We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hands on experience”

Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magical marine world of Great Yarmouth SEA LIFE Centre will introduce you to many beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to mighty sharks and giant sea turtles, all in displays which carefully recreate their natural habitats.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We visited the sealife centre on a day trip to great yarmouth and loved the hands on activities - my son enjoyed touching the starfish! Amazing range of sea creatures to explore!

Thank Abi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Abi J,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

We're thrilled that you had a lovely time with us and do hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
There are newer reviews for Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,218 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I went with my sister and step son who is 4. We got in for free as we were on a organised trip.
We found the staff really friendly and answered all our questions.The animals all looked well cared for and we're all really interesting to look at especially for my step son.
He enjoyed collecting the stamps and getting his badge at the end. He also loved his medals he received.
I think it is quite expensive
I'm not sure I would pay full price but if the money goes towards helping the animals so they exsist for future generations then it's nice to know some of it's going towards the animals rather than in some rich persons pocket

Thank arual1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Arual1410,

Thanks for taking the time to drop us a review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We do indeed have a dedicated team that looks after our animals as if they were their own. In fact they have been known to be up all night caring for these wonderful animals.

We like to make sure that the money that is spent with us is reinvested to the future of our seas. SEA LIFE is now the largest aquarium brand in the world, this doesn't mean that we make more money, this actually means that we have a much larger responsibility to ensure that what we do is for the future of these animals. As a result of our growth we have recently launched a charity called the SEA LIFE Trust which ensures that money is spent protecting the welfare of animals around the world.

Thanks again for visiting and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Love Sealife at Yarmouth, we go every year and there's always something new to see. The children get fab activity booklets and stamp cards to do all the way around and if you take your time to sit and enjoy each of the exhibits you can spend a good hour in there...each entry allows you to come and go all day, so if it's too busy for you, you can leave and come back later, this is perfect if you want to see all the feeding times and talks! My only advice would be to avoid the school trips, they can fill up the place really quickly!

Thank emma041282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Emma041282,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

This is a fantastic tip and one we share with all our guests, the fact that they can enjoy all day entry. We want to ensure that our guests get the best possible value for money and overall experience.

We also want to make sure that the children that we attract to the centre, go away having learnt something amazing about our creatures and how they can protect their future.

We look forward to having you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The morning we visited there was a technical problem with the 'chip and pin' payment terminals and so there was a delay getting in, (as only one till was working). However, the staff were explaining the problem and interacting with the queue so as we knew the cause of the delay, (& making sure those with online pre-paid bookings could go straight in). However, once inside we were glad we waited :)

Like life itself, you get out of it what you put in to it! Even though it was busy we went around at our own pace and enjoyed the sights. I think if you come along to wonder at the creatures you will have lots of fun... but if you come along expecting to spend just 10secs at each fishtank, and expect the contents of each fish-tank to pose for your i-phone before you rushing onwards for your burger and chips... then you'll miss ever so much! We spent about 20minutes looking at the rays and they were adorable! Seeing the flatfish 'merging with the sand' was amazing... but I fear most of the visitors spent about 1 minute at this amazing tank and couldn't recall a fraction of what was inside!

Other than the staff at the entry we only interacted with the chap at the 'starfish and cleaning-shrimp' place and the shop... but everyone we dealt with was cheerful, genuinely friendly and made us feel welcome. I didn't use the loos, but my friend did (who is a professional Mystery Shopper), and they didn't pass on any concerns, (as they normally do!), so all must have been AOK.

This was one of the high-points of our (slightly out of season) trip to Great Yarmouth... and when I take my youngest to a Sealife I will be driving the several hundred miles from Kent to Great Yarmouth rather than go to the London one.

p.s. Get a '2 for 1' voucher, or other deal before you go... they're easy to find :D

Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Darren W,

We LOVE your review and thoroughly appreciate that you have taken the time to review all aspects of our attraction.

We are sorry that you had a slight issue with one of the tills, we can assure you that both are now up and running.

We are pleased you had a great time overall and do hope you return to sunny Yarmouth in the near future!

Kind regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After 5 years of putting our daughter off we decided to "cave-in" and visit Great Yarmouth Sealife Centre. OMG after waiting 10 minutes to pay. 2 adults and 2 children £30 that was with a 2-4-1 voucher, we then had to queue whilst a member of staff took our photos in front of a green screen, we were not allowed to bypass this and go straight to the attraction. Upon finally entering the main attraction it was too hot. Too busy, the children could not get near the fish for people pushing and shoving. Before we knew it we were in the gift shop/cafe and outside. We paid to enter at 3.02pm and left at 3.30pm a whole 28 minutes to visit the attraction. I would tell anyone stay away it was horrible. NEVER AGAIN!!!

3  Thank CKobsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear CKobsessive,

Thank you for taking the time to review our centre.

I was sorry to read that you did not think we were great value for money. We think that £5 per person seems to be a very generous offer!

Unfortunately it sounds like you came on one of our busiest days of the year, the centre can get a bit busy at times but that's why we allow you to enter the centre as many times as you want throughout the day.

We do hope that you visit us again in the near future, perhaps on a day when we are less busy.

Kind regards,
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing