We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Taunton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taunton House
Ranked #9 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Only stayed for one night, room was very clean, friendly prompt welcome, room a little on the small side but was all we needed, only complaint would be that the sausages on the breakfast were very cheap (worse than chip shop kind) would reccomend using better quaility ingredients. But apart from that, couldnt fault our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucylashes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

A very friendly guest house. Owners are very friendly and even changed the breakfast time for us as we were a big group staying there.
Lovely rooms, clean and tidy. All en-suite. A very nice little bar area, suitable for a tipple before heading out.
Guest house is situated centrally in Great Yarmouth and the seafront is approx 5 mins walking distance. The Owner of the guest house even recommended and booked a restaurant for our evening meal. We had to do nothing.
I would highly recommend this guest house and will be coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarelou39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have to say this is a lovely place to stay, I booked a party of 12 for my husbands 40th birthday and they were so helpful. We were sorted quickly on arrival and everyone direct to their rooms which were lovely and clean and the beds are so comfortable. Graham and Elaine were so accommodating to us by moving the breakfast time to suit us more. The breakfast is great. Graham also gave us ideas on where to go. I cannot thank them enough for taking the hassle out of organising a large group booking and will definately be going back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireedson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Our stay was lovely, hotel provided everything we needed for a quiet break. The room was a great base, clean and comfortable. The breakfast were lovely n filling and the people we great and helpful. The hotel is convenie tly positioned without being right in the middle of busy town.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiggerCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Friendly Host & Hostess
Clean Accomadation
Very helpful, We were found a room on the first floor after finding out that my Husband used a walking stick.
Very accomadating in all aspect of Hospitatily.

Room Tip: nothing too much trouble for Graham & Elaine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed this last weekend, myself and partner and two friends. Very nice, friendly and helpful service. Good position quite near seafront but a good walk to town centre. Really good breakfasts. Rooms a little cramped, particularly the toilet/shower but pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just Returned From A 3 Night Stay At Taunton House With My Boyfriend. From The Moment We Arrived Graham Was Lovely And Made Us Feel Really Welcome. You Choose What You Want For Breakfast On Arrival Therefore Dont Have To Wait Long In The Mornings Which Was Great. The Rooms Were Lovely And Modern And We Made Great Use Of The Dvd Player =) The Location Is Great 2 Min Walk From The Seafront. Will Definatly Be Returning In The Future.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kezzah_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#8 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Prince
The Prince
#4 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
172 reviews
1 mi away
The Cleasewood
The Cleasewood
#7 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sunnyside Hotel
The Sunnyside Hotel
#6 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Courtyard Guest House
The Courtyard Guest House
#3 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton House

Address: 9 Nelson Road South, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £47 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taunton House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary and Ray are the proprietors of Taunton House which is an elegant house built in the 1860's and is situated in a perfect location to relax. We have been here since June 2014 and are listening to what our guests have been saying and are making changes in response to these suggestions. We now have three superior double en-suite sea view rooms, each with a comfy chair or sofa to sit back and relax. There is a modern flat screen TV with freeview and DVD player and we have a large library of contemporary films on DVDs which can be borrowed. Following comments, we now have a selection of complementary teas and filter coffee and fresh milk. As well as biscuits and chocolate in your room on arrival for that extra little bit of luxury. We have a further five double en-suite rooms to cater for individual needs, all with TV and complementary tea and coffee. Hair dryer and ironing facilities are available on request. Breakfast is served in our bright, cosy breakfast room with a choice of breakfast cereals, fresh fruit juice and locally sourced ingredients for your traditional cooked breakfast. Vegetarian and gluten free options are also available. We have a licensed bar serving a range of beers, wines, spirits, soft drinks, and hot beverages. There is a quiet and relaxing atmosphere in our comfortable guest lounge and we are just a stroll away from all the amenities Great Yarmouth has to offer. Great Yarmouth is a hidden jewel with lots of little gems to discover locally including the beautiful Norfolk Broads and we will do our best to help you discover them and enjoy your stay. In 2015 we are planning more exciting improvements to ensure a totally relaxing experience for you. Mary & Ray wish all our guests in 2015 an enjoyable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Taunton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taunton House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing