. No wonder the Maryland was the only B&B that had vacancies prior to booking!!

Upon arrival we were greeted with "You can pay by Cheque, or Cash"!! - Whatever happened to the " Welcome and did you have a good trip?

The owners of the Maryland instantly gave an impression that the money is far more important than the guests and this became the common theme with the food also…

The rooms are OK, although small and dated, but never the less very functional and no issues here...

Breakfast is another point - If you like 99p store ingredients then this is the B&B for you - Greasy Full English, Pre Booked, Pre Cooked, Minimal and Tasteless ... Even Tesco Value Sausage would have been better than the breakfast dished up in the mornings.... Our stomach couldn't face the sight of another breakfast like that – The presentation is enough to put you off for life....

On a final note it is usual common courtesy to ask your departing guests for feedback on their stay - Did you enjoy your stay, was everything OK for you? - Nothing???????

May be if these types of questions were asked along with additional interaction on the basis of comfort, value for money and the overall experience of your B&B then your guests would not write very poor reviews on your B&B….

As part of a service industry dependent on our custom - Let's hope that you read the reviews and take note of the comments as we cannot all be wrong by saying exactly the same things...

Very, very, poor and not 4 Star!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MysteryGuestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Great Yarmouth hotels

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We went on a family holiday to the Maryland and we were all really disappointed. The minute we walked through the door, we were asked to pay for the full week. All week the meals were horrific - using the cheapest ingredients (think supermarket basic brands) and we often found ourselves having to go out after our evening meal to fill up on fish and chips as we were still hungry. Another group of guests left mid-week as they were so disgusted with the food. The rooms were'nt bad but not as spacious as we would have liked. How this B&B got 4 stars is beyond me.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a carpark - what else can I say?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We were very impressed by this guest house. The couple that own it were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you...Dave even helped us with our cases as we were on the top floor. We stopped in a family room, which was very clean and tidy and had a little less space than we'd desired but we got used to it. We had a lovely view of the sea and it is situated in a quiet area with very little noise. Every morning when we went down to breakfast we were greeted by Dave and only had to wait a few minutes for our food. I had full English breakfasts all week, which were lovely not a massive portion just enough to set you up for the day but there is also plenty of variety for breakfast, which you can pick on a daily basis i.e. bacon sandwich, beans on toast, fresh fruit, continental breakfast etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definately go back. The only issue you could potentially have is that the family room may be a struggle for a family of four but luckily we were only a family of three so we managed with the space quite well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph30cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Guest House
Belvedere Guest House
#86 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wellesley Park Hotel
Wellesley Park Hotel
#59 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Guest House
Spindrift Guest House
#18 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haydee Hotel
Haydee Hotel
#39 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryland Guest House

Property: Maryland Guest House
Address: 53 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Hotel Class:3 star — Maryland Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Maryland Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing