We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend to recharge batteries and did just that ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kilbrannan Guest House
Ranked #2 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Another excellent stay at the kilbrannans we went for a long weekend to recharge our batteries and we did just that. Gary and Julie are lovely they make you feel so at home. We didnt want to leave its so homely got a lovely greeting off gary he took our case out of van julie took it to the room for us. Got to room to find julies home made cakes oh yes we seen them first dont you worry. They were delicious. We are going back in august cant wait overall stay is worth every penny.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you both for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again, it's always a pleasure to see you.
Glad you liked the homemade welcome cakes, they are very popular. More to come on your next visit soon.

Best regards
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went for a a 3 day short break, having been influenced from the previous reviews on here, we certainly made the right choice.

Gary and Julie are excellent hosts, and their local knowledge of the area and restaurants was a great help.

The breakfast menu is probably the best we have ever had, choice is limitless from various kinds of fish to full english and some of the owners own creations like like a breakfast sundae reminds me of a knickerblockerglory. (but we were to full to try it)

The bedroom was well furnished and the complimentary tray had a lot of various teas coffee's biscuits and fresh fruit.

We have booked again for later on in the year as there is still so much to try from the breakfast menu and sights to see we did not get round to, you will not need to eat again till the evening.

A very good place to eat and drink is 5 minutes away from the the Kilbrannan ,run by a Portuguese family with an outside seating area overlooking the park called Bar Bistro.

Thank you once again to Gary & Julie

Room Tip: It is all on street parking but the owners give you a permit for free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JI5X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for your review. Praise indeed from another accommodation provider.
We put our lives into running Kilbrannan to the standards you enjoyed, we are happy you appreciated it all.
Our breakfast quality and choice exceeds most guest's expectations as it's all cooked FRESHLY with no requirement to pre order, using the best quality local ingredients along with our homemade specialities.
You are right, our location in Great Yarmouth is absolutely perfect to easily walk to most restaurants and attractions within a few moments.
We look forward to seeing you again later in the year
Warm wishes
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fantastic does not begin to cover the experience these Fantastic people provided for my mom. She came for the first time in England without knowing more than “ halo” and “yes” in English. Gary and Julie not only found a way to communicate with my mom (without knowing even a letter in Bulgarian), helped her converse with the other guests and also printed the breakfast menu in Bulgarian! On top of that they had information about what’s on in Yarmouth plus coupons, knew all the good places to eat and would offer you any other assistance should you need it!
These people are truly amazing and as my mom said it: “They made a little fairy-tale for me!”
Thank you so very much Gary and Julie!
You can not only trust these people with your holiday, you can trust them with your mom!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marite_Oliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. It was a pleasure to meet your mother.
We understand visiting a new country can be very stressful especially if a language barrier exists so it's only right we try to do what we can to make things easier and less stressful. Translating our breakfast menu along with pictures was no problem and actually an education for us also. The look on your mother's face was lovely when she saw this. In the morning it was simply a case of pointing to exactly what she wanted, and enjoying her breakfast along with everyone else.
The information we have to hand has been researched for the benefit of our guests and the vouchers are there for all to use.
We are extremely pleased you appreciated the things we did for your lovely mother and that she enjoyed her stay with us in Great Yarmouth.
Best regards
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What can i say about our recent visit other than fantastic, I echo all the fantastic reviews and my previous reviews too. Gary and Julie pulled out all the stops to make our anniversary special. Thank you so much for everything you did for us. I have to also add that the special touch Julie has added by putting freshly made tray bake in the rooms on arrival is fantastic and adds the more personal touch. As always i highly recommend any one to try Kilbrannan, i doubt they would be disappointed as there is everything and more there than you can want or need. Lost count of how many times we've returned there since 2009 but i know its in double figures and i know i'd never consider any where else. You'll arrive a guest and leave a friend. Thanks again Gary and Julie and keep up the good work, you deserve every single award you win.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are of a high comfortable standard but my firm favourite is room 1 with the lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsjbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

What can we say? It's always a pleasure for us to see you arrive full of smiles, looking forward to your holiday with us in Great Yarmouth.
We go to great lengths to ensure all our guests enjoy the Kilbrannan experience from the little touches such as the homemade welcome cakes,outstanding cleanliness, hospitality, lovely rooms to the superb breakfast quality and choice. We are pleased you return time and time again. You are more like family members.
We look forward to seeing you again next time
Best wishes
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

After staying with Gary and Julie last year for my mothers 80th, we knew we were not going to be disappointed; and we weren't! They are without doubt two of the loveliest people you could wish to meet. From the moment you walk through the door you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. When you arrive outside the Kilbrannan you are greeted with a beautiful display of hanging baskets and potted plants that frame the house delightfully, with a lovely water feature,(well done Gary!) Inside, Julie, who is rarely seen without a duster, keeps the house immaculate. Each room is en-suite and has everything you need and more, fresh fruit and flowers and the complimentary drinks tray is amazing; you even get fresh milk daily in your own fridge. On arrival in your room Julie has left a welcome gift of freshly baked cake; loved the chocolate one we had. The breakfasts are incredible, so much choice, and whatever you have is tasty and beautifully presented, we rarely needed to eat lunch out as a result! Try a Kilbrannan special it's gorgeous. Thanks Gary and Julie once again for a fantastic stay at your B&B, you made us feel like part of the family. See you next year! Dave, Elaine, Jean and Tom.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely my favourite is room4 on the front with a lovely bay window and Juliette balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you all so much for your review,
We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stays with us again, it was great to see you.
Having guests like you make all the work we put into making sure every guest has a lovely time worth it. Thank you
We look forward to seeing you again next year (if not sooner)
Best regards
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked this for Mother in laws 70th birthday so I was not staying myself, she has said it was wonderful. Gary and Julie were lovely(this included during the booking process), it was very clean, the breakfast was lovely, not a bad word could be said. Great location too.
I havent been to Great Yarmouth myself for many years but if I do go again, I know where I would choose to stay.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review,
It was a pleasure to meet your mother and Rolf, we are pleased they enjoyed their stay with us in Great Yarmouth.
We do hope to see you sometime.
Best regards
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Without doubt the best guest house that we have stopped in. Gary and Julie are so friendly and welcoming, they made sure that we wanted for nothing. The choice and quality of the food at breakfast was excellent. Our room and ensuite were spotlessly clean, and we were provided with fresh fruit and biscuits each day. Also perfectly placed for the town and for travelling around the Broads. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you both so much for your review,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to ensure all guests have a stay they will remember fondly.
Yes we agree our breakfast quality and choice goes beyond any expectations and what's more you don't have to order any of it the previous night as it's all cooked FRESHLY for you.
We look forward to seeing you again next time
Best wishes
Gary & Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#9 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbrannan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrannan Guest House

Address: 14 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £61 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbrannan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Host recognised Kilbrannan Guest House is a Visit England 4 star graded accommodation with additional Silver Award and Breakfast Award in acknowledgement of our exceptional levels of Customer Service, quality accommodation and outstanding breakfasts.Located on Trafalgar Road, we are ideally positioned to explore everything Great Yarmouth has to offer within a few minutes walk. Parking is free to all guests.Having 5 fully en-suite rooms with many extras included and a cosy licensed lounge your stay is assured to be relaxing.Rooms are cleaned and serviced every day with towels and extras replenished free of charge.If you want a break to remember fondly, come and give us a try.We are also holders of Great Yarmouth Tourist Authority's 'Guest Accommodation of the Year' 2010 & 2012 and Enterprise GY's 'Great Business to Customer Service Award' 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kilbrannan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbrannan Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing