We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spindrift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spindrift Guest House
Ranked #17 of 99 Great Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Lovely in all ways thank you for looking after us over the last 4 years and hopefully many more. We think it is very clean and friendly and ideally situated near to shops, beach, nightlife etc.Chris Sue and Annette Rainey

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the Caister Soul weekender in May.

For what we needed it was perfect, close to the front and local shops, clean and good breakfast.

Wardrobe space is a bit sparse if there's 3 of you in a family room, but we were only there for a weekend so not too much of an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooze_D_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After all the guest houses' we have visited over time this has to be the best by far in the whole area, a first class hostess and we wanted for nothing.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean , a delightful dining area everything was absolutely faultless.

David and Rosemary, Hunstanton

Room Tip: Go to Spindrift Guest house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7,777,253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Over 20 years we have stayed in several hotels and guest houses in Great Yarmouth. But for the last 10 years we have continued to return every year to the Spindrift Guest House. It is situated in the perfect location close to all the attractions and very clean and homely. Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietor. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and include everything you could wish for including free TV, WI-FI and even a fridge. The breakfast room is bright and welcoming and the perfect place to enjoy a delicious home cooked full English breakfast or a wide range of other options on the menu. Most of which I tried including smoked salmon and a vegetarian option. I would definitely recommend the Spindrift as the best place to stay in Great Yarmouth. Once you have tried it, you won't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just stayed at the Spindrift for a weekend and it was the best B&B I have stayed in, the rooms we comfortable and well looked after. Breakfast was fantastic and the hostess was lovely.

Would recommend to anyone going to Yarmouth and would stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandDWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed in a family room which was comfortable and clean. Fairly modern, nice bed linen. Our room was facing the street and even though we had the windows open at night was not disturbed by the noise. Although rooms were fairly nicely decorated this can not be said for the rest of the guest house.The breakfast room is cluttered, which is a terrible shame as it could be a lovely bright and airy space. Was certainly not a surrounding in which I wanted to sit and enjoy my breakfast. The hallway, for some unknown reason, is covered on one wall with all the local kebab menus! The sight of this prior to entering my room for the first time almost sent me running, not to forget the whistling gnome that makes a sound every time you walk past.

Service was alright I suppose. We were rather rudely greeted by the hoteliers mother who was not expecting us, this was not a huge issue but having then been 'checked in' we were neither shown our room nor was there any offer to help with our bags. I get the feeling that this guest house is more designed for families and older couples, don't think a 'younger crowd' are their preferred guests.

When on holiday I would expect to have a lie in which was not achieved as a result of having to attend breakfast by 8:40 at the latest. Breakfast was alright, was not, however, terribly impressed being served tinned tomatoes and mushrooms, now days one would expect fresh produce.If breakfast had not been included in the price of the room I would definitely not have had it.

Check out time was the earliest I have EVER seen at any b&b, guest house or hotel at 9:45. For this reason alone I would not stay again. We were allowed to leave our bags in the hallway but that is the least I would expect given the check out time.

In terms of location it is perfectly situated within walking distance to sea and all of the attractions.

The price was alright and we had a perfectly average experience I would, however, not rush to tell my friends about nor would I stay there again in a hurry. I stay in many hotels, b&bs and guest houses and there is nothing about this that makes it exceptional. In fact am rather stunned that it has been given such high ratings? Having never stayed in any other accommodation in Great Yarmouth I wouldn't know what anything else is like, but I can't believe this is the best it has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmmaB89_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Very clean and friendly and excellent food. We went on recommendation and
will certainly recommend it to others, Hope to visit again next year.

Maggie and Vince and Kevin Hilton and Alison Hunter, Lincoln.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiltoniaLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sea Princess
The Sea Princess
#20 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Annes Hotel
St Annes Hotel
#57 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baron's Court Hotel
Baron's Court Hotel
#8 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Willows Guest House
Willows Guest House
#11 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Norfolk Square
3 Norfolk Square
#13 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elmfield
The Elmfield
#21 of 99 in Great Yarmouth
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Guest House

Address: 36 Wellesley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 1EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £52 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spindrift Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift is a friendly adult-only guest house offering bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV with Freeview. Well-equipped rooms with a home-from-home atmosphere they also include fridges. hair dryers and tea/coffee making facilities. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served in the dining room. There are many eateries within a 10-minute walk of the Guest House The Great Yarmouth sandy Beach is only 325 yards away for the Spindrift Guest House Yarmouth's shops, arcades and town centre are just a short walk from the Guest House whilst the Greyhound Track and Racecourse are a short drive. The train station is a 10-minute drive and the coach station is a 5-minute walk away. Parking is on street at a nearby location. VisitBritain has awarded Spindrift Guest House 4 stars This is our guests' favourite part of Great Yarmouth, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Spindrift Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Guest House Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing