We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food, shame the waitress let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent

The Regent
Ranked #13 of 324 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run restaurant in the heart of Great Yarmouth. We have an extensive and great value menu to suit most customers. We are always willing to adapt our dishes where possible to suit your needs so please do ask. We also offer many gluten free dishes. We can cater for most occasions and will go out of our way to make it special. Don't hesitate, call us now to discuss your needs and we will try our very best to make your experience with us memorable.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely food, shame the waitress let it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stopped here for dinner while staying in the area for a few days. The food was very nice but I didn't find our waitress that friendly. She forgot to bring my daughters starter over. When she bought our mains over, I said to her my daughter never got her starter!, she just said oh do you want it now? No apology.We said no thank you. She never came near our table once during the meal to see if everything was ok, but I noticed she was going over to others. She came over to clear our plates and I asked for the bill. She suddenly got friendly and spoke with us. Was she hoping for a tip I wonder! lovely food, good value for money, just a shame our waitress wasn't very attentive or friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mandie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    105
    26
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Chose this restaurant at random because the children's menu looked good. We were seated quickly but given the desert menu rather than the children's menu to start off with. It took a while to get someone's attention to swap the menus over. Good choice of food all at reasonable prices and large portion sizes which were cooked very well. Unfortunately it was a long time between ordering the food and actually receiving it and a long wait for the bill. There three members of staff serving and the restaurant wasn't very busy so we don't understand why the service was so slow.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoghurtpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Brilliant food, excellent value for money . Large portions. We were so impressed we paid a visit the next night as well. Beautiful coffee....made specially for me lol . I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant .... Trust me ....you will not leave disappointed ...... Just " full bellied "

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adrian757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Haha you most certainly will be "full bellied" as our chef is very generous. I'm glad you liked your food and experience, thanks for writing your review. It's much appreciated. Kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had travelled from West Yorkshire that day and had traipsed around the shops before entering The Regent around 6.30. A waitress was with us with the menus within a minute and we ordered our drinks. We were surprised by the variety shown, expecting toe see fish, fish and more fish. My wife chose the Lamb Shank and said it was the best she had tasted. As they had fish on the menu I had Plaice, which was cooked and presented nicely and tasted very good. Throughout our time there, the staff were cheerful, helpful and appeared to be happy in their work.

We will certainly return on my next visit to Yarmouth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks for our review, we're pleased that you were impressed, even though you didn't expect to be lol. We are looking forward to seeing you again next time your in Great Yarmouth. Kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

good food, good service, good prices, nice clean restaurant only thing is the toilets upstairs, not helpful with children or elderly, we will be returning as had a lovely time

Helpful?
Thank 30303030x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
169lisas169, Manager at The Regent, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It's great that you all had a lovely time and will be returning again, it means we have all done our jobs effectively. It's a real shame about our toilets as I know it can be a pain with them being upstairs, we wish we could move them but it's just not possible. We do however offer piggy backs to those who need it, so next time, hop on lol ;) ;). Thanks for your lovely review, kind regards, Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Regent also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Gorleston-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing