We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barnard House
Ranked #50 of 100 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Robertsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

I chose this accommodation online and I couldn't have made a better choice. The quality of the rooms and bathroom was exemplary, the towels and dressing gown were beautifully fluffy, Toiletries were of good quality and there was ample storage space. There was a good choice for breakfasts and I found they kept me going all day. The hosts were very welcoming and their experience in the hospitalty world really shone through. The house is situated on a quiet crescent so parking was no problem. The was a nearby bus stop so the bus was an option if you don't want to walk or drive into Yarmouth. Free Wi-fi in all rooms was a bonus. If all B&B's were this good, no-one would stay in a hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This was a very pleasant stay and ticked all the boxes we look for in B&B accommodation in that water/sweeties/provisions in the room were better than average. Everything else was clean, tidy and suited us fine. Super choice for breakfast. Just beware though for the less mobile that it is a reasonable hike into the centre of Great Yarmouth but as our main intention was to visit the Yarmouth races this was just spot on for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLocket_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Our room was clean and spacious with a large en suite bathroom. Complimentary drinks and nibbles were provided in the room as were toiletries. It was a bit of a walk to the main seafront as the hotel was in a quiet residential area. Breakfast was delicious the host even cooked me milk-free scrambled eggs to accommodate my dietary requirements.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pink_jelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Wonderful place to rest and relax, the hosts are very sweet and extremely helpful. Well worth checking out, we stayed in the self catering cottage which proved to be a real gem. Very clean, and well furnished, with all you could ever need. Will definately do this again. My husband is disabled and the ammenities in the cottage made his visit especially easy. Thank you Jill !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Well of course I don't know that. But it's hard to imagine anything beating it .
Rooms were excellent, host was excellent, breakfast was excellent. Need I say more.
Enjoy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Recently stayed at the self-catering garden cottage and overall was very please with the accomadation (attached to the B&B). When we arrived we were greeted by Andrew who was very polite and friendly and showed us around. Jill was also very helpfully when the booking was made. Accomadation was very comfortable and spacious and the photgraphs online really don't do it justice!
Brilliantly equipped with all creature comforts. Milk, bread, eggs, butter, tea, coffee and sugar were supplied on arrival. There is also a small garden patio with garden furniture and a BBQ and even a separate drive way to park the cark. Lovely quiet neighbourhood.
Only one polite criticism is the shower-head in the wet room could be replaced.
Will certainly consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnitedKingdomSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
At Home
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were made to feel very welcome in this lovely B&B. The family room was comfortable with plenty of room for a travel cot and the breakfast provided was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaffDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Furzedown Hotel
Furzedown Hotel
#5 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 100 in Great Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caister-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnard House

Property: Barnard House
Address: 2 Barnard Crescent, Great Yarmouth NR30 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnard House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a leafy crescent in a peaceful part of town, our award-winning bed & breakfast is a home away from home. This is a comfortable, relaxing place and the perfect spot from which to explore the rest of Norfolk. Whether you’re staying with us for just one night or a leisurely two-week break, we make sure that everyone gets a proper taste of good Norfolk hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnard House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing