We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth

Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magical marine world of Great Yarmouth SEA LIFE Centre will introduce you to many beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to mighty sharks and giant sea turtles, all in displays which carefully recreate their natural habitats.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Quite a lot to see here but a bit expensive, unless you book online, the day before you plan to visit. Plenty of interesting creatures with some information provided about all of them. We thought the penguins looked a bit sad and stressed, they didn't have a great deal of space.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suehh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Suehh1,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

That's a great tip about booking online, we offer up to 30% discount by booking this way. Or alternatively, if you are staying at a holiday park, they sell our tickets at an extremely competitive rate.

Glad you enjoyed the creatures - We are currently housing the penguins from Hunstanton SEA LIFE Sanctuary which will be opening again in October. Unfortunately the tidal surge in December 2013 meant we had to close the Sanctuary and completely refurbish the centre.

We hope to see you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    445
    354
    124
    55
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get a money off voucher!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the sea life centre while staying at great yarmouth and after a wait in a huge queue out front as it was a rainy out of school day I must say I was hoping for at least half a day of entertainment. The place was brilliant inside activities for kids a trail to follow and stamp and creatures that you can touch but it was over far too quick! I'm just pleased that we got money off vouchers on a cereal packet that's all I can say! A family of 5 with vouchers cost £30 for just over an hours visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicknoo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Nicknoo82,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.

You must have come on what was one of the wettest days of the year and one of the busiest for us! Unfortunately that did mean a bit of a queue but glad that this didn't hinder your visit.

Well done on getting a voucher, we try to flood the market place with promotions so that we can give our guests the best possible value! In 2013 our customers on average paid under £10 to visit us which we think is fantastic value for a premium product such as ours.

We hope to have you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Costs a lot for what it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Don't get me wrong it is a nice place and you get to see some beautiful sea life creatures but you can walk around the place and be out within an hour, now that wouldn't be too bad if the prices wasn't so high! For that sort of price range you can get a whole day out somewhere else like pleasure wood hills or somewhere like that!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kayleigh661,

Thank you for your review of our centre.

We were sorry to read that you did not consider us good value for money. Ultimately we consider ourselves to be a premium product when compared to our competitors - moreover, we try to ensure that there are plenty of promotions in the market place so that those that plan their trips in advance can get the best value. In fact, in 2013 the majority of our customers paid under £10pp which we feel is smashing value!

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and would love to point you in the direction of a promotion should you want one!

Kindest regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good few hours out for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I went to the Sealife Centre with my husband and toddler of 18 months. It was fairly pricey for a few hours max entertainment, but overall you can understand the costs involved and where else can you see sharks and sea creatures up close? My toddler seemed to enjoy himself although slightly scared at first as it is very dark on arrival. When exiting the aquarium you enter the gift shop, cafe and soft play which seems like a fairly nice place to get lunch while the children play in soft play, although I cannot comment on the food as we didn't stay there long. Our son began to play in the baby and toddler section of the soft play with us watching him, and although clearly stated that this certain section of the soft play was for children under a certain height, bigger children were running riot in there, with no staff in sight to prevent this. In fact, we called it a day when a child of who I can only imagine was 6 or 7 years old trod on my son's head with complete disregard, and as you can imagine my son was hurt and most upset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammts117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Sammts117,

Thank you for your review of our centre.

We are glad to hear that you saw the value in what we consider to be a premium product - that said, we do ensure that there are plenty of promotions in the market place so I hope that you were able to take advantage of one of these great offers. If you didn't then perhaps for next time!

We are glad you enjoyed the centre, including the soft play. That is a very good point regarding the height limitations, as I am sure you can understand when it is busy it is not something that we are able to police - essentially it is a guide for parents when they allow their children to play in the soft play. I hope the little one wasn't too upset!

We hope to see you back at one of our centres again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went with my partner and baby only to learn after paying the entrance there was about 3 school trips in the centre so was unable to enjoy or look at anything

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Michael P,

Thank you for getting in touch. We're really sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory time with us.

Please feel free to email me on George.paige@merlinentertainments.biz and I will personally look into this for you.

Kindest regards.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing