We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Metropole Restaurant
Ranked #255 of 338 Restaurants in Great Yarmouth
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Food was quickly delivered and fine. Menu lists most anything you may require from all day breakfast to steak or duck. It is what it is!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    13
    13
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Totally Tasty!...as always”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Having been a regular at the Metropole for over 30 years, my wife and I visited last Saturday, 30th November. As always the restuarant was warm and clean and the greeting as always friendly.Ok the decor is a little dated, but we go out to enjoy good,proper, wholesome food and we have never been dissapointed so why worry about the slightly dated look. Value for money and quality, good sized portions, along with a really extensive menu makes the Metropole one of our favorite eating places in the area if not indeed England.Carry on the good work Thanks

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lennie2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“years of good value”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

been going here since i was 13 and im 48 now and find the food great value and the steaks fish and lasange fantastic, what people want for the money amazes me

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“there are two sides to every tale... or indeed table!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The decor of this place is as some describe dated... The food is as some describe not fine dining or haute cuisine.

However if you want good food, reminiscent of family dinners like scampi and chips, steak and kidney pie a homely roast and jam roly poly and custard at good value prices give this place a chance. Whitebait and onion rings yummy too.

As a group of 50 something men we have been coming here for a few years now and are made very welcome...

There seems to be a loyal customer base of decent people who want food at a good price. Works for my friends and I.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

visited here on September 10th and never again.Very dated restaurant and tatty tablecloths.The woman that served us was watching us all the time so we felt uncomfortable.We ordered roast dinners and my daughter ordered steak and kidney pudding.Within exactly 5 minutes she came out with all the meals and as soon as I looked at them I could see they were reheated in a microwave.the roast potatoes tasted discusting and my daughters steak and kidney tasted of.the boiled potatoes were out of a tin.The lamb tasted funny too and was cut very thin......I would not advise anyone to go here if you want fresh food....we complained and was offered a reduction on the bill....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mollyntilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metropole Restaurant also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Metropole Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing