We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No go”

Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magical marine world of Great Yarmouth SEA LIFE Centre will introduce you to many beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to mighty sharks and giant sea turtles, all in displays which carefully recreate their natural habitats.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went with my partner and baby only to learn after paying the entrance there was about 3 school trips in the centre so was unable to enjoy or look at anything

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Michael P,

Thank you for getting in touch. We're really sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory time with us.

Please feel free to email me on George.paige@merlinentertainments.biz and I will personally look into this for you.

Kindest regards.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    452
    361
    127
    54
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sileby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok but not a full day out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Luckily we had a 2 for 1 entry with Voucher Cloud. It would not be worth the full admission price due to how small the venue is.
After paying our fee we ventured through the doors to be jumped on by someone telling us to sit near a green screen for our photo's. I didn't really feel comfortable with this and it would have been better to be asked if we wanted our pictures taken rather then it being made to seem like we had to but that's perhaps down to the customer service skills of the person taking the photos.

I have a young son who seemed interested at first and the penguins were great but the fish all seemed a bit samey half way round and seemed to loose his interest.

I was surprised with how fast we managed to get around the attraction.

The restaurant at the end was not comfortable to sit in due to being opened to anyone off the street and not to people who had paid the admission for the centre. Due to the rain the restaurant seemed to become a shelter for large family's who had not paid admission.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Chris G,

Thank you for your review of our centre.

We are glad to hear you used a 2 for 1 voucher, we try to ensure that there are many of these in the market place for our customers so that they receive the best value for their visit with us.

We were sorry to hear about your time with the Photo Team, this is something that I will personally look into and address how we are dealing with customers at this stage of your underwater journey!

We're sorry to hear your son lost interest half way around - we find our creatures truly fascinating and can spend ages in the attraction when we take the time to study the displays...

We hope to have you back again in the near future and our fingers are crossed that you have a much better experience.

Kindest regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice sealife centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We visited here over may half term, been to some before that we've walked round in 5 mins but there was more in this one to keep kids entertained, touching starfish, having your hand cleaned by shrimps and kids are given a book to gain stamps in around the centre, which my daughter loved. As with other sea life's, quite pricey, but kids love.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank johanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Johanna C,

Thank you for reviewing us!

I'm thrilled to hear you had a good time with us and hope to have you back again in the near future.

All the best,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“POOR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A lot of money and only took 15 minutes to walk round. Told we could return as many times as we like during the day but it was miles away from anywhere else.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Hazel C,

I was sorry to read that you had a less that satisfactory time with us.

In terms of the time it takes to get around the attraction - You are right that you can get around it quickly but we ensure that there are plenty of other activities throughout the day, such as our penguin and shark feeds, and our turtle and ray talks. When you take the time to appreciate the displays you will be surprised at how much you can learn about these wonderful creatures!

Sorry to hear that you thought it was miles away from anywhere else. We are right on the sea front at Great Yarmouth which is the centre piece of this great town - We couldn't possibly justify moving away from here. :)

We hope to have you back at one of our SEA LIFE Centres in the near future, and really hope you have a much better time with us.

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth the full admission rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We bought tickets online and got 30% off which was great because it is not worth any more than that. Its quite a small Centre, not as good as somewhere like 'The Deep' in Hull. Very compact and difficult to get a pushchair around when its busy. Lots of fish but the tanks are very similar and it begins to drag little. The staff are good and we had some good talks/interaction.

If you're going don't pay on the door as you may be disappointed what you get for the money. All being said its not a bad wet weather attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Andrew P,

Thanks for your review - we always appreciate feedback on our pricing. You did the best thing by booking online, we try to ensure as many people as possible do this because of the savings they receive. In fact in 2013 the majority of our customers paid under £10pp which we feel is incredible value for a premium product such as ours.

Glad you took refuge from the rain - it can catch you by surprise up here!

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing