We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Marina Guest House
Ranked #24 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Long weekend break”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed for a long weekend at the Marina. Very pleased with location as just a few minutes to either town or beach. Owners were very friendly, helpful and polite and guest house was immaculately kept. Our room was at the back of the building and looked out onto the yard and our window was frosted glass so no view as such but the room was ideal for a short break and bed was comfy. Plenty of tea and coffee available in room too. Breakfasts were very good, lovely hot tasty food and plentiful with no wait time at all. Parking in nearby roads with permit from guest house for a deposit of £20 which was returned on checking out so make sure you take extra cash for this. Overall despite the weather which was not so good to us we did have an enjoyable stay here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building as this will look out onto a nice green area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AClark64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
41
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Positives – Clean, smart, good facilities, free wifi, free street parking, good location and the breakfast.

Negatives (not major) – small TV, room a bit dark, sea gulls in the morning (a problem the resort has!)

The Guest House is near the front on the south side of Great Yarmouth.

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2014. The cost for a well equipped for a good room with comfortable doubled sized bed including breakfast for 2 people was £60 a night – not cheap but reasonable in comparison with many but not all other places.

The clean ensuite room had a wardrobe dressing table with a nice bathroom with a good shower. It also has complimentary coffee/tea. There was a modern small sized LCD TV with plenty of channels. Wi-Fi was good and free for as many devices as you like. The bed is very comfortable with very effective curtains to keep out the morning sunshine.

Breakfast was from 8.30 to 9.00am. You had a choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit and juices. The cooked options included a full English and a light variation, fish and eggs Benedict.

We slept well being woken up by those gulls – not that the guest house could do much about it.

The owner was polite and helpful showing us around the room and clearly takes pride in providing a good experience for his guests. Notices clearly indicated that you had to leave promptly at 10.00 am.

Overall we liked the guest house (8 out of 10) and have little hesitation in recommending it to anyone (he does not take children and you have to book in advance).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nothernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

both darren and ian were friendly polite and helpful.the hotel was spotless breakfasts were hot and excellent a good choice was available.we would certainly stay there again and would not look for anywhere else in yarmouth as long as they had vacancies both the rooms we stayed in were spotless and the beds were very comfortable

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbotfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have just come back from 2 nights at the Marina guest house. Was lovely. Both the hosts are very friendly and helpful. The room was very well decorated and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was good too -plenty to choose from. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

darren and ian were very friendly and accomadating, the guest house was extremely clean, and the breakfast was hot and delicious, it was peaceful and quiet,close to the seafront and shops,we would not hesitate to stay at the marina again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Thanks ian and darren for a great 2 nights stay the room and breakfast was top notch great location nice to talk to ian about where we both lived t he guest house is located facing a nice green great value

Room Tip: take a short cut through a well maintained park to town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim123407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Very Central location on what appears to be a street full of B+B's.
The owners couldn't have been more helpful and informative.
From the outside it looks like most other B+B's on the street but the rooms have been decorated to a very high standard.
The breakfast is delicious, and they are very obliging about deviating from the menu.
You get a free parking pass for the nearby area for 24hrs which is very handy.
We will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Merivon Guest House
The Merivon Guest House
#10 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spindrift Guest House
Spindrift Guest House
#19 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#14 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The White Lodge
The White Lodge
#1 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandcastles Guest House
Sandcastles Guest House
#25 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shrewsbury
The Shrewsbury
#27 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marina Guest House

Property: The Marina Guest House
Address: 12 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marina Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Marina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marina Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing