We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The magical marine world of Great Yarmouth SEA LIFE Centre will introduce you to many beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to mighty sharks and giant sea turtles, all in displays which carefully recreate their natural habitats.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We felt the attraction was over priced for the amount of time we sent in the centre.
Having visited centres in other towns we were disappointed, didnt feel this was poor value for money

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Mikki H,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are sorry to hear you did not think our centre was good value for money. We track customer's opinions on this daily. Of over 2,000 people surveyed this year, our VFM scores have never been an issue to worry about.

This will be to do with the fact that we offer tremendous offers online and lots of promotions in the market place to reward those that research their visit in advance.

Should you come visit us again in the future, feel free to give us a call and we will be more than happy to help and point you in the direction of our best price.

Did you also know that your ticket is valid all day and that you are able to come and go as you please. We also have feeds and talks about every 30minutes to and hour per day which ensures our guests can learn the most they can whilst they are with us.

Kindest regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    510
    381
    137
    60
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice day out”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My husband and I took our 8 and 10 year old. Booked online which was far cheaper. Arrived at opening time (10am) and glad we did as it got very busy. The children were given a book to collect 9 stamps as we went round. It took about 1hr half to go round. It is small but enjoyable. All staff very friendly.
children went to the gift shop, had a drink then left. However as you can return (with a stamped hand) we came back later in the day to see the penguins being fed.

I do recommend Sealife for children under 12 but it certainly isn't a whole day out and it is expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear rebeccaSuffolk,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

It sounds as though you got fantastic value on the whole and well done on using your stamp to return for talks later in the day.

We do hope to have you return again in the future.

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Centre”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have always loved sea life centres, and the Great Yarmouth centre is great fun, there's plenty to do and we had some vouchers given to us at The Waverly Hotel so we got in quite a lot cheaper. You can go back anytime during the day as well which is great! There are plenty of great exhibits, including the wonderful penguin enclosure which you can view from a balcony or down below where you can see the penguins up close and personal. When someone steps up to the window they will swim down nearly every time and it's great to see them so close.

As a keen photographer it was a great experience and I got some awesome photo's to take away with me. Although I was disappointed to see a lot of people with cameras or phones shining lights or using the flash right up close to the aquariums and I really think the rules should be enforced more, as you can clearly see the animals are distressed but people don't seem to care.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time there, and you can take as long as you like to go round and as I say you can go round again whenever you like as they stamp your hand.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joysuzannexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear J0yC22.

Thanks for taking the time to give us a great in-depth review.

Sounds like you had a great time and thank you for flagging up that flashes in our displays are still being regularly used. We of course frown upon this and do our best to let people know when we see it happening.

Our most sensitive displays do have notices saying not to use flash, we also have one way glass so that the fish actually can't see back at us. Their well being is critical to us and we have a fantastic marine biology team on hand to ensure that they are all well and healthy.

We do hope to have you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great staff.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited on Tuesday 19th August,used discount tickets so for two adults and one child it was £22.50 we came and went all day listening to the talks and watching the feeds,we popped back for the 5oclock talk and when nobody showed up we told a member of staff expecting to get nowhere,but(and full credit to the fantastic staff) we were taken down to the shark tank and given a one to one talk which made our sons day,a big thank you,whith staff like this you will always be a winning attraction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eraser68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Eraser68,

What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about this.

Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to our business and it sounds as though you were well and truly looked after. Our sharks are amazing creatures and our team have a very fond attachment to them.

We hope you enjoyed your one to one and do hope you come back and visit us again soon.

All the best,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grandsons birthday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very overpriced fro less than an hours entertainment. Whole place needed a good clean very disappointed £38 not well spent.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy5427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sealifeuk, Manager at Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Cathy5427,

We were sorry to read that you had a less than satisfactory time with us. Our customer's dwell times in the attraction vary depending on how long they take to appreciate the wonders of the underwater world. Our creatures seldom line up for you to take your photos, they need time and appreciation!

We also have talks and feeds throughout the day, of which your ticket is valid all day to ensure that you make the most of your visit and that the kids learn a variety of facts about conservation and fishy skills.

We do hope you give us another try!

Kind regards,
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Sea Life Centre Great Yarmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing