We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”
Review of Bay Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Carlton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at the carlton easter monday while friday 13th april.
Our first room was very disapointing, we had requested a room on a higher floor although shearings state that requests are not gauranteed,altough talking to other guests that paid the same has we did and booked a lot later than we did got higher floors we felt this was a little unjust as our room 4 was on the lowest floor available below and somewhere behind reception down some stairs and some more stairs it was very dark gloomy and icey cold and closterphobic, we went straight to reception to request a change the only rooms available where sea views on the top floor at a £5 each a night suppliment total for stay £40 extra we had not budgeted for so this was a bad start to our holiday.
However the room although was dated and snugg was lovely and warm and much brighter and a very uneven floor surface it was badly tilting so much so a large piece of wood had been placed under the wardrobe to keep it from tipping forward, as you walked you felt as though you were being pulled forward which altough it was funny to us as it felt as though our bed was always pulling us forward it could be a big problem for some people with mobility issues..

The food at the carlton is really lovely and large choice of different menus the salads are lovely and so fresh crisp and clean on the palette all meals were served nice by our waiter Samual he was very professional and efficient he had a lot to do however nothing was to much trouble for him and always had a welcome for his guests, a credit to the hotel.

The entertainment was not to our liking although we do like country and western in fact we like a wide selection of music the singer was disapointing he sang kenny Rodgers with no feeling or soul no warmth or life.
Atmophere in the entertainment room was poor it is below stairs this could be a real problem for anyone unable to manage stairs as the lift doesnt go down to basement.
Drinks were expensensive £3.60 a pint of carling we dont mind paying if it was a good pint however the pint was extra chilled and terribly gassy it may have been old stock that had been super chilled and extra gas to disguise this fact an old trick of the trade.
The hotel its self was right on the front although it was a flat walk along the front it was about a good 20 minute walk to the town centre plenty of shops in town if you like shopping.
We did the trips with Shearings to Cromer and Wroxham which was very enjoyable days out Wroxham was a really pretty place and a nice walk along the waterway very pretty.
Norwich Cathedral not to be missed was is very worth while visiting Norwich very impressive as was Bury st Edmunds Cathedral and grounds very beatiful with gorgous kept gardens.
This hotel is not for people that have any major mobilty issues due to number of steps,stairs and uneven surfaces in the hotel.

Room Tip: request room on higher floors above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pitmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

It sounds that after changing rooms you found it lovely and warm, I’m sorry you found the first room not to your satisfaction and the entertainment was not your cup of tea so to speak. You did enjoy the food and the service from Samuel I will forward you praises to him, which he will be happy to receive.
The hotel has a great location with Wroxham, Norwich and Bury St Edmunds all covered on the coach trips or around one hour drive away, the town centre as you say has plenty of shops.

Yours truly,

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having just returned from a 5 day coach holiday by Shearings at the Carlton Hotel Gt Yarmouth, there was nothing we could fault in any way. We had a room on the third floor which was excellent, both in cleanliness and decor. The food in the dining room was superb, in fact every night was briliant both in the choice of food and the amount supplied. Would we return for another holiday at this hotel - a definitely resounding YES. I haven't mentioned the staff - they too couldn't do enough for you and always with a genuine friendly smile - THANK TOU

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wiganHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your glowing five star review, it is very much appreciated by the whole team here at the Carlton. It is what we truly want to achieve for guests staying with us look forward to your return and you are most welcome thank you.

Best Regards,

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Absolutely NOT poor food disgusting room terrible uncomfortable bed. Staff friendly. Old run down hotel shame on you Shearings for giving an 83 year old woman a bed on the top floor with a bed lie a brick!

Room Tip: Avoid do not stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear reviewer, the room type that you had booked is located on the 2nd or 3rd floor, the hotel was fully booked so we were unable to move you to a lower floor. The beds are standard my apologises if this was not to your liking. During your stay I do not recall you informing me of poor food however I will investigate this, you stated during you stay that the room was ok, but wanted the heating turned down.

Yours truly,

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Probably not.
My wife and I stayed at the Carlton Hotel 23rd. to 26th. March. It was a short break with Shearings.
We were very lucky to have such warm weather for March.
This is an impressive looking hotel in a very good position on the front.
Checking in is ultra fast, room keys are handed out on the coach and your luggage turns up outside your room.
Our room, 225, was spacious with a very high ceiling and a big window. We could see the sea and look along the prom right down to the Pleasure Beach.
It was furnished with a good comfortable firm double bed, three chairs, two small tables, chest of drawers, large wardrobe, tea making and a Television. You can tell it has history, the floor boards creak and the plumbing looks Victorian. I just had to photograph those taps.
Cannot fault the breakfast it was good, with plenty of choice. Full English for me each day. Evening meal also was very enjoyable with large helpings of roasted meat and vegetables. Although it was pot luck if the wine waiter appeared or not.
Each evening we played Bingo and had a quiz before the cabaret. The three nights we had were really entertaining, with Big Tim Lane, The Dreamettes and on Sunday night, the best yet Ruben Jones.
All in all a very nice and relatively inexpensive short holiday.
So why would I not want to go back?
On arriving home I realized we had left a sweatshirt behind. It was special to me, a souvenir from a Spanish theme park . It was not cheap, being light grey long sleeved fleecy lined with Portaventura logo on the front,
My wife phoned the Carlton four times, at 8am, 12midday, 5pm. and again at 7.30.
She asked them to post it back and we would pay the post & packing.
Each time she was told they would check and phone her back in 30mins... They never phoned back.
Now if the room was checked between guests, as it should have been, then the maid has it.
Or if it was not checked for lost property, the new guests would have found it.
I feel robbed. Would I stay there again? No. Would I holiday with Shearings again? Maybe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripmanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

It looks like you enjoyed your stay at the Carlton, and sounds like we exceeded your expectations with good food, entertaining cabaret acts, good location and speedy service. The hotel does have a long history being built in the 1840’s, the points regarding the wine waiter and your sweatshirt are being dealt at the moment, it was me that took your telephone call and the message was passed on to housekeeping who should have phoned back my apologises.

Yours truly,

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

stayed from12 March - 16 March, hotel is in desperate need of refeb, rooms are very dated and in one of the rooms our party stayed in the bed was like a brick, on the other hand the food was good, we have stayed in a lot of shearings hotels and this was the best food in all of their hotels, the entertainment was poor over the 4 night we were there, but if you like Kenny Rodgers you will like it, bingo and a quiz every night we were there. overall we enjoyed the stay but please shearings take a look at your hotels they need updating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Carlton, I’m pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the food to be the best you’ve had with in Shearings. As regards to your comments on refurbishment the hotel is set for more bedroom refurbishment shortly and will continue in the future.

Best Regards

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This hotel can be described as a mixed experience due to the room and room service being fine but the whole hotel is well worn and this can be seen in the decor. the staff are friendly but there are not enough of them in the dining room. We regularly had to wait 20 minutes or so to be served for our evening meals whilst the staff were going flat out to serve guests who were waiting.. the food for the first 2 nights was to put it mildly poorly cooked. (this was the consensus amongst a lot of people on our coach party) the next 2 nights the food was very tasty! different Chef?. Would I go again. I dont think so.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shipsrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

I’m pleased to see that parts of your stay satisfied your needs, the waiting staff are very busy and sometimes there is a wait due to the numbers sitting at the same time. We do evaluate this and try to adapt where possible. I have discussed your comments regarding the food with the chef.

Best regards,

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and as I am Coeliac they catered well for this. Each meal time the waitress was so helpful in telling me what I could eat. And on the journey home they made me some sandwiches with gluten free bread, so that was really helpful. In all the hotel is dated but the helpfulness of the staff made it a good holiday.

We were in room 221 which was very dated and the shower was so old fashioned but we managed.

If this hotel is refurnished it would be absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ddag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarltonHotel012, General Manager at Bay Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear reviewer, I’m pleased to hear that you found our dietary food was helpful during your stay. We always carry dietary foods, if we do not have specifics we will go out of our way to ensure we source them. The hotel itself is around 170 years old, but we do have in place a refurbishment programme that lends itself to the character of the building.

Best Regards

Paul Betts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Great Yarmouth hotels
2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#15 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nelson Hotel
The Nelson Hotel
#16 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
299 reviews
2 mi away
The Pier Hotel
The Pier Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Carlton Hotel

Address: Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR30 3JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Great Yarmouth
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Great Yarmouth’s premier hotels, the Carlton is centrally located at the heart of Great Yarmouth’s recently modernised promenade. This elegant 97 bedroom Victorian hotel can accommodate most holiday requirements and all rooms are en suite, with hot beverage making facilities and colour Television. There is the opportunity to upgrade to sea view and Superior rooms in order to make the most of your stay at this hotel, and a comfortable and quiet lounge bar to relax in. For those looking for something livelier, there is a separate entertainment suite and dance floor with a programme operating most nights of the week. Like many of our hotels, the Carlton enjoys an enviable resort location and it is just a short stroll along the seafront to reach the town centre which offers a bustling market and plenty of shops to browse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth
Carlton Great Yarmouth
Bay Carlton Hotel Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing