We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Another Enjoyable Stay!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kilbrannan Guest House
Ranked #3 of 98 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Another Enjoyable Stay!"”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our third year in a row that my wife and I have stayed at
'Kilbrannan'.Yet again Gary & Julie have not failed to disappoint.We never want to leave but go home wanting more of the same.
We have always stayed in the en-suite basement bedroom; it's got
our name on the door now,lol.
Everything at 'Kilbrannan' is huge! 32inch flat screen tv, kingsize bed,which was really comfy, by the way and an enormous bathroom
in which you could quite easily have a game of 'five-a-side' and if
Gary adds more ingredient to his full english breakfasts,he will have to
use larger plates.
All the extras that Gary & Julie provide make Kilbrannan stand out from
other guest houses.The welcome cake and fresh
daily jug of milk were added this year at no extra cost not forgetting Julie's homemade hash browns;don't know how she finds the time.
We hope to see a cuddly toy in 'our room' next year,lol.
Breakfasts are still as good as ever and need I say yet again, large portions and great value.
Gary & Julie make perfect hosts;always put their guests first and are
very friendly and likeable from the first time you meet them.
Julie excels herself in the dining room whilst serving breakfasts by
exchanging friendly banter with all her guests, creating a very relaxing environment and encouraging everyone to 'break the ice' and join in with the conversation.
Kilbrannan is without doubt the cleanest guest house that we have
ever stayed in;best value for the money and provides more than any other establishment in it;s category.
With two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet,who are genuine and sincere and who work tremendously hard for the benefit of their guests,who would want to stay anywhere else?
That' s why we will be returning in 2015.
Thanks again,Gary & Julie
Stuart & Christine, Leeds,West Yorkshire

Room Tip: The en-suite bedroom in the basement is very private and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback once again, it is always lovely to see you both and we enjoy your company and banter throughout each day. Great pride is taken in everything we do, we are pleased you enjoy it, it certainly makes the hard work we put into running Kilbrannan the way we do worth it. The new shower we had installed in your bathroom is certainly getting some positive feedback!! Our breakfasts are as some guests say 'to die for'. We look forward to your next visit when we will ensure a cuddly toy is in place for you.
Best wishes, Gary & Julie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
233
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

an excellent choice of venue. Friendly considerate ,fine location centred for all attractions. Well looked after . Breakfast was spoilt for choice . Rooms very homely and comfortable. Very clean. Gary & julie are very good host and made you feel very comfortable.Very enjoyable
Thank you
Andrew & Ellen

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Our location is indeed very central to all Great Yarmouth has to offer without the need for transport. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again. Best wishes, Gary & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Best guest house we have ever stayed in, we where welcomed like part of the family. Breakfast to die for. Room was excellent even gave us welcome cake which was delicious. A standard of cleanliness you wish for but seldom get. A big thank you to our hosts, Julie and Gary.
Tom Byrne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c11a65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it was a pleasure to meet you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Great Yarmouth and appreciated the work we put into making sure are guests are well looked after, thank you. We would love to see you again next time, kind wishes, Gary & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Kilbrannan is a superb homely guest house. Breakfasts were delicious, and what a choice, especially the Kilbrannan Special. The room was very comfortable with everything we needed - I really appreciated the jug of fresh milk in the fridge.
Gary and Julie are a very friendly couple. They gave us loads of information about Great Yarmouth and surrounding areas. They were also around for a chat in the evenings asking about our day trips. Circus & Water show - well worth an evening out.
We would highly recommend Kilbrannan and look forward to visiting again.

Mary & Caroline

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 794Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. It is rewarding for us to see you appreciated it all. We have a fridge in all rooms which contain a jug of fresh milk (replenished daily). This is very popular and our knowledge of what's happening in the area is researched especially to pass on. Our breakfasts are indeed a highlight of everyone's stay with the quality and choice unmatched, and it's all cooked FRESHLY (no time slots or pre ordering) e would love to see you again next time. Best regards, Gary & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

As all the others who have stayed there, we also had a wonderful time at the Kilbrannan Guest House. We looked for a small B&B with some charm to stay in whilst in Great Yarmouth, the reviews were excellent and the experience matched, it was truly special. Gary and Julie have created a relaxed place to stay with exceptional service. We booked for a short mid-week stay in May 2014.

The room was clean and came with a well stocked tea/coffee/snack tray (and home made cake!), there is a DVD library for relaxing after long days exploring Norfolk, Gary and Julie had lots of tips and suggestions for what to see and do around Great Yarmouth and Norfolk, in addition to a huge selection of leaflets and maps. They took interest in their guests and what people had seen and done that day, it was a nice nice atmosphere at the Kilbrannan Guest House.

Breakfast - wow. Using local ingredients, jams and preserves and fish from the nearby smokehouse, they really make a great breakfast. I highly recommend the smoked haddock - it was excellent and a great start to the day, the best breakfast ever!

On our final day Gary gave us a lift to the station to catch our train, really exceptional service, thank you. We bought a few bottles of local beer to take home with us and a jar of blackcurrant jam - yum.

We had a lovely time with Gary and Julie at the Kilbrannan Guest House. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to our family and friends, indeed anyone visiting Great Yarmouth!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback all the way from Helsinki. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Great Yarmouth, it was lovely to meet you both. Our breakfasts are a real chance to experience and taste the quality that Norfolk has to offer in food and the local ales we source are also exceptional, hopefully you enjoyed them. Great hospitality is very important to us as is cleanliness
If ever in this area again we would love to see you, kind regards, Gary & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended again we won't go anywhere now Gary and Julies is so homely.breakfast Is absolutely beautiful all local produce we stay here quite a lot we never want to come home they are always so helpful in every aspect. See you again soon both

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to see our guests return time after time. It certainly makes all the hard work we put in worth it. Oh, thank you for nominating one of us for the ice bucket challenge, much appreciated. Best regards, Gary & Julie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Herts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Kilbrannan Guest House well deserves its place as the top guest house in Great Yarmouth on Trip Advisor. It is one of the nicest we've ever stayed in; we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Julie and Gary.

The breakfasts were amazing - the Kilbrannan Special (muesli, yogurt and home made fruit compot), was delicious, the fry ups huge and well cooked, and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon perfect.

We had a nice room at the top of the house, very clean and nicely decorated with a good shower, fridge and tv. Julie even sent a coffee pot up for me, so that I could have a proper decaf coffee as I was 7 months pregnant!

If we ever visit Yarmouth again we wouldn't even look for anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binkyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-kilbrannan-14, Owner at Kilbrannan Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us in Great Yarmouth (baby's 1st holiday) and appreciated all we do for our guests. Our breakfasts are very popular with all guests. You are a lovely couple and we hope to see you and your new addition very soon, Kind regards, Gary & Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#2 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#1 of 98 in Great Yarmouth
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilbrannan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbrannan Guest House

Property: Kilbrannan Guest House
Address: 14 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilbrannan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World Host recognised Kilbrannan Guest House is a Visit England 4 star graded accommodation with additional Silver Award and Breakfast Award in acknowledgement of our exceptional levels of Customer Service, quality accommodation and outstanding breakfasts.Located on Trafalgar Road, we are ideally positioned to explore everything Great Yarmouth has to offer within a few minutes walk. Parking is free to all guests.Having 5 fully en-suite rooms with many extras included and a cosy licensed lounge your stay is assured to be relaxing.Rooms are cleaned and serviced every day with towels and extras replenished free of charge.If you want a break to remember fondly, come and give us a try.We are also holders of Great Yarmouth Tourist Authority's 'Guest Accommodation of the Year' 2010 & 2012 and Enterprise GY's 'Great Business to Customer Service Award' 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilbrannan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbrannan Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing